We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute booking”
Review of Hotel La Fontaine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel La Fontaine
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Les Houches
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We booked La Fontaine on the spur of the moment. The price was economical, and the hotel is close to Chamonix. Our first impression was that it was a little difficult to find even though a sign is visible from the main highway. The exterior is a little kitschy but still homey. I speak basic French so I could communicate with the hostess; at first, she seemed stand offish, but she was friendlier by the time we checked out two days later. Room and bath were very clean and comfortable, but the furnishings are dated and the carpet is worn. The pool was very clean and well maintained. Showering before using the pool is mandatory--good policy. We didn't try the sauna. The self-service breakfast was basic but plentiful--eggs, bread, meats, yogurt, juice, and cereals. Noise from the highway is audible if the doors are open. Their website claims they have air conditioning, but no control or vents were visible; our room may not have been equipped, but it was okay as it was not needed. Small indoor games area and a fireplace are near the dining area. Not a bad place for the money, and I imagine that it is a great location for skiing in the winter.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the highway side. If it's warm, make sure you have a room t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MistralGrenoble2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lauriebV4148DX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bisontine2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Gérard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Demander une chambre sur l'arrière.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 14397henrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mythic-Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank I5593EMclairel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Houches
2.7 mi away
RockyPop Hotel
RockyPop Hotel
#1 of 14 in Les Houches
225 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Les Campanules
Hotel Les Campanules
#2 of 14 in Les Houches
429 reviews
2.3 mi away
Le Saint Antoine
Le Saint Antoine
#3 of 14 in Les Houches
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel du Bois
Hotel du Bois
#4 of 14 in Les Houches
254 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chris-Tal Hotel
Chris-Tal Hotel
#6 of 14 in Les Houches
117 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fontaine

Address: 161 | Chemin la Fontaine, 74310 Les Houches, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Houches
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Les Houches
Price Range: £71 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fontaine 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the valley of Chamonix (74) in front of Mont Blanc and the Fiz, Hotel La Fontaine is pleased to welcome you in a pleasant and friendly atmosphere. The Fontaine has an indoor pool heated all year, with free access for all hotel guests, as well as sauna and hammam.L'hotel has a large parking area that is being available. The rooms are spacious, soundproofed rooms with bath and separate toilet, Wifi, telephone, flat screen TV. Enjoy the ski slopes of the Chamonix valley with over 108 km of track. From the summit of the Aiguille du Midi, 3842 m, in Chamonix, the famous descent of the Vallee Blanche 20 km is a unique course in glacial mountain. This is an opportunity for skiers to experience the wonderful world of high mountains, in the heart of the largest glaciers of Mont Blanc. Access to La Fontaine access Management has taken: THE A40 motorway exit FAYET top of the viaduct TUNNEL "THE CHATELARD" Second exit right after the tunnel Chatelard LA FONTAINE - Vaudagne ALWAYS FOLLOW THE FOUNTAIN (we are 4 km before the center of Les Houches) SITUATION GPS - N45 '54.993 "(Min) - E6 46.047' (Min) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel La Fontaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing