We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet cosy place”
Review of Chris-Tal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chris-Tal Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Les Houches
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This hotel manages to stay cosy and really friendly though it is not that small. There are 40 rooms, a ski room, a bar and a restaurant, a swimming pool and a sauna. Yet the hotel staff create such a lovely atmosphere that you start to believe that this is your home, your living room with a fire-place, your kitchen with great food, especially home made pancakes, and of course your bedroom with a fantastic view of the Alps. This is just an ideal place for all the tourists: families, friends or couples!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

I just returned from a ski trip to Les Houches and stayed in Chris-Tal hotel. The hotel is family run and a typical hotel of the region. You will see the family around the hotel and having their meals near the bar. When we arrived at around 12 midday there was no one at reception, we waited several minutes and rang the bell and eventually someone came and gave us the room keys. The room we had was a triple room there were just two of us staying in it. The bed was very comfortable. Two lovely balconies on two aspects gave beautiful views of the mountains. The shower was difficult to use as it was hand held. The bath was ok but would not be fun if you were over six foot. Spacious wardrobes and a free safety deposit box is in the room. Great bar area with open fire, very nice after a day on the slopes. The games room on the lower ground floor was fun with fuzball, table tennis and a pool table. There is a small swimming pool and a sauna. The sauna is €12 to use. The kind hotel owner made us pizza after the food was finished on the first night and gave us a local "drink" crazy goat that we really appreciated! The second night however we came back to the hotel at 10.30 with the hope of having a few drinks and sitting by the fire, but we were informed the bar was closed because the owner wanted to go to bed. He did serve us 2 drinks and allow us to drink them in the games room. The location of the hotel was disappointing for us. From what we read before coming to the hotel we believed it was ski in ski out and close to the ski lifts, this is very misleading. It is 2km from the main La Prarion gondola and 1km from Bellevue gondola. It's a tough walk after a day on the slopes. There is a free shuttle bus (ask reception for a bus card) to the slopes it comes about every 30-40 minutes. Les Houches is very quiet and not great for après ski. Chamonix is about 20 minutes away on the free bus and worth visiting for bars and restaurants. Overall hotel is ok.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank outofireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flodesiles74, Owner at Chris-Tal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Hello,

Yes 12h00 is end of lunch for us.
Yes 22h30 is time for bed for us ?

There is always some one at the reception, when i'm not here you just have to press a button, it will call me because you are not alone in the hotel and maybe other Customer need assistance.

Nothing strange....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We needed a good-value hotel over a weekend in the Chamonix area for a family of 4 (incl. 2 young children), and found the Chris-Tal. We had a very pleasant stay in the family suite (recommended as it looks up to the ski hill), which has both a main and separate bedroom. Service was pleasant and friendly, and overall comfort and cleanliness were very good.

Whilst the room was relatively basic, the hotel does offer a pleasant restaurant, a small indoor pool and an underground parking facility.

Location is good - a 5-10 minute walk to the slopes of Les Houches and opposite the bus stop which takes you to Chamonix (free bus pass provided at the reception)

Definitely worth considering if going to the area.

Room Tip: The family suite faces the mountain and ski hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silartravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed for two weeks over new year, family of six. Great service from Flo, the charismatic French owner and his team. Flo went beyond the call of duty to help with various ailments and mishaps making our stay a pleasure. Pool and sauna are great after a days skiing, bar with wood fire and restaurant ideal. Highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Crystal. It is in a great location with a great nursery slope a 3 minute walk away. Also, it is 20m from a ski hire shop which is next to a bus stop with buses every half hour to the ski slopes. In the Hotel, there is a bar, good restaurant, a small swimming pool and sauna. The rooms were nice and the beds were comfy. Thank you Hotel Chris-tal!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Great location for different hiking routes and other sport facilities (golf, via ferrata). The hotel offered peaceful nights to rest. The breakfast in Chris-Tal was multiple and good but during long stay it would be vary a little.There are also some restaurants in Les Houches and we ranked as the best restaurant St Antoine with delicious menus and Bordeaux wines and specialty 'Plate de terre' if not to want go to Chamonix.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarja E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I went with a friend for a late season ski weekend. The price was very low when compared to other available hotels from Chamonix to Merebel. The room was comfortable, big enough for two for the long weekend. The restaurant is tasty and the menu similar to many local restaurants. Good wine list. Great cheap, "local" wines. The owner was extremely helpful with the Internet connection (free) and giving directions as well as references to restaurants in Chamonix. The staff is friendly. Overall, great value and very comfortable.

Room Tip: They all have balconies. This is nice. They all have a view of something.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripdog88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Houches
0.7 mi away
RockyPop Hotel
RockyPop Hotel
#1 of 14 in Les Houches
249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Campanules
Hotel Les Campanules
#2 of 14 in Les Houches
437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Bois
Hotel du Bois
#4 of 14 in Les Houches
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Fontaine
Hotel La Fontaine
#8 of 14 in Les Houches
52 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Saint Antoine
Le Saint Antoine
#3 of 14 in Les Houches
72 reviews
3.6 mi away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#10 of 73 in Chamonix
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chris-Tal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chris-Tal Hotel

Address: 242 avenue des Alpages, 74310 Les Houches, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Houches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Les Houches
Price Range: £77 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chris-Tal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the authentic village of Les Houches, in the heart of the Chamonix valley, and only 6km away from the centre of Chamonix itself, the Hotel CHRIS-TAL is – and has been for generations – a business based on family tradition. Nowadays, Florent Gherold and his team will give you a warm welcome at the hotel, and will ensure that you have wonderful and relaxing break.Free wifi acces, indoor swimming-pool, Restaurant, Sauna, Game room, loung-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Chris-Tal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chris Tal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing