We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service...and note about safes not correct: there are no safes in the rooms!”
Review of Hotel du Bois

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Bois
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Les Houches
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent service...and note about safes not correct: there are no safes in the rooms!”
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Great rooms and great staff. The appartments are extremely well designed and convenient. Staff is always helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GregoryLIENARD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    99
    48
    12
    11
See reviews for
66
75
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Have stayed here about 5 times now and always found the staff helpful, rooms nice and the food reasonable. Nice indoor pool and steam room that at other places would cost to use but free here. Wi-fi also works in the room which is good.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tardis1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Before and after we climbed the Mont Blanc we spent the night here. Before we arrived late (10pm or so), but as we called on the phone, the keys were left for us at the reception, so we could get to our rooms very quickly.

On the way down we called them again and they agreed to have early checkin. When we arrived (10am ish..) our rooms were not ready yet (we estimated to arrive around noon) but we could take a very much needed shower in the wellness area, got breakfast even when the official breakfast was over and could use the wellness until the rooms were ready. And on top of that speaking english never was an issue. We were really very satisfied with the service here.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank gyorigabor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2011

We used the key-operated safe in the room. Quite definitely money was stolen during the day we were out since we placed an exact amount in there with passports etc. Not everything, which would have been blatant, but 150 Euros was taken. The desk clerk (who gave us the key the night before) was disinterested and claimed there was no pass key - there always is in case a guest loses the key. He would not involve 'La Patronne' the owner. He brazened it out and said we were mistaken but was distinctly shifty. The only other thing we could have done is to call the police but how do you prove it? Exactly what the pilferer depends on.

We had used this hotel before but will never go there again and I recommend you do not either. One of the hotel staff is on a nice little earner at guests expense. I would like to know if others have had money stolen there?

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank perronk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

This is a pretty good base for skiing and walking if you have a car. The rooms are better than many hotels although avoid ones facing the road or with inter-connecting doors. The buffet breakfast is OK for a few days but would be improved with better quality OJ, coffee etc. The bar is good with wifi and the most helpful barman we've come across in France. The Englaish speaking staff were really helpful. The hotel minibus shuttles you too and from ski resorts every 15 mins. The two saunas and small pool were a nice treat at the end of a day's skiing. Ski Perf is very helpful on the locations to get the best snow - he has not been wrong fro 2 years. Les Houches suffers from a lack of restaurants (none are near the hotel) and they are expensive for what they are with very disappointing wine lists - an increasing problem in France.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giggsy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2010

Hotel Du Bois was a perfect base for our group of 8 friends of mixed ski-ing ability indulging on a 4 day 30th Birthday celebration. Despite the immediate resort of Les Houches remaining closed during our stay, we took the opportunity to explore the early season resorts of Argentiere and Comayeur (Italy) which are both accessible by a short drive.

Given that the breakfast and evening meal were good enough for us foodies, we did not deem it necessary to leave the hotel to eat. The Sauna and pool were perfect for relaxing after a long day ski-ing and the bar was particularly comfortable for our après ski, enhanced by a constant stream of nibbly bits for us to indulge in while relaxing next to the wood burner.

If you are considering staying in this hotel, a word of warning: we drank all the baileys, port and amaretto (sorry). The staff were extremely helpful, so I'm sure they have re-stocked now....

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caughtoutlate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Friendly staff at reception. We wanted to stay an extra day and they were very flexible about it.
Breakfast was good with a good selection of food. It can get quite crowded especially if there is a tour bus group.
The hotel was comfortable but had strange decorations - although this added to it's charm.
Our room had a little balcony with gorgeous views of the mountains (we didn't have a Mont Blanc view but the view was still amazing).
The hotel is about 10 minutes drive to Chamonix so you need a car, but there is plenty of car parks.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bey0nd_The_Sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Houches
0.6 mi away
RockyPop Hotel
RockyPop Hotel
#1 of 14 in Les Houches
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Campanules
Hotel Les Campanules
#2 of 14 in Les Houches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Saint Antoine
Le Saint Antoine
#3 of 14 in Les Houches
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chris-Tal Hotel
Chris-Tal Hotel
#7 of 14 in Les Houches
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
3.6 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
6.9 mi away
La Chemenaz Hotel
La Chemenaz Hotel
#2 of 5 in Les Contamines-Montjoie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Bois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Bois

Property: Hotel du Bois
Address: 475 avenue des Alpages, 74310 Les Houches, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Houches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Les Houches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Bois 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Bois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Bois Hotel
Du Bois Les Houches

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing