We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mr and Mrs Rolfe”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel du Bois

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Bois
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Les Houches
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mr and Mrs Rolfe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

We have just returned from a week's holiday at this hotel and we Loved everything about it and will definitely return! The Staff were brilliant and nothing was too much trouble and they looked after our every need!! Cannot recommend highly enough. There was a great choice for breakfast, lots of croissants, cereal, toast, eggs, ham, cheese etc and for just 20 euro's pp the evening buffet had something for everyone and was of good quality.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    99
    48
    12
    11
See reviews for
66
76
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

We arrived at Geneva at 9.50 and by 10.30 we were on an efficient Alpybus transfer which dropped us at the Hotel du Bois at 11.45. Our room was ready and we were ski-ing by 13.00 Excellent start to a short break

Hotel Our room was cosy, warm and clean with an awesome view of Mont Blanc and the Aiguille du Midi. The hotel minibus took us to the cable car or the tele-cabine and came to collect us so the location a little way from the lifts was not an issue

Breakfast was excellent and dinner so good that despite intending to eat out, we never made it out of the hotel in 3 days. We left at 6am on the last day and at dinner the restaurant staff helped us make cheese sandwiches for a breakfast picnic

The pool and sauna were really welcome after a day's ski-ing and we used them every night

The hotel bar was warm and friendly and when it closed earlier on Wednesday, the staff made sure we had all the drinks we needed

Les Houches is an excellent place for A 3 day break. Skiing is a challenging yet manageable in 3 days. Mountain restaurants are excellent,,,Courant d'Air at Col de Voza was superb

The hotel was excellent and we will definitely return

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxxyxxyyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snitter.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Arriving after a 9 hour drive, the staff were (thankfully) multilingual. Room had gorgeous view of the valley from its balcony although sadly not to Mt Blanc.Comfortable bed and relaxing bath. Breakfasts were very filling served once again by helpful staff..
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Room Tip: back rooms look to Mt Blanc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marshal_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Spent a week at Hotel du Bois in February and couldn't have asked for a better base for our ski trip to Chamonix. Hotel is minutes from skiing in Les Houches and a free shuttle is provided to get you there or to ski rental shops and a free bus pass is provided to get you to further ski areas or to Chamonix town centre (I don't think anyone ever pays to use the buses there so not sure a pass is necessary). Pool, sauna and bar/lounge with wood fire are perfect for aprés ski. Restaurant had a very good breakfast and dinner buffet but didn't use it much for supper as there are lots of restaurants nearby that are also excellent. Grocery stores within walking distance to stock up on cheese and wine and other necessities. Room had everything we needed including a patio that opened up to spectacular views of Mont Blanc and other mountains. Staff was very friendly and helpful in making arrangements for things to do in and around Chamonix. Hotel was everything we want or needed in one small, comfortable package and would stay there again anytime and hopefully will get to do so again. Thanks and cheers from Canada. :-)

Room Tip: Ask for room facing Mont Blanc. Bottom floor is probably best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

My wife and I stayed a total of four nights at the Du Bois Hotel while skiing in Les Houches in march 2013.

Location:

The hotel is located on the main street of Les Houches. It could not be considered as being within easy walking distance of either the Bellevue or Prarion lifts (not with ski gear anyway). This however is not an issue as the hotel offers an excellent shuttle bus service to both lifts. It is also possible to book a return time slot in the afternoon. In addition, there is a good ski bus service (free with a ticket that can be picked up at reception) that stops approximately 150m beyond the hotel. If you are fit and fond of a stroll, the Bellevue lift can be reached in 20 minutes and sets you up nicely for a couple of good restaurants in the vicinity.

Facilities/Rooms:

Our room was a double with en-suite that had views of the stunning mountain range. The room was 'traditional' which is a way of saying that it was a little tired and in need of refreshing. It was however clean and well serviced each day. Just a personal note, but the pillows were poor and made for a restless nights sleep. Our room had a good TV which allowed access to all UK terrestrial channels as well as a host of European options.

Our deal included breakfast which was continental buffet style and was more than adequate to set you up for the day. Choices included: Fruit, various cheeses and meats, cereals, pastries, fresh bread and the option to make your own boiled eggs and toast. All washed down with coffee and juices.

The hotel is equipped with a small pool and sauna. It also has a lovely and modern bar/lounge area equipped with large comfortable sofas which we made much use of. Free Wi-fi is also available both in the lounge and your room after an initial free sign up.

Staff:

The staff were excellent and all spoke superb English putting our French to shame. They helped to make the stay special dealing with every request and enquiry with a smile. My wife even dropped a small electronic gadget and there it was waiting to be reclaimed on the reception counter later in the day, so trustworthy too.

In summary, the hotel offers a very good base to head off skiing either in Les Houches or in nearby Chamonix. It is clean and roomy with space and facilities to wind down or just chill of an evening.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear offer a superb view of the mountain range and avoid the street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Popey57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

We stayed here for a long weekends boarding. The hotel is fine, rooms are basic but that's what you get in a French ski resort. The bar area is quite nice with a roaring log burning stove, all very cosy.

The Les Houches town is very quiet, but lively Chamonix is a free bus ride away, taxi back once full of very expensive booze is around 40euros.

The reception was very helpful in explains the various ski areas and quickly sorting our lift passes really couldn't fault the service.


We had breakfast which was a basic continental affair, but adequate.

Overall a good base for the Chamonix ski area and good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShuntManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

The hotel is easily accessible from the motorway (i.e. it's within a few hundred yards). There didn't seem to be a lot of parking spaces, but luckily we always found one. The hotel was clean. Staff were always very helpful and friendly and spoke English. Our room was a decent size. The bathroom was fine, but seemed a little tired. Unfortunately, a screaming child next door awoke us in the early hours, but that's not the hotel's fault. The bar was an area that people could easily relax in. We didn't try the restaurant, but the pizza place (right out of the hotel door and c.100 yards along on the opposite side of the road) was very good. Chamonix is only c.3 miles down that same road (it's less hassle than the motorway) and the restaurants there cater for all tastes and budgets. The ski rental place almost opposite the hotel offered competitive rates and the guy there was top class - he spoke English and was very friendly and helpful. The hotel's shuttle service to the slopes was a little disappointing. It runs regularly, and although you can indicate when you want to depart, there is no way of assessing how many people will be wanting a lift at that time. Be prepared to wait. Also, don't think being picked up from the nearer Bellvue area will give a quicker return trip - the minibus drives from the hotel past there and picks up residents from the further stop first and, if it's then full, you can expect a further 30 minute wait. It's a bit of a lottery. Having said that, the free buses in the valley are fairly frequent and drop off 100 yards past the hotel. All in all, this is a good hotel and pretty good value for money. If you hire a car from Geneva, I recommend that you obtain the sat nav coordinates for the return - our hirer threatened a 120 euro fine if we dropped the car off on the Swiss side; they provided an inadequate map and there was an element of luck in finding our way back in time for the flight. Hope that helps.

Room Tip: The cheaper room was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonysllcch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Houches
0.6 mi away
RockyPop Hotel
RockyPop Hotel
#1 of 14 in Les Houches
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Campanules
Hotel Les Campanules
#2 of 14 in Les Houches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Saint Antoine
Le Saint Antoine
#3 of 14 in Les Houches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chris-Tal Hotel
Chris-Tal Hotel
#7 of 14 in Les Houches
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
3.6 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
6.9 mi away
La Chemenaz Hotel
La Chemenaz Hotel
#2 of 5 in Les Contamines-Montjoie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Bois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Bois

Property: Hotel du Bois
Address: 475 avenue des Alpages, 74310 Les Houches, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Houches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Les Houches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Bois 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Bois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Bois Hotel
Du Bois Les Houches

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing