We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Break”
Review of Hotel du Bois

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel du Bois
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Les Houches
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We have just spent a super week's holiday at the Hotel du Bois in Les Houches just a short bus ride from Chamonix. We were fortunate enough to book a room with a view of Mont Blanc. On arrival we opened the balcony door and there it was, covered with snow against a brilliant blue sky. The 3 - course dinners were beautifully prepared, and a good choice of wine was available. Breakfast was satisfactory, with the only hot being d.i.y. boiled eggs. The hotel was an ideal centre for getting around the area by bus and train up the valley from Chamonix. The staff were friendly and very helpful, making our stay most enjoyable. Although we didn't use the indoor pool, several of the other guests did and thought it was great. It was very pleasing to have David, the owner, around the hotel, ensuring everything was running smoothly for the guests. Forgot to mention the packed lunches were of a very high standard and we had them on several occasions. A very pleasant and comfortable hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor at the rear give superb views of Mont Blanc and the surrounding Alps.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Bois
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Really enjoyed my stay here. Room was lovely, bed was comfy, it's only a few minutes walk to the bus stop (which takes you into Chamonix). Staff happy to speak English and teach you a few French words if you are keen. The complementary shuttle to the les Houches slopes certainly topped the holiday off.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank SiFind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Our hotel choice was dictated by availability ; it was a last minute decision to go for a long weekend at half term. But we weren't disappointed with our choice. The croissants at breakfast were fab, and there was the usual fare - ham, eggs etc. we didn't use the pool but it looked nice. The bar was very comfortable and welcoming. We loved the minibus shuttle to Prarion. We didn't eat in the hotel but St Antoine for pizza is very near by. And we love La Chavanne which further away (in the direction of the ski lifts).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennis_karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This was our third visit to the Hotel du Bois, we return because the hotel does and is everything it promises. We were a large family group celebrating a big birthday, wives, girlfriends, grand child, so we took one of the large chalet apartments and two rooms in the hotel. Everyone was happy with the hotel at all levels, the chalet was spacious and really well equipped, the rooms were comfortable and big enough to have a baby cot, the bathrooms were better than usual. The pool and sauna were great after a day's skiing. The hotel runs a shuttle bus to the lifts in les Houches, a quick call and they are there in 10 minutes, a valuable service. Free WiFi throughout the hotel has been upgraded this year. There is ample parking.

Room Tip: Rooms with the Mont Blanc view are quiet and sunny.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traiteurdelonnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We could not fault this hotel. The attentive staff could not do enough for us and the owner seemed to be there 24 hours a day making sure we were well looked after. We had three young children with us and it was great to have the bonus of pool and games room, free wifi and family friendly but gourmet standard restaurant and the invaluable service of the shuttle bus from the front door to the ski lift whenever we wanted it. We can't believe this is only 3 stars: we would give it 5!
If you want somewhere with great value for money, friendly and efficient staff and a warm family friendly atmosphere, you won't find anywhere better.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jo-kennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My 7 year old and myself stayed for 5 nights at the Hotel Du Bois Les Houches. We loved it from the min we arrived we were welcomed by Natalie on reception who told us all we needed to know about the hotel and the local area.They have a bus that will take to up and back to the ski lift in 5 min or less. Breakfast was good, all you would expect from a european hotel, fresh fruit and fresh juice, cold meats, cereals, eggs, breads etc lots of to so you wont go hungry to the slopes.
The pool was great very warm so perfect for a swim after your day skiing.
The rooms were clean and warm and a good size too. I would stay here again no problem. we loved Les houches and if we get back there we will be staying in the Hotel du Bois.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMDes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We spent 5 nights here to explore the area and relax. We were given a warm welcome by the owner on arrival and our room was just fabulous, with a breath-taking view of Mont Blanc. During our stay we swam in the hotel pool and relaxed in the lounge area in front of the wood burning stove - it was really idyllic. Les Houches is very picturesque and not too far from Chamonix. We also had a day out in Annecy which is only about an hour away by car. We ate somewhere different every night in Les Houches but the best meal by far was at the hotel, so we dined there for our last evening. The staff were wonderful, nothing was too much trouble and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I would have no hesitation in recommending this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank galloceltique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Houches
0.6 mi away
RockyPop Hotel
RockyPop Hotel
#1 of 14 in Les Houches
207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Campanules
Hotel Les Campanules
#2 of 14 in Les Houches
426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Saint Antoine
Le Saint Antoine
#3 of 14 in Les Houches
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons
0.1 mi away
Chris-Tal Hotel
Chris-Tal Hotel
#6 of 14 in Les Houches
115 reviews
3.6 mi away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Bois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Bois

Address: 475 avenue des Alpages, 74310 Les Houches, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Houches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Les Houches
Price Range: £49 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Bois 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel du Bois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Bois Hotel
Du Bois Les Houches

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing