We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice modern alpine chalet near Les Houches and Chamonix”

Auberge du Montagny
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge du Montagny
Ranked #3 of 10 Les Houches B&B and Inns
Al Khobar
Level Contributor
105 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice modern alpine chalet near Les Houches and Chamonix”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is a nice place to stay on the outskirts of les Houches and not far from Chamonix. It is up a long, rather steep lane from the main road, so be warned if you are walking to it. If you have a car, it is a perfect place to stay; quiet and away from the hustle and bustle of they nearby towns. The rooms are nice, with their wooden panels and windows giving you the feel of being in the alps. The auberge is spotlessly clean and the facilities modern. There is a free bus service to les Houches and Chamonix if you walk to the main road (5 minutes down hill), but remember that this service finishes early and you might need a taxi back. There are no bars or restaurants within a mile and a bit from the auberge. Internet was a little slow (free for very slow or €5 a day for functional but still rather slow by modern European standards.) Breakfast was good, with local produce. I used the auberge whilst walking GR5. There are footpaths that lead to Col to Voza from nearby the auberge, although thanks to a recent landslide this was rather challenging (hazardous actually, with a warning sign saying 'interdit'). If rejoining the GR5 or heading to les Contamines, I would suggest heading back into Les Houches first. Very pleasant owners. Recommended if you have a car.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickKhobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed here for one night with my mother on the top floor in a cute room with a balcony big enough for two. The decor is authentically charming and the rooms are very tidy and clean. We enjoyed the friendliness of the owner and her local knowledge and suggestions for activities in the area were spot on.

It was the panoramic view from our balcony of the snow-capped mountains against the contrast of the green grass which was memorable. There is nothing like sipping a chilled wine, eating local cheese and bread for dinner from the privacy of your own balcony as the sun sets and the colour of the mountains change. I would love to return and share this experience with my partner. Great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bardi78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
142 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay here. The room was very cute, with very nice canon themed design and furniture, and a gorgeous view. It is close to the bus stop and less than a kilometre to the nearest restaurant. The staff was wonderful and continental breakfast was well stocked and delicious. We recommend the top floor as the floors are a bit thin.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 463fredc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This was a quaint B&B style chalet near les houches and chamonix, but not within walking distance to either town center and 5-10 minutes to the nearest lift by car. The Small common room with fire place was cute but no fire and there is little ambience or activity in the lobby area which is pretty much self serve except for a nice continental breakfast ( not included) served by the personable and helpful hostess who speaks English well. Rooms were clean, quaint and spartan with nice mountain views and functional modified bath/showers. No frills such as refrigerators, comfy chair, in room coffee etc. and internet is free for 1 hour. Some house rules (no shoes outside of lobby) made us feel like we were house guests, which was ok with us because our hostess was so nice and helpful, but could be off putting to some. Good value especially for serious ski and sleep patrons.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Mont Blanc .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jobenlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, owner made us very welcome. Nice spacious rooms, great breakfast. Quiet road off the main road. In winter you need winter tyres or 4x4 to access, as 800m up a steep hill which is not cleared when it has snowed. You need a car to access skiing in les houches and chamonix, but makes a perfect base for both areas.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This B&B is an exemplary depiction of the perfect place to be. The view of the mountain on the balcony is beautiful, proportionate to the decoration of the inside. Our family room was a large, tastefully decorated paradise. The owners were friendly and informative. The quality far exceeded the price.

The room was spotless, homely and spacious. There was nothing basic about this room at all. Utterly perfect.

Room Tip: The family room is beautiful with fantastic view and a balcony. But I am sure every room is of simil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_badger_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We loved it here, spotlessly clean and in a quiet location with stunning views. We stayed in the family room which had a balcony and was very quaint. The welcome was friendly. We will be back soon to Chamonix and we will stay again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank t0p_0f_the_hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Houches hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Les Campanules
Hotel Les Campanules
#2 of 14 in Les Houches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.3 mi away
RockyPop Hotel
RockyPop Hotel
#1 of 14 in Les Houches
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Bois
Hotel du Bois
#4 of 14 in Les Houches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Saint Antoine
Le Saint Antoine
#3 of 14 in Les Houches
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chris-Tal Hotel
Chris-Tal Hotel
#7 of 14 in Les Houches
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence les Balcons d'Anaite
Residence les Balcons d'Anaite
#6 of 14 in Les Houches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Montagny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Montagny

Property: Auberge du Montagny
Address: 490 route du Pont, 74310 Les Houches, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Houches
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Les Houches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge du Montagny 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Auberge du Montagny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing