We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Winter trip”
Nestled under the Dome du Gouter at the foot of Mont Blanc, the Lodge  has stunning valley views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nestled under the Dome du Gouter at the foot of Mont Blanc, the Lodge  has stunning valley views
Unrivaled views of Mont Blanc, its glaciers and the entire Chamonix valley from our Jacuzzi. Private garden with glorious views towards the Fiz and down the valley from Les Houches.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
80 reviews
Nestled under the Dome du Gouter at the foot of Mont Blanc, the Lodge  has stunning valley views
Unrivaled views of Mont Blanc, its glaciers and the entire Chamonix valley from our Jacuzzi.
Private garden with glorious views towards the Fiz and down the valley from Les Houches.
Magnificent mountain views in every direction.
Set in a large private garden in a quiet spot on the mountainside above les Houches.
Modern, fully-fitted and well-equipped kitchen with its own patio.
Our snug, complete with log fire for chilly summer evenings or the perfect post ski retreat.
Our kids corner, some where just for them to enjoy playing a game or two.
Super king sized beds with gorgeous linen and soft towels.
All our bedrooms are en suite and have the option of super king sized or twin.
Family suites with twins, super kings and bathrooms makes sharing with friends and family easy.
Modern, stylish decor throughout.
Beautifully finished shower rooms complete with Gilchrest and Soames soaps.
Welcome to BlackRock - or Roche Noire as they call it in French.
Welcome to BlackRock Ski Lodge
A winter paradise in the family friendly ski area of les Houches.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Les Houches, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 80 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Chris A
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Winter trip”
Reviewed 15 March 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We have visited Lizzy and Paul a few times now and they make us feel very welcome, will sort out as much as they possibly can for you to make your trip enjoyable.
Paul arranges our off piste days with a guide and they get better each year.
And then you can wind down in the hot tub and sauna.
Food is amazing and plenty of wine to go with it.
Look forward to revisiting.

Cheers Chris

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2018
always lovely to have you guys and look forward to seeing you next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodie_gam...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfection”
Reviewed 6 March 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We stayed for a week for a family holiday in December and were just spoilt from start to finish. Amazing hosts catering for everyones needs, with a great team around them. The chalet is immaculate and very beautifully designed in a stunning location. Great food, great wine and a wonderful time! We will be back :)

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2018
Thanks Jodie really looking forward to having you guys back next Easter!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victorial...
2 reviews
“unforgettable”
Reviewed 4 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

A great week of skiing and a magical experience.
The hosts, Lizzy and Paul were brilliantly helpful and wonderfully genuine. The lodge was fantastic, its clever layout meant that we could be social and snug at the same time. The food was top notch. The staff were brilliant and our driver was so good that the kids asked to bring him home with us. Nothing was too much for these guys. It was truly an unforgettable trip.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2018
Thanks Vicky was lovely to have you guys stay and hope to see you all again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikesmith...
Verbier, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“smart comfort and informed ambience”
Reviewed 4 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Black Rock Ski Lodge is located next to the pistes in Les Houches, and is in reality a ski in/out destination in the Chamonix Valley, a rarity in itself, but also a well organised and smartly run operation that offers transport from the door by the Lodge's own vehicles. The whole operation runs smoothly, like a swan gliding against a fast running stream it appears effortless, but under the surface a powerful pair of limbs (in this case the owners Paul and Liz) propel the body forward.
The decor is Alpine-chic without unnecessary glitz, the staff are helpful, competent and happy to work there, and the ambience is what you think of when you imagine a classic scene of snow falling lightly outside, a welcoming drink in front of a log fire and interesting fellow guests. All in all, although a short stay, it felt like a place to which I would return in a heartbeat.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RacineGO
Racine, Wi
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic lodge for a family vacation”
Reviewed 13 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

The lodge is a simply wonderful setting to enjoy the beauty of the mountains and relax with family. The awesome chalet design, with multi-level living spaces, allows for large gatherings or smaller groups to hang out. The rooms are nicely appointed, comfortable and cozy. However, what made our week amazing with the attention of Lizzie, Naoise, the outstanding food prepared by Jack, and Angus driving us all over the valley. Lizzie worked with us to coordinate 14 people going in different directions, sightseeing, skiing, snowshoeing, shopping. Quite honestly, we could not have asked for a more perfect week in the French Alps for Christmas. Thanks for arranging the performance and Christmas sing-along with Eleanor - that was so special. Our experience surpassed all of our expectations and we would recommend BlackRock Lodge without hesitation. Thank you again to Lizzie and team for an unforgettable family holiday.

Value Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben C
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing chalet”
Reviewed 9 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We visited BlackRock this December with the family to celebrate a 40th. Wow what a great time we had. Liz and Beej were great hosts and nothing was too much trouble including Beej helping out putting on snow chains at 1am whilst Lizzy warmed up the spaghetti Bolognese and then being up again first thing to get us fitted for our skis. A fantastic chalet, fantastic food and drink, fantastic hosts and team working for them. Will definitely be back!

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Kenni...
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Skiing trip and family holiday”
Reviewed 8 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

This Chalet is excellent, we visited as a large extended family just prior to Christmas. Lizzy and Paul were excellent hosts, their support team made the holiday work very well. All our needs were catered for. We particularly like the way the whole team made our family feel welcome - a wonderful start to the 2017 Christmas holidays. Also skiing back to the Chalet's back door at the end of a days skiing was great fun, with Paul leading us. We will definitely be back to see how much Chloe (the youngest host - aged 3) has surpassed our skiing ability!

Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;