We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great price, nice comfortable apartments, would stay again.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence les Balcons d'Anaite

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residence les Balcons d'Anaite
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Les Houches
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great price, nice comfortable apartments, would stay again.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We chose Les Balcon d'Anaite due to price and space offered- we are a family of six - two teenagers and two younger children, 2 adults, who were there for the ski-ing (not nights out/partying) and therefore went for the biggest apartment possible at the best price - the 10 bed one. This has two small double bedrooms on the ground floor with two bathrooms (bath with shower over, 2 sinks in each) a kitchenette/lounge with two big sofas and a chair and an open fire - the owner can supply logs, or the Super U supermarket also does them. One of the sofas is a sofa bed, but we did not use this. Upstairs there were two more bedrooms with twin beds in each (low beams). One very small toilet off the lounge/diner, and also a storage room on GF. A sliding door from our apartment (No. 5) led onto a small shared garden and a balcony area. Kitchen had dishwasher (unused) microwave (which I think may have had an oven/grill but again did not use this), kettle, fridge freezer and all the usual kitchen equipment/crockery. Nice reception and lounge, with coffee and sweets, but in off-season no other facilities bar etc.) - we did not mind this as we did not need or expect it for the price. Apartments are within 3 minutes walk of the Saint Antoine ski bus stop taking you to Prarion or Bellevue (for les Houches skiers in 6 minutes and 3 minutes respectively) and Chamonix Sud in 15 minutes, and within 8 mins walk from the Super U supermarket, which is well stocked and reasonably priced. There's a tabac/drinks place within a minute. We went in the probably the quietest week of the season (starting 4 jan) so please take the review in that context. Pros: Apartment very comfortable, clean, warm with heaters to all rooms, underfloor heating and bathroom heaters (which we dried ski gloves on etc), we got the free wifi in our lounge as we were on the GF. There are free ski lockers in the basement, and a selection of free to use sledges, which we used in the car park (there is one, but we did not use it). There is a hammam (turkish bath), gym and sauna in basement, which you can sign up to use in 20 minute slots (we used these 3 times, clean and of course empty as we were in low season). TV in lounge had BBC1 and BBC2. When you arrive you need to pay 10 euro per person for towels and bed linen - we got 1 bath sheet and 1 hand towel per person, and plenty of sheets - given the price of the apartment, this is fine, because above all though, this residence is extremely good value for money - we paid about £760 via booking.com for a week. The residence also let you order boulangerie breakfast items, but again, we did not take this up as they arrive at 8.30 and we had gone ski-ing by then. Both reception staff (Sylvie and a chap whose name we did not get) both helpful and informative, and friendly, both speak good english. When you arrive ask reception for a travel pass, this lets you have all the ski buses (to Chamonix and beyond) and a train pass Servoz to Vallorcine. Cons: None - this was an excellent apartment for the price paid, suited our family perfectly, and we very much enjoyed our stay. There are a few things to mention for other skiers: 1) Book a bigger apartment than you need - we thought our apartment would be fine for 6 adult (non-related) skiers - it was plenty big enough for our family of six. 2) You have the choice of leaving the apartment spotlessly clean or paying 10 e per person and 30 e for the kitchen - this is discussed up front, and as you leave so you have the choice. 3) The residence is fairly strict about their start times (4pm on day of arrival) and 10am leaving time.Saturday to Saturday, you can extend your stay IF they have availability and you call them direct (4pm-7pm) they did allow us to store our bags when we arrived in the driving rain at 2pm on our first day, but only because the owner was in reception and took pity on us, Don't expect this 4) the airport shuttle goes from nearby at 25E one way to Geneva airport, takes an hour - no idea how to book this as we went by train, which is a bit painful 5) It probably isn't a residence for party-goers (10pm noise curfew) but then nor is Les Houches in general - you need Chamonix (or the night bus) if this is what you are after.6) ski buses - reliable enough - the 1, 15, and 17 take you to Prarion, 17 goes via the station every 3 buses. They were quiet most times (off season) imagine they are horrible in Brit or FR half term. We enjoyed our stay as a family. Happy to be contacted with any more detail.

Room Tip: We had apartment 5, which sleeps 10 (or 6 singles) it was great. Although it backs onto motorway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    32
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
39
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Co.Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Apartment has kitchen but if its use it you must pay extra for cleaning (not informed at booking)
we did not use the kitchen but owner took money from my credit card without my permission.Makes me feel sick.
Also apartment very small (photos misleading) two people have to sleep on bunk beds in hallway apartment has only one room but advertised for up to 6 adults.Traffic noise all night with motorway behind and main road in-front.
Not even a kettle in apartment to make coffee.
The main center is Chamonix but too far to walk about 4 miles.If you going to have a glass of wine you will need a taxi.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnlI3055WW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

I like it. Some things can be better, but overall is okay!
Very good view from the window.
Good rooms, all in wood!
Good location if you are with car.
Rooms with private balconies.
Kitchen with fridge, dishwasher whichone better don't use, all of the dishes, but the pans are damaged there is a microwave, but no oven.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Williamfongree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

We reserved an apartment of 4 to 6 people. We are lucky we were only 4 because we thought the apartment was going to have two rooms and it was just a big living area with a double bed and two beds (one of top of the other) in the hallway by the entrance. We were two couples so didnt get a lot of privacy. However, the place was very clean and tidy, and good value for the price we paid. It would be good if the hotel can specify the accommodation it offers, because when people think they are staying in an apartment, they would naturally assume it has separated rooms and ensuite bathrooms. The apartment was extremely hot at night and we had to open one of the windows, we couldn't find the temperature control.

The place has some minor flaws, but it was ok for the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theluxuriant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaunas, Lithuania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

Apartment was clean and tidy. The view from the window was really nice. Hotel is close to the bus stop, shopping center and not too far from closest ski resorts. Me and my family stayed in 6-8 people apartment, so we really needed extra place to dry our clothes and to put our shoes. All in all, the service was good for the price we payed.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ugnė M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

my family and me stayed here for 10 days in 6-8 person app. the app. was a small living room with sofa bed ,kitchen ,flat t.v and nice balcony facing mont blanc .the upper floor is 2 bedrooms with window fixed on ceiling .the location was ok 5 mins drive to chamonix ,there was also supermarket (u) about 300 meters with fuel station and indian restraint 100m from residence .the staff (augastino and alisandrow) were very polite and ready to help all the time they speak excellent English .there were couple problems : the constant noise comes from the highway and from the street ,this problem can be eliminated by closing window but in summer is going to be hard to close the window you need fresh cold air i think if they provide a fan it will help a lot or you can bring your own ,also the ventilation sys .in bathroom was not working .
the Lenin has to be rented 10 euro pp. so bring yours if you want to save some euros . the internet was strong but only in reception but very weak inside app.the saona and hammam was so great you have to reserve a day before though .
finally the price of the rental was so cheap it will makes forget about all other problems . sure i,ll be back if i have chance again .

Room Tip: take app. facing street not high way the view is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mechil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Good sized room, nice balcony and an incredible view of the Mont Blanc. Very friendly reception staff. The hotel is very close to the autoroute but the road noise was only minor in our room (which was a 2 bed room duplex on the top floor). In fact the road noise from the local road in front of the hotel was louder than from the autoroute. It might be worse from other rooms (lower down) however. The balcony faces the other way so you can only see the Mont Blanc. The autoroute is not visible from your room. They charge 10 euro per person for bed linen and towels, and 75 euro for cleaning at the end of the stay. Of course you can avoid this by bringing your own towels and linen and cleaning (very thoroughly) the apartment at the end. These are rather unusual conditions in my experience. Bring your own towels at least (the linen charge is then reduced to 6 euro / person). The WiFi is advertised only to work in the reception area but actually it kinda worked in our room also (but was a bit flakey).

Room Tip: Go for a room at the top of the hotel (the duplex ones)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wilburthewalrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Houches hotels
0.5 mi away
RockyPop Hotel
RockyPop Hotel
#1 of 14 in Les Houches
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Campanules
Hotel Les Campanules
#2 of 14 in Les Houches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Bois
Hotel du Bois
#4 of 14 in Les Houches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Saint Antoine
Le Saint Antoine
#3 of 14 in Les Houches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chris-Tal Hotel
Chris-Tal Hotel
#7 of 14 in Les Houches
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel La Fontaine
Hotel La Fontaine
#8 of 14 in Les Houches
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence les Balcons d'Anaite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence les Balcons d'Anaite

Property: Residence les Balcons d'Anaite
Address: Residence les Balcons D Anaite 50 rue de l Aiguille Verte, 74310 Les Houches, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Houches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Les Houches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence les Balcons d'Anaite 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of Mont Blanc in the Chamonix valley, Les Balcons d'Anaite is fully renovated in a traditional Alpine style with modern and comfortable amenities. It offers 25 fully equipped apartments (2 to 12 people), a fitness center with sauna, hammam and fitness equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence les Balcons d'Anaite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing