We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal experience”
Review of Hotel Slalom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Slalom
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Les Houches
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We used Hotel Slalom at the recommendation of our tour company as a base the night before and then at the conclusion of a 10-day walking holiday around Mont Blanc. The room was very spacious, modern and functional, with a balcony to the street and windows to two other sides as well. And the bathroom was huge. All up, very comfortable indeed. Continental breakfast was excellent, especially the perfect croissants. The English owner Tracey was very accommodating, storing our luggage while we were on the walk, recommending really good restaurants within just a few minutes’ walk, and providing good advice and help on about how to get around in the Chamonix Valley. Staying in smaller, quieter, better-value Les Houches is much preferable to the busier, more upmarket and touristy Chamonix further up the valley. The hotel is 1 minute from the bus stop, and as the hotels provide a card which gives free transport within the valley, Hotel Slalom is a really good option. It has a home-away-from home feeling you don't get in many hotels.

Room Tip: We had the room to the right at the top of the stairs on the second floor, with views on three sides...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AustTrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2012

We just came back from the Tour du Mont Blanc trek (which was great). Our start point was Les Houches and we couldn't have chosen a better place then hotel slalom.
Tracy and molly were very welcoming and helpful with everything we needed (Trek and restaurants recommendations. The rooms are clean and pleasant.
The Trek virtually starts opposite the Slalom hotel and we were very happy to stay there additional night after finishing the trek (feels like coming home..).
It was a delight being at the Salalom and I warmly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zohar E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

When the Great Book of Life is writ, Hotel Slalom and owner Tracey will surely be writ LARGE!
A warm welcome from Tracey and her gals, making us feel very much at home. Clean, comfortable and attractive double room with balcony and mountain views. Breakfasts were plentiful and delicious, including the best croissants we'd had in years and superb coffee. Merci bien Tracey and, as Arnie would say, "We'll be back!"

David and Olga Lassman

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidOlga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Having been booked in to the hotel by a family member, purely for location purposes, I really didn't expect much. However.... as soon as I arrived, I was proven VERY wrong!

We were greeted by the owner Tracey, who was absolutely charming and made us feel instantly welcome. After having it explained that quite sensibly we must leave our room key every time we leave the hotel, and that after a certain time we must use the back door entrance as the front door would be locked, we were shown to our delightful rooms. These were immaculate in terms of both cleanliness and tidiness, and were furnished beautifully with naturally outstanding views.

Breakfast each morning was excellent with a great selection of food, and once again the help/company/local knowledge of English owner Tracey.

An added bonus - the huge collection of DVDs downstairs, to be borrowed at leisure and returned when finished. Usually I'd need to watch something to help me drift off to sleep, but with all that Les Houches/Chamonix mountain air, tranquillity of the village and not to mention the tremendously comfortable beds... I was out like a light!

A delightful, well-run, safe and friendly hotel! Thoroughly recommended to all - couldn't fault it!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KL1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

After a short, two night, stay at this hotel I cannot praise it enough. Tracey was wonderful and her hotel absolutely lovely. The rooms were beautifully decorated with individual touches and had superb views. The breakfast was marvellous. I would not hesitate to recommend Hotel Slalom and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank menagLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

This hotel is wonderful! Tracy is wonderful! The rooms were spotless and very comfortable. Nice balcony that gave you a superb view of Mt Blanc.
Best yet... she served you coffee when you were ready..yes I am an American caffeine freak and she accomodated that! Breakfast each morning was lovely. Best croissants we had during our entire France visit. The bar was comfortable and great bartender, yep, Tracy again!
Would we go back? You betcha, in a heartbeat! The owner is a delighful woman on a wonderful journey to entertain and host. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Short stay to settle daughter Emma into university placement in nearby St Gervais.
All round excellent - made very welcome by charming owner Tracey, (who even offered to be local contact for Emma if any problems).
Clearly a great location for a ski visit - 2013?
Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123mike_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Houches hotels
1.4 mi away
RockyPop Hotel
RockyPop Hotel
#1 of 14 in Les Houches
269 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Les Campanules
Hotel Les Campanules
#2 of 14 in Les Houches
445 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Bois
Hotel du Bois
#4 of 14 in Les Houches
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Saint Antoine
Le Saint Antoine
#3 of 14 in Les Houches
74 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chris-Tal Hotel
Chris-Tal Hotel
#6 of 14 in Les Houches
124 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel La Fontaine
Hotel La Fontaine
#8 of 14 in Les Houches
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Slalom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Slalom

Address: 44 rue de Bellevue, 74310 Les Houches, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Houches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Les Houches
Price Range: £88 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Slalom 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Slalom has been refurbished in a contemporary style with Egyptian cotton linen, plasma TVs, DVDs, sleek modern bathrooms in 10 bedrooms and wi-fi throughout. Located next to the world-famous Kandahar downhill run and opposite the main ski lift, this ski-in, ski-out hotel is also a superb summer destination with a host of activities on offer including mountain biking, trekking, paragliding and golf. Hotel Slalom prides itself on its personal and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Slalom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing