We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in the world.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Slalom

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Les Houches
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Slalom
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Les Houches
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best hotel in the world.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

New to trip advisor or I would have written a review sooner.

My friends and I have been skiing for long weekends and stayed here four weekends in the last five years.

It is by far and away the most welcoming and friendly place anywhere. Tracy and her team are awesome and go way beyond what you'd expect from from your usual run of the mill hotel team.

You really can ski to your door being so close to the Bellevue cable car and Les Houches is a perfect place for a weekends skiing, but he real beauty of this place is the après ski. Though the hotel doesn't do evening food you can order a pizza to the bar or eat in one of the local restaurants.

We've had some great times here and will definitely be back again soon.

Room Tip: They are all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilandShar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    8
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
73
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

We 'book-ended' our Tour du Mont Blanc in the first week of September with stays at the Hotel Slalom. It is everything other recent reviewers have written plus more. Tracy is the perfect host. Easy going but attentive, friendly but unobtrusive. Great quiet location away from the hustle and bustle of Chamonix but next to the free bus service that gets you there quickly when you want to go downtown. Les Houches is a pretty village with the Basilic restaurant among others, and a sports shop for the last minute things you forgot to pack for the hike. The Slalom has a lovely garden and bar with excellent house wine. The rooms are large and modern with great views of the mountains. When I returned from the TMB with a cold Tracy made me a hot lemon with honey - just like home. We hope to come back in winter.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Firstfleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

A good friend recommended we stay here on our trip down to Italy recently. Hotel Slalom is ideally located close to the unofficial centre of Les Houches, with a wide variety of places to eat / drink on the doorstep. The hotel itself is a charming typically French chalet, with superb views from all windows, very comfortable rooms, a good bar and a lovely fresh breakfast provided too. Owned & operated by Tracey Spraggs, who is a genuinely superb host! We will most definitely return to the Hotel Slalom and will now make this our first choice to stay when next in the area. Highly recommend to all!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MR9011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Cumbria,
Level Contributor
282 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

This was my second time at Le Slalom, and the family's first. we stayed at the start of the petit TMB and at the end.
It's a super place and Tracey is a great hostess - she also makes a great cuppa- now we have reminded her of the English method!
Quite simply hotels like this are hard to find - Tracey has a Phd in hospitality, whether dealing with adults or Kids (incidentally ours loved it!)
We will be back.....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Strategically situated at the start of the TMB.
Superbly welcoming.
Scrupulously maintained.
Meticulous standards.
I've stayed here four times over eight years.
I sound as if I had shares in the Slalom.
I wish I did.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyishwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

Our lives in Vaudagne, just 2 miles from Les Houches, and we needed an hotel nearby on a visit to meet our new grandson. Aware that being a popular ski/hiking destination would likely mean expensive, we were pleasantly surprised to find the Hotel Slalom at a sensible price and with everything we regard as essential. Our spotlessly clean room was a good size with a large, comfortable bed, ensuring a good nights sleep. The bathroom was spacious and well appointed. A simple but more than adequate continental style breakfast is served in the comfortable hotel bar.

There is no lift to the 3 floors that comprise the Hotel Slalom, and although it didn't bother us, it might be an issue to the less mobile. Neither is there a restaurant, but there are perfectly adequate eateries within walking distance, and the main resort town of Chamonix is only a few minutes a away by car and well served by local buses.

All in all, this is an excellent, well priced hotel that served our purposes very well. The English owners ensure that your stay is a cut above many similarly appointed hotels. We'll be back!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 129Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
685 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Loved our stay at Hotel Slalom. Tracey, Heather, and Kevin were great. Welcoming friendly and sensational hosts. The room was excellent and had a great view of the mountains. Clean, spacious, great bathroom with a bath for soaking those tired ski legs.

Breakfast in the morning was a highlight! Cereals, fruits, croissants, bread, cheeses, meats, juices and hot eggs and bacon if you wanted it. Could not have been better! And Heather was always great with recommendations of where to ski that day depending on the weather.

The hotel is literally 50m to the Bellvue Gondola at Les Houches and you can ski down to right across the road to the front door. If you want to ski at some of the other mountains in the valley, the bus stop is also 50m away. With restaurants, shops etc all close by - this really was the perfect location!

We always stopped for an Apres ski drink in the hotel bar at the end of the day. Always a few people around, but great drinks from Kevin and Tracey was always floating round for a chat.

We arrived early and our room was ready for us when we arrived so we could change and get out on the slopes, and at the end of our stay, we were leaving late so Tracey had arranged for us to keep our room so we could ski in the morning and then shower and change before heading to the airport - all at no extra cost!

We'd highly recommend staying at Hotel Slalom - we will definitely be back. Ticks all the boxes!

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views of the mountain. Our room (room 2) was at the front at looked out ont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbspeedo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Houches hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Les Campanules
Hotel Les Campanules
#2 of 14 in Les Houches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
1.4 mi away
RockyPop Hotel
RockyPop Hotel
#1 of 14 in Les Houches
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chris-Tal Hotel
Chris-Tal Hotel
#7 of 14 in Les Houches
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Bois
Hotel du Bois
#4 of 14 in Les Houches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Saint Antoine
Le Saint Antoine
#3 of 14 in Les Houches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel La Fontaine
Hotel La Fontaine
#8 of 14 in Les Houches
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Slalom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Slalom

Property: Hotel Slalom
Address: 44 rue de Bellevue, 74310 Les Houches, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Houches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Les Houches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Slalom 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Slalom has been refurbished in a contemporary style with Egyptian cotton linen, plasma TVs, DVDs, sleek modern bathrooms in 10 bedrooms and wi-fi throughout. Located next to the world-famous Kandahar downhill run and opposite the main ski lift, this ski-in, ski-out hotel is also a superb summer destination with a host of activities on offer including mountain biking, trekking, paragliding and golf. Hotel Slalom prides itself on its personal and friendly service. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing