We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Chamonix”
Review of Hotel Slalom

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Les Houches
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Slalom
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Les Houches
North West London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Chamonix”
Reviewed 10 March 2011

This is the best hotel in Chamonix, the service, comfort, decor and location (a minute to the slopes) is first class in every respect. Tracy, Beth, Heather and Chris all did their best to make sure we had everything we needed during our stay.
The best touches were - BBC in the rooms, free wifi everywhere, football on TV in the bar, big bathrooms, boot warmers and the amazing view from our bedroom (no 4).
A special mention also needs to be made for Beth's Vin Chaud, arguably the best in The Alps.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KilburnHils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    8
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
73
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

My son and I have just had our 2nd stay at the Slalom Hotel and again it was wonderful...
Thank you Tracey, Heather and Beth , you`re a fantastic team.
So look forward to our return next year xxx

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnash20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2011

We had the most amazing stay at this beautiful hotel! The owner Tracey is just fab but the other lovelly lady Beth is just the bomb her attention to detail is second too none I will be coming back year on year!

Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chamonix186487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a fantastic stay at Hotel Slalom. Tracey and her team were so friendly and welcoming. The hotel's location was perfect, at bottom of main gondola station in Les Houches. The rooms were nicely decorated and very modern. Nice extras were free wi-fi, BBC in the bedrooms and a dvd player with a DVD library in a public area to borrow and watch at leisure and a good boot room with boot warmers. Breakfast was also a nice surprise, we were expecting basic continental but eggs and bacon offered each day. Overall a perfect ski hotel that we hope to visit again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rnewnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

I had booked the hotel through Expedia which did not allow me to put in the number of children travelling( We were travelling with our 5 yr old son) . Tracey (person who runs this awesome place) was surprised to see the extra little person. All the triple rooms in the hotel were already booked. She said she will figure out a way. Our son got a cozy bed with a very cute blanket!! he loved it.
Tracey and Heather were great- ever smiling and ready to help. Their restaurant recommendations were great both in Les Houches and in Chamonix.
As far as the location is concerned, the ski slopes are just outside and Chamonix is about 15 min bus ride.
The rooms are clean and decorated to good taste. Attention to detail is spectacular.
Our son got very chatty with Heather. She even gave him a small Xmas present when we left.
Great stay, a very memorable one

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeAj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2010

We spent two nights here at the end of october, and had I known how awesome it was I'd have stayed until I ran out of money. Tracey is the super cool english owner who went out of her way to care for us--from driving us to Chamonix on her way to do errands to keeping the bar open after our awful 3 train and a bus trip to get there. The corner room has a panoramic view of the mountains that i can't do justice in words. The bed and bed linens are top of the line and the large bathrooms are extraordinary.
If you ski, you could ski right into the hotel door.The breakfast had plenty of variety and I think all the rooms have a balcony. I couldn't say enough good things about this hotel---it really blew me away!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pozdowny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2010

First visit to Hotel Slalom and we were given a warm welcome by Tracy to this lovely hotel set is this spectacular part of the world.
The room was very nice and the views were fantastic, mountains filled every window.
There was plenty to see and do and our visit ended all to soon, a sure sign we'd enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beemer666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Houches
1.4 mi away
RockyPop Hotel
RockyPop Hotel
#1 of 14 in Les Houches
143 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Les Campanules
Hotel Les Campanules
#2 of 14 in Les Houches
403 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Bois
Hotel du Bois
#4 of 14 in Les Houches
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Saint Antoine
Le Saint Antoine
#3 of 14 in Les Houches
62 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chris-Tal Hotel
Chris-Tal Hotel
#6 of 14 in Les Houches
112 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Slalom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Slalom

Property: Hotel Slalom
Address: 44 rue de Bellevue, 74310 Les Houches, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Houches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Les Houches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Slalom 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Slalom has been refurbished in a contemporary style with Egyptian cotton linen, plasma TVs, DVDs, sleek modern bathrooms in 10 bedrooms and wi-fi throughout. Located next to the world-famous Kandahar downhill run and opposite the main ski lift, this ski-in, ski-out hotel is also a superb summer destination with a host of activities on offer including mountain biking, trekking, paragliding and golf. Hotel Slalom prides itself on its personal and friendly service. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing