We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - Good Skiing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Les Campanules
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Les Houches
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at Les Campanules for a long weekend ski trip. The Hotel is located just outside the ski resort of Les Houches on a beautiful hill side location with an amazing view of Mont Blanc. First impressions were exellent with a very contemporary and comforatble reception and lounge area with a big centrepiece roaring fire, a small bar serves drinks and crepes etc. As a group of 8 we spent a lot of time in this area. The rooms were typical alpine lodge, nothing fancy. We had a double room on the forest side, which was compact but clean and comfortable, we're on a skiing holiday so the room is just a place to crash. The shower in the room was exellent which was a major plus. Our friends had a family room with mountain views which was bigger but not such a good shower so pros and cons. We ate at the restaurant for breakfast which was great. We had dinner one night which was fine, if not a little pricey, but that's the case wherever you are in the Alps at the moment! The hotel is about 5 minutes drive from the main Les Houches cable car and there is a shuttle bus which runs in the morning and brings you back from 4.30. Otherwise the walk to the edge of town is about 15 minutes where you can catch the free Chamonix bus to the cable car or into Chamonix itself if you wish. I've boarded all over the Chamonix valley but Les Houches was brilliant, nice tree lined runs, great snow, perfect for beginers and intermediates with the Kandahar downhill if you are a bit more advanced. In conclusion we all had a great time at Les Campanules, the slight drawback was the remote location which limited our apres ski in the Les Houches itself as we had to make sure we were on the shuttle bus to avoid a walk back. Otherwise nice hotel with a good atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeChefCymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2011

I have reserved forest side room for one night and arrived by a car. In the room lights did not work and the bed was in awful condition. After a short talk at the desk, I have been given a mountain side room. If the forest side room was in good condition, I would be disappointed in my hotel choise, because of its size and overall look.

Mountain side room was clean, quite and bed was ok. View is excellent. Stuff is very friendly and helpful. Toilet and shower are in separate rooms and quite small.

Overall, for a solo traveler isn't the best choice price-quality wise.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ppo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

I stayed for only one night, but would definitely go back for longer (in fact, I plan to). The Hotel enjoys a superb location, overlooking Mont Blanc, and is situated in a quiet, forest location. It is in traditional Chalet style, and the public areas are lovely and homely. I can imagine coming back from skiing or a day's Winter sightseeing to enjoy the warm lounge/bar. Everything was spotlessly clean, and the staff I met were pleasant and helpful. They could also speak English!

My Room was of a reasonable size - with a toilet separate from the shower room. There was a large double bed, and two bunks. I reckon that a couple with two kids would be very happy here.

The breakfast was simple, but pleasant.

Overall, no complaints at all.

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms are lovely. However, if you want something 'special' pay a little...
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
Thank MPMUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

The public spaces in the hotel were very well appointed and the restaurant looked lovely although we did not try it. The bedroom had a fantastic view of Mont Blanc, but its decoration and furniture were well worn. The bedrooms were not carpeted, I guess this is to accommodate the ski and walking customers with wet / muddy boots.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Stayed here 2 nights on route to Tuscany.
Great location just outside the village and a short drive to Chamonix.
We paid a little extra for a room at the front with great views over the mountains.
Very comfy double bed for us and separate room with bunk beds , bathroom with separate loo, study area. Very spacious . Downstairs there are several lounge areas, lovely feel ,Ikea furniture, bar and restaurant

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ratkinson48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

The view from the hotel was just beautiful. It is certainly worth getting a room facing the mountain. However, the rooms themselves were pretty outdated, very small and not very comfortable making the hotel's photos a bit misleading. Also, the balcony was shared which made the rooms feel a bit unsafe. I would strongly suggest not staying here unless you plan to hire a car. There is public transportation into Chamonix, but it stops running very early and it's difficult to get a taxi. If you don't plan to spend much time at the hotel, Hotel Les Campanules will serve its purpose well enough.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam_ala9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

If you do stay at this hotel, I couldn't recommend enough that you spend the bit extra with a view over The mountains, in particular Mt Blanc - it is the reason, a very good reason, to stay here.

Refuge style accomodation, very comfortable public area, good wifi and free parking. The rooms are dated but pretty comfortable. However, recommend you don't have evening meal in the hotel (deserts good but the balance of the meal poor and over-priced). Think this is a hotel for hikers, cyclists and visitors who are going to be out and about for much of the day. I recommend it for comfort and 2-3 star facilities and prepared to eat out.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tandah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Houches
0.7 mi away
RockyPop Hotel
RockyPop Hotel
#1 of 14 in Les Houches
269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Saint Antoine
Le Saint Antoine
#3 of 14 in Les Houches
74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Bois
Hotel du Bois
#4 of 14 in Les Houches
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons
0.3 mi away
Chris-Tal Hotel
Chris-Tal Hotel
#6 of 14 in Les Houches
125 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel l'Aiguille Du Midi
Hotel l'Aiguille Du Midi
#10 of 73 in Chamonix
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Campanules? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Campanules

Address: 450 route de Coupeau, 74310 Les Houches, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Houches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Les Houches
Price Range: £63 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Les Campanules 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Les Campanules reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Campanules Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing