We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 Star view but cold service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Les Campanules
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Les Houches
Certificate of Excellence
Reading U.K.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“5 Star view but cold service”
Reviewed 28 August 2010

Enjoyed a fantastic stay in the Chamonix Valley end of August 2010 with 6 nights at Les Campanules.
Chose this hotel as a "no frills" option. i.e. We just wanted a reasonable price, good location and a good base to sleep.
It ticked all the boxes with the surprise of a hotel view that probably can be beat.

Good Bits

Our room - 3rd floor, clean, Mont Blanc views from balcony , seperate bathroom and seperate toilet. Certainly enough room for us.

Restaturant- great breakfast, very good start to the day. Evening meal was €23 for a 3 course meal of the day or a choice from the a la care menu. Have to say that the 2 main meals we went for were OK but nothing special.

Language- We found that all staff could speak reasonable English.

Free trains & buses - Trains departing 5 minutes to the hour every hour throughout the day. Ticket covers stations St Gervais to Vallorcine which takes about 90 mins. Try 1 resort hang around for 1 hour and then take the next train. Prisitine clean trains.
Train station is 5-10 minutes down the hill and 10 - 15 minutes coming back up to the hotel.

Bad bits

Trains & Buses - Fantastic service but the last train back in the evening is 19:40 from Chamonix.

Taxi from Chamonix- 30 -40 Euros for a 10 minute journey.

Hotel distance from Les Houche - About a 20 minute walk which was fine in the day but in the evening the thought of walking back and up the final hill was not very exciting.

Service - We found the service very cold which was strange as we saw the same staff (5 or 6) every day for nearly a week, whilst bars, restaurants,shop owners in the surrounding area were extremely pleasant.

1 receptionist was unaware of 1 of the major train stops in Chamonix.
When asked if they knew a guide price for a taxis from the hotel to Chamonix, simply said "no". We were then forced to ask "well ,can you find out?".

The free bus/train tickets were not handed over on our arrival but came about because we started to ask questions regarding prices and schedules.

**** If we had stayed a few days I feel 4 stars/ very good were an appropriate rating but the lack of smiles, rapor and general feeling of coldness with the staff really began to grate on us.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    170
    43
    21
    11
See reviews for
152
130
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

Excellent. Comfortable. Great launch spot for climbers, trekkers, and adventurers of all ages. Dog friendly too.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Myself and a friend stayed here for four nights whilst on a boarding holiday! Firstly I would like to say what a beautiful setting the hotel is in, very peaceful and a great view of the mountains!! Although it's a little out of the way from après ski there is free train service ( train station a 5 min walk from hotel) to nearby resorts such as chamonix!

The service in the hotel was outstanding, nothing was too much trouble and the owners were really lovely people. The shuttle service they have running down the the slopes was really handy and all free of charge!

We ate in the hotel and the food was fabulous!! Really lovely area just to be able to have a drink after a long day on the slopes too! Nice open fire and comfy chairs :)

If I had to say anything negative about the hotel it would be that the rooms were pretty small and it would be nice to have a more private shower area! Also a kettle would have been handy! But other than that a great stay, definitely recommend and would visit again!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jo116jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

This hotel has a lovely location - in the middle of the forest with deer surrounding. Amazing views of the surrounding mountains and area. The hotel has a smart lobby with good decor and lovely log fire. Big games/relaxing room on the first floor with a pool table and tonnes of comfy chairs. The food was a nice surprise - generous self service breakfast including hot bacon and eggs. 3 course dinner on the set menu was a real treat. The rooms were very disppointing. VERY small with no separate bathroom but a sink/shower/toilet all built into the room. Due to the location, the hotel also puts on a free shuttle service to and from the slopes each day. This service is very limited (between 9 am ish until they decide to stop and around 5pm in the afternoon). So it is not possible to go for apres ski or have a late lie in one morning. It is very difficult to organise taxis in Les Houches so you are quite limited if you miss these services. The distance is not walkable! Good value if you don't mind very small rooms and being restricted on travel to and from slopes.

Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank emmajake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

Having read a few reviews on this hotel I was preparing for something a little more down at heel than I discovered. The communal areas in the hotel are stylish and comfortable. We loved the open fire and cosy sofas, great for pre dinner drinks or whiling away a whole evening. There's a lovely bar serving vin chaud and crepes which is ideal after a hard day on the slopes. Staff were really friendly and hardworking. Our room was small but perfectly formed. We had twin beds and a double sofa type bed - OK for 3, but would have been a push for four, however that's pretty typical for the French Alps. The bathroom was clean, would have loved a bath, but we only had a shower. Still, there was plenty of piping hot water and towels provided. Yes, the corridoors are a bit plain as someone mentioned, but who cares?! All in all, I would definitely recommend this place, we ate in the restaurant and had a delicious meal. Breakfast buffet was also good, plenty on offer and a good variety. Also tried La Delice in town for a meal - another good find. You can reach it with a 10 minute walk from the hotel. We had a car which was probably the best option for reaching the slopes. The hotel will shuttle you to the train or bus stop but I think having a car is much easier from what I could see.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lghUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2010

I booked this hotel via Hotels.com, and got a pretty good deal. Went to Les Houches for a ski weekend so stayed for a very short amount of time. The lobby in the hotel was very nice and cosy. The rooms were not bad at all, great value I would say. More importantly the room was clean and tidy. The hotel offered complimentary shuttle service to and from the slopes. The only draw back is that it is quite far out from shops/restaurants so you will need to catch a taxi in the evenings. Taxi's in that part of the world are not cheap.
Staff were friendly, breakfast was very good. Overall good value for your Euro.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shir4z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shields
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2009

Very pleasant & helpful staff, although some staff members could speak little English my French was much worse. The staff however assisted by ensuring an English speaker was found to help with all enquiries, please remember this hotel caters for all nationalities. A warm welcome is guaranteed & this hotel although not in the centre of a town does ensure you are well catered for. A shuttle bus takes you into les Houches, from the hotel, this is free (it is a short walk for those inclined to leave this great base). Bus/train passes are also free, to allow travel into other villages, Chamonix being the main location to visit although other interesting areas abound. The train station is a short walk, 10mins top, just down the hill from the hotel, the bus station is 20mins tops but as I have said a shuttle bus will drop you direct from reception if you prefer. The rooms are very warm, I slept with the window slightly ajar in the height of winter! The restaurant serves 1st class food with wines to complement individual dishes. Breakfast was basic but well diversified to cater for all nationalities present (Italian, American, French, Germans, English & Russian as well as Brazillian & Phillipino guests). The TV was in French, in the room, however a small portable DVD player for 17GBPs was bought from Asda before I travelled which I set up on arrival in 5mins alleviated Christmas movie issues.The room was 304 overlooking the mountains & Les Houches. It was comfortable & basic but had everything a mountain retreat needed for our stay, although I recommend a travel kettle if you wish to take coffee in your room. There is no need as coffee is available downstairs in the restaurant & lounge areas. We loved it there & will definately visit again. This place is a hidden gem!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesHouchesTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Houches
0.7 mi away
RockyPop Hotel
RockyPop Hotel
#1 of 14 in Les Houches
99 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Saint Antoine
Le Saint Antoine
#3 of 14 in Les Houches
58 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Bois
Hotel du Bois
#4 of 14 in Les Houches
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chris-Tal Hotel
Chris-Tal Hotel
#7 of 14 in Les Houches
107 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
1,038 reviews
6.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Campanules? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Campanules

Property: Hotel Les Campanules
Address: 450 route de Coupeau, 74310 Les Houches, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Houches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Les Houches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Les Campanules 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Les Campanules reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Campanules Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing