We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with a fatal flaw”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Les Campanules
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Les Houches
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with a fatal flaw”
Reviewed 24 February 2011

We just got back from a week's skiing in Les Houches staying in Les Campanules. It's a nice enough hotel. Friendly and very helpful staff and the amenities are good enough. The room does the job (though the cleaner doesn't do hers very well). But you really need a car. Not because of the distance to the slopes. The hotel will drop you off and pick you up pretty much whenever you want within about 5 minutes. The problem is with the food. Breakfast is okay, but dinner is awful, and expensive awful. So you need to be able to get out in the evening and eat elsewhere. Which is nigh on impossible without a car.

I booked the half board option as I was there with two young kids and decided not to rent a car after figuring it would just stand idle for most of the week. At €25/day for me and €18 for the kids it's not cheap, but I figured convenient. And after the first dinner I was regretting my decision. It was supposed to be entrecote, but it was mostly fat and gristle. And I think I spotted the whip marks from the last jockey that rode it. All of the meat I sampled that week was pretty much the same, and cooked into something resembling leather. Even a duck breast that I had on the last night could have been used to resole climbing shoes. The vegetables went the other way. Boiled softer than the afternoon slush at the bottom of the Les Houches ski slopes at the end of a warm sunny day.

The kids wouldn't eat the supposedly more nutritious dishes, and I couldn't blame them. A five year old's jaw just isn't strong enough. So they ended up with burgers and pasta. We fished something we couldn't identify out of the burger on the first attempt. It was later named as 'cheese' by the waiter. He sounded as surprised as us. He was actually genuinely very helpful and seemed rather embarrassed by the food he had to serve.

We did tentatively try the fish one night, hoping for the best, but fearing the worst. And our fears came true as a plate of orange slime covered creatures arrived.

So, in summary, if you have a car then yes, Les Campanules will accommodate you more than satisfactorily, but if you don't then you'll be eating in. Actually, no, you won't be eating, you'll be staring hungrily down at a plate with a look of disbelief on your face, which is never a good idea after a hard day on the slopes.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    170
    43
    21
    11
See reviews for
155
132
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

We stayed a ski weekend and liked the chalet a lot, the restaurant was good, the common space was comfy with fireplace on ground floor near reception, a billiards room, and another common room on 1/f.
Service at restaurant, reception was friendly and helpful, the shuttle drivers tried their best to get us around despite language differences.
The room is what we paid for, comfortable 2 stars bedroom accommodating 4 persons with shower and toilet, but not luxury. The common spaces and shared facilities are worth more than 2 stars from our experience! Would definitely recommend to friends and stay there again ourselves.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joycekwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

This hotel is perfect for a trip to Chamonix, particularly if you have a car.

You can't really head there and expect 5 star luxury, cos you won't get it, but you will get pleasant service, a breathtaking view, free parking, and a decent hot breakfast for 9 euros pp to start the day with.

I will say that my room (a mountain view triple) had only average bedding which made for an average night's sleep, and that the toilet/shower is ordinary (shower not really enough space to turn around - you knock the tap either making water very hot, or freezing!), but it still does enough for what you need.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel highly for an alps holiday, it is nice to save some money on the hotel when everything else in the region is fairly expensive.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Resident_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading U.K.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

Enjoyed a fantastic stay in the Chamonix Valley end of August 2010 with 6 nights at Les Campanules.
Chose this hotel as a "no frills" option. i.e. We just wanted a reasonable price, good location and a good base to sleep.
It ticked all the boxes with the surprise of a hotel view that probably can be beat.

Good Bits

Our room - 3rd floor, clean, Mont Blanc views from balcony , seperate bathroom and seperate toilet. Certainly enough room for us.

Restaturant- great breakfast, very good start to the day. Evening meal was €23 for a 3 course meal of the day or a choice from the a la care menu. Have to say that the 2 main meals we went for were OK but nothing special.

Language- We found that all staff could speak reasonable English.

Free trains & buses - Trains departing 5 minutes to the hour every hour throughout the day. Ticket covers stations St Gervais to Vallorcine which takes about 90 mins. Try 1 resort hang around for 1 hour and then take the next train. Prisitine clean trains.
Train station is 5-10 minutes down the hill and 10 - 15 minutes coming back up to the hotel.

Bad bits

Trains & Buses - Fantastic service but the last train back in the evening is 19:40 from Chamonix.

Taxi from Chamonix- 30 -40 Euros for a 10 minute journey.

Hotel distance from Les Houche - About a 20 minute walk which was fine in the day but in the evening the thought of walking back and up the final hill was not very exciting.

Service - We found the service very cold which was strange as we saw the same staff (5 or 6) every day for nearly a week, whilst bars, restaurants,shop owners in the surrounding area were extremely pleasant.

1 receptionist was unaware of 1 of the major train stops in Chamonix.
When asked if they knew a guide price for a taxis from the hotel to Chamonix, simply said "no". We were then forced to ask "well ,can you find out?".

The free bus/train tickets were not handed over on our arrival but came about because we started to ask questions regarding prices and schedules.

**** If we had stayed a few days I feel 4 stars/ very good were an appropriate rating but the lack of smiles, rapor and general feeling of coldness with the staff really began to grate on us.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

Excellent. Comfortable. Great launch spot for climbers, trekkers, and adventurers of all ages. Dog friendly too.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Myself and a friend stayed here for four nights whilst on a boarding holiday! Firstly I would like to say what a beautiful setting the hotel is in, very peaceful and a great view of the mountains!! Although it's a little out of the way from après ski there is free train service ( train station a 5 min walk from hotel) to nearby resorts such as chamonix!

The service in the hotel was outstanding, nothing was too much trouble and the owners were really lovely people. The shuttle service they have running down the the slopes was really handy and all free of charge!

We ate in the hotel and the food was fabulous!! Really lovely area just to be able to have a drink after a long day on the slopes too! Nice open fire and comfy chairs :)

If I had to say anything negative about the hotel it would be that the rooms were pretty small and it would be nice to have a more private shower area! Also a kettle would have been handy! But other than that a great stay, definitely recommend and would visit again!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jo116jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

This hotel has a lovely location - in the middle of the forest with deer surrounding. Amazing views of the surrounding mountains and area. The hotel has a smart lobby with good decor and lovely log fire. Big games/relaxing room on the first floor with a pool table and tonnes of comfy chairs. The food was a nice surprise - generous self service breakfast including hot bacon and eggs. 3 course dinner on the set menu was a real treat. The rooms were very disppointing. VERY small with no separate bathroom but a sink/shower/toilet all built into the room. Due to the location, the hotel also puts on a free shuttle service to and from the slopes each day. This service is very limited (between 9 am ish until they decide to stop and around 5pm in the afternoon). So it is not possible to go for apres ski or have a late lie in one morning. It is very difficult to organise taxis in Les Houches so you are quite limited if you miss these services. The distance is not walkable! Good value if you don't mind very small rooms and being restricted on travel to and from slopes.

Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank emmajake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Houches
0.7 mi away
RockyPop Hotel
RockyPop Hotel
#1 of 14 in Les Houches
127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Saint Antoine
Le Saint Antoine
#3 of 14 in Les Houches
61 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Bois
Hotel du Bois
#4 of 14 in Les Houches
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mercure Chamonix Les Bossons
2.7 mi away
Le Vert Hotel
Le Vert Hotel
#13 of 73 in Chamonix
484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chris-Tal Hotel
Chris-Tal Hotel
#8 of 14 in Les Houches
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Campanules? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Campanules

Property: Hotel Les Campanules
Address: 450 route de Coupeau, 74310 Les Houches, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Houches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Les Houches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Les Campanules 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Les Campanules reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Campanules Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing