We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Antik" is an appropriate name, in a negative way”
Review of City Hotel Antik

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Hotel Antik
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Aalen
third rock
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“"Antik" is an appropriate name, in a negative way”
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Good: Location (central Aalen); service (nice people).
Bad: Well... Just about everything else. The small rooms smell funny, the air is damp and unfresh unless window is kept open. Through ventilation hole(only present in bathroom) only the cigarette smoke is coming in, presumably from other rooms. Bathroom does not ventilate at all. Shower leaks under the glass door to bathroom floor, bad design. Bed is wide (large single bed) but something is funky with matrace since i was sweating whenever i was on it. Rest of the furniture is old and damaged. TV , though has anout 99 channels, is small old behind table (unwatchable from bed due to orientation) and it has an extremely bright blue LED standby. Has to be shadowed with an object or tv set disconnected, otherwise no sleep in that room.
Breakfast looked impressive at first, but the multifruit juice turned out to be "antik" too, was fermenting! Coffee was also nothing to write about.
All in all, was ok for the 55 euro but not recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Csabatje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    13
    13
    14
    11
See reviews for
6
12
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

This hotel was nice. It was a "Bett & Bike". This by far was the worst hotel experience of our 800 mile bicycle trip across Europe. We arrived exhausted after 7 hours of cycling. I first walked in and the front desk woman quoted me a price, I asked to see the room and she refused to allow me to see the room. Very unusual for Europe. She said it was managment's policy not to allow potential guests to preview a room. I went to discuss it with my wife. My wife went back in to secure a room and the price had gone up 15 Euros in 30 seconds. Front desk girl's excuse was she made a mistake. She also made us pay upfront for this room, instantly.

She was unprofessional and just plain inconsiderate. We certainly would have not stayed here if we were not thoroughly exhausted. Our second choice in hotel was closed due to renovations.

Room was nice, however there is Pizza restaurant that is part of the hotel. The smell emminated throughout the hotel.

Cannot tell you if the Pizza restaurant was any good as we refused to eat there due to the terrible front desk woman!

Breakfast was crowded and it is obviously management's decision to put small amounts of meat/cheese on the buffet line. Therefore they were constant out of meats and the woman servicing the breakfast line was too busy to replentish the food while trying to attend to the coffee maker.

For 98 Euros, this hotel was Pathetic in customer service. And it ruined this Hotel!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aalen hotels

Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Nice, Clean rooms. Good sunlight. OK breakfast. Internet signal was low. (depending on the location your room) Excellent service. Resturant was not bad as well.

Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ajbwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
odsmal
Level Contributor
114 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Arrived late at night without prior reservation. They were fully booked but still somehow managed to give a nice room in a quiet part of the hotel. Small room but quite adequate for my needs - a good nights sleep. The interior of the hotel built in pleasant roman stile.
Breakfast buffe of good standard and with friendly staff attending.

Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank borsgarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aalen hotels
1.3 mi away
H+ Hotel Limes Thermen Aalen
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Aalen
Ibis Styles Aalen
#1 of 13 in Aalen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Design & Lifestyle Hotel Estilo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aalener Ratshotel
Aalener Ratshotel
#6 of 13 in Aalen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Aalener Roemerhotel
2.1 mi away
Hotel Landgasthof Lauterhausle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Antik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Antik

Property: City Hotel Antik
Address: Stuttgarter Str. 45 - 47, 73430 Aalen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Aalen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Aalen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Antik 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your City Hotel Antik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing