We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommendable under specific conditions”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rhoen Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rhoen Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hausen
Freiburg, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Recommendable under specific conditions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

The hotel is located on the Bavarian side near to the former border between the two Germanys. You can reach it only by taxi or with your own car, there aren't even bus connections: The whole region is sparsely populated, with the –well developed– road network having little traffic.

The hotel has three outstanding features: Its location on a hilltop of about 650m yielding a wonderful view onto the calming Rhön-Landscape; its quite extended wellness area with at least three large pools, a giant corkscrew-slide and a couple of saunas; the slide points already to the third characteristic: it is a true paradise for families with children. Thus the guests cover a wide range of ages from toddlers, infants, young children, adolescents, to their parents and often even grand parents. At the same time it is a big building complex smoothly following the shape of the hill, and with its 300 odd rooms it is geared to high-volume business. The rooms are in general very spacious apartments adapted to family life, with an entire kitchen facility and a balcony. Sanitary installations are OK, the hotel having been revamped in 2010 (the not too frequent elevators date from 1974).

We spent there four days and three nights. The hotel has three restaurants, two of them self service. If you are interested in gastronomy, just forget it. If you don't have excessive demands, though, if you are interested in nice excursions on foot, on bike or with your car, if you like relaxing in inviting wellness facilities and if you don't bother being surrounded by children (living in a country with a solid reputation of not being too child-friendly, we truly enjoyed their uncomplicated presence and behaviour) -- under these conditions the hotel is good choice, even without children. I suppose special rooms in a quiet part of the complex were given to us as guests having booked with HRS. By the way, informations given by the personnel are not too reliable, always depending on the person you ask.

We were there for personal reasons (my wife wanted to pay visit to a small village in the proximity where she had lived for two years as a child before her family left the former GDR in a cold winter's night).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lahjakas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    148
    91
    20
    11
See reviews for
292
38
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

A nice hotel with friendly staff. Large, very large but still no place to have a decent drink during day time. Only at 18.00 bars and restaurants really open. The rooms are dated but good, linnen is spotless. The sauna opens at noon and pool earlier. The hotel has 3 restaurants that can be used used for breakfast and dinner. The smaller restaurants are more cosy but have less choice at the breakfast buffet. The dinner (buffet) prices are reasonable but no a-la cart option. The hotel has a focus on families with childeren so a do expect a lot of childeren sounds. There is a good animation team and enough to be done out doors. The overall atmosphere is good, rooms are clean, showers are so so (water temperature changing during showering).

In short OK hotel for 2 - 4 days. Once you have been here no reason to turn back

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdB43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhoen_park_hotel, Geschäftsführer at Rhoen Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
Thank you for comments. Indeed, the Rhön Park Hotel - Aktiv Resort is a large hotel. During day time, we have our restaurant RhönInsel open from 07.30 until 21.30 hours where you can enjoy a coffee, local beers and selection of wines. From 18.00 hours onwards, our pub is open. Actually, we have a wide variety of opties available, as you mentioned, we have our animation team, outdoor activities such as nordic walking! Please visit our website for more programmes. In addition, our subtropical swimmingpool is open from 09.00 - 21.30 hours, Sauna from 12.00 hours, you can enjoy and visit various small historical villages, the bionade factory, hence plenty to do!
Ben Baars - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

We stayed a long weekend (Fri-Sun) at Rhon Park in November.
We booked 3 appartments; one for a family with 1 child, 1 for a couple and 1 for a single person.

The appartments were recently renovated and are very cosy and spacious. You would not expect such nice rooms when you see the corridors...
We were all placed in the same building/corridor so we were all close together. The configuration of the hotel is somewhat confusing and requires a lot of walking to the main building but after 2 days you know the best route to find your room.

It was raining all Saturday so the pool was packed with people. We decided to find some entertainment elsewhere. The indoor playground is really great for the small ones for an hour or 2. Unfortunately there is not much (actually none) entertainment for the grown-ups during a rainy day besides spending it in the spa or pool. You can go mini-bowling and that's it.
The main bar(s) open at 6 pm while we were keen on having a drink in the early afternoon.

The area and hotel is great for walking or winteractivities. I would definately go there again with my family if I would know that the entertainment during day time was improved. Or bring enough games to kill time on a wet, windy and rainy day if you are not into swimming.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhoen_park_hotel, Geschäftsführer at Rhoen Park Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Google Translation
Vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung, es freut uns zu lesen dass Sie zufrieden waren. Sie haben Recht, das Rhön Park Hotel ist eine grosse Anlage, aber man kennt sich schnell aus.
Bis bald im Rhön Park Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerpen, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We just spent a long weekend with our family at this place : the accomodation was ok, the swimming pool excellent and the surroundings are quite amazing. Catering was reasonable quality.

It is also a very child friendly hotel, with lots of things to do for them (even inside so you don't depend on the weather too much).

Sofar the positive : I feel inclined to issue a warning : if you don't want to get the feeling they are trying very hard to rip you off, DO NOT book the all-in arrangement.

Communication went as follows : at arrival we were told that beverages were included, except for beer before diner. There was a place called the Frankenstube were this arrangement was valid. First day went rather according to plan. The next day however, we suddenly were presented with a bill in that same Frankenstube (different people serving). We complained about it, but they claimed stubbornly we had to pay. Afterwards we took the bill to the reception, where the receptionist shook her had (in a "did they really pull that one again" fashion) and told us she would take care of the bill on check out.

Final night, diner : every evening we had diner in the Rothe Kamin, where a table was reserved due to our all-in booking. On our final evening, we ordered drinks with our food, just like before, a mix of beer, cola and cola light. Out of the blue, a new bill : the waitress argued again that not all was included : cola yes, cola light not. Finally we called the manager, told him we were not planning on paying anything and she quickly disposed of the bill, after having tried again to argue that cola light was not included. she gave in after we told her that every night before we had ordered just the same with no bill as a result.

On check out they almost "forgot" about our bill that needed settling (although the woman that handled our initial complaint was standing next to the one handling our check out), and it took another 10 minutes and a new manager to get things settled... This manager added that drinks were only included betweet 10 AM and 9 PM, and we had order at 9:02 PM....

So, after a 3 day stay I deducted (because never explained properly by anyone) that drinks are included between 10AM and 9PM, no beer except at diner, ice cream in the afternoon for the kids but no cake (we wittnessed personel arguing that the cake was payable, ice cream not, leaving the child in tears, not understanding what was going on), and that drinks that are included are the ones that are written down in a leaflet on the table, were there apparently is a substantial difference between taking a coke or a coke light. We talked to some fellow guests who had booked an all inclusive, but did not complain about the bills (they didn't understand why, but payed up anyway, hence resulting in a rip off).

Personel does not not know what is what and which is which, clearly demonstrated in the differente explenations we got about what was and what was not included in our booking. Every time they have to call reception to know what to do (or, they simply guess and bully the bill onto you).

This is a known problem (we read similar comments after we had booked) and at present is still very actual.

Conclusion : nice place to stay, but if you want to prevent confusion and frustration, by all means refrain of booking an all inclusive, make your own (undoubtetly more healhty) food and have a good time.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inge V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhoen_park_hotel, Geschäftsführer at Rhoen Park Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Thank you for your comments on your stay at the Rhön Park Hotel. It is appreciated that you have shared your concerns about the handling of your all inclusive booking with us. We assume you have reserved your holiday trip through Jet Air in Belgium. If you would review your reservation details, it clearly shows to which type of drinks you are entitled including the window of time served whereby we wish to add that, at Rhön Park Hotel, we are serving premium brands drinks which is definitely not always available in so called all inclusive offers you will find around the world.

You are correct by saying that the inconsistency in handling of our service staff is not at the required standard. Within our management team, we are actually undertaking efforts to ensure that all service staff are aware of the various programs, we are offering to our guests. At the backside of each menu card, the drinks offered in the program is listed. Within this program, cola light is not offered however our restaurant manager has anticipated well on your complaint, the cola light was taken of your invoice. Likewise for the window of time, that you were entitled to free drinks, it is and was indeed between 10 AM and 09 PM. You will find the time as well on your reservation slip with Jet Air.
Looking from our point of view, we are handling the program with an acceptable flexibility to our guests with the objective to keep everyone happy. It is definitely not correct that we are trying to confuse our guests or even worse as you write, we are ripping of our guests on purpose. This approach does not reflect our Company’s mission statement neither my personal values in life. I can therefore not agree with your closing statement, it does not reflect our values in business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hausen
5.7 mi away
Landhotel Thuringer Hof
Landhotel Thuringer Hof
#1 of 1 in Ostheim vor der Rhoen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
8.4 mi away
No photo provided
Rhoen Garden Hotel
#2 of 4 in Gersfeld
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hotel Rhoen Residence
Hotel Rhoen Residence
#1 of 1 in Dipperz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hotel Gersfelder Hof
Hotel Gersfelder Hof
#1 of 4 in Gersfeld
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
9.3 mi away
hotel sturm | garten & spa
hotel sturm | garten & spa
#1 of 1 in Mellrichstadt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
17.3 mi away
Baeder Park Hotel Rhoen Therme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhoen Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhoen Park Hotel

Property: Rhoen Park Hotel
Address: Rother Kuppe 2, 97647 Hausen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Hausen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hausen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rhoen Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 315
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rhoen Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhoen Park Hotel Germany/Hausen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing