We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the detour from the Romantische Strasse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rotes Ross Marktbergel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marktbergel
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I must admit to some doubts when making a late booking en route because the price was quite modest. What a surprise! An attractive beautifully furnished hotel in a small quiet village. The room was spacious and well equipped, the food was exceptional. It was unseasonably warm for September so we had dinner in the courtyard but the dining room looked elegant. Breakfast was all that you could ask for and included many home made items. The staff were friendly and efficient and I strongly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: The village is so quiet a good night's sleep will be had in any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2013

This little inn has it all: a warm and hospitable welcome, wonderful food and wonderful wine, a very nice atmosphere, very good value - highly recommended.
About the rooms I cannot tell, but I presume that they are as excellent as everything else!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Very nicely restructured countryside resort in the middle of the village (Marktberel) with few and large rooms, attentive staff and award-winning cuisine in the restaurant.
Breakfast corresponds to generally high German standards.
Possible disadvantage in Summer the rather warm rooms especially on the second floor and some noise -if on the wrong side- for sensitive ears or guests who want to keep the window open during the night. Getting there by car is recommended and almost inevitable, but repaid by low rates (single 45 Euros with breakfast, double 67 (no separate beds, ask in advance if so needed) and beautiful landscape, with world-renowned Rothenburg ob der Tauber only 18 Km away.
P.S.: Get a good map and preferably avoid the Autobahn

Room Tip: First floor (American second) may be better (larger windows); second floor (Am. third) may have les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank 65Guglielmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

A very nice place run by very nice people!!!
We arrived a bit late in the evening, but the resaurant kept open just for us and served us a hot, tasty meal. Nice surprice!
Spacious rooms and bathrooms were well furnitured with an elegant touch!
For breakfast we were offered different sort of rolls and bread, all freshly baked. Good selection of spread, juice etc.
The hostess/landlord was very welcoming and offered us excellent service.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

My husband and I spent 3 nights at this small family run hotel. Our room was a good size room and very clean. We enjoyed the patio area behind the hotel for relaxing and having dinner. The food was great. We enjoyed the breakfast each morning. The location is great for being close to some major tourist areas. It was nice to visit the tourist sights and then come back to our quiet hotel in the small little town in the country. Location and price makes this a .......great find!

FYI~ No lift so you will have to haul your luggage up the stairs to your room.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank isoyhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Me and my husband stay 3 nights in this nice hotel. The owner and all the family was really friendly. Everything is very clean and the breakfast is good. Try the home made marmellades, they are so good! We also had dinner in the restaurant with some friends from Marktbergel. The food was also great. There is a sweet dog that will welcome you once you arrive there.
From this place is easy to get around to the most famous places in the north of Bavaria.
Thank you again for nice hospitality.
Claudia e Domenico from Italy

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClaudiaRds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

Christmas markets in Bavaria was to focus a our Thanksgiving trip this year. We decided to try a country inn rather than a hotel in one of the cities. The Rote Ross had good reviews and was suppose to be near Rothenburg o d Tauber. Near is a relative term. It turned out to be 26km. The hotel exceeded all our expectations. Staff couldn't have been better. The hotel is the cleanest that I have ever stayed in. We came back from day trips to Nuremburg, Wurzburg, and Rothenburg to enjoy the gourmet meals served in the hotel restaurant. Menus get decided by what happens to be available. Offerings included local beef. (As good as we've ever eaten.) Rabbit, deer, fish. FRA was 130 min. on a Sunday morning. Britta left us breakfast "to go" at the back door since we departed at 6am.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tomdibling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marktbergel
2.9 mi away
Gasthaus-Pension Hofmann
Gasthaus-Pension Hofmann
#1 of 1 in Oberdachstetten
45 reviews
4.7 mi away
Goldener Schwan
Goldener Schwan
#6 of 7 in Bad Windsheim
7 reviews
4.8 mi away
Flair Hotel zum Storchen
Flair Hotel zum Storchen
#2 of 7 in Bad Windsheim
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Arvena Reichsstadt Hotel
Arvena Reichsstadt Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bad Windsheim
61 reviews
5 mi away
Hotel Am Kurpark Spath
Hotel Am Kurpark Spath
#4 of 7 in Bad Windsheim
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rotes Ross Marktbergel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotes Ross Marktbergel

Address: Wuerzburger Str. 1, 91613 Marktbergel, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Marktbergel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marktbergel
Price Range: £64 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rotes Ross Marktbergel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Booking.com so you can book your Rotes Ross Marktbergel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing