We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed Feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blunsdon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

Taking into account that this hotel is rated no 1 for hotels in Swindon, I decided to treat my new girlfriend to a romantic 1 night stay which included one of their large executive rooms (opted for the 'classic package' which included fruit, chocolates and sparkling wine) , 2 beauty treatments and dinner at their Nichols restaurant. (Total cost: just over 300 Pounds) Overall it was a pleasant stay but I do feel that there were a number of things which could be improved upon.

Firstly, the PROS; The room was amazing.. very well decorated, clean and spacious. The food at Nichols restaurant was exceptional - as were the staff - we didn't feel at all rushed and really enjoyed our meal.

The CONS; The reception staff weren't all that friendly. When I checked in, I wasn't greeted warmly, I was just told that I needed to provide my credit card so they could do an authorisation, was handed my access card and quickly explained where my room was. The 'classic' package of fruit, chocolates and sparkling wine was a huge let down. At an extra 30 Pounds, the cholcolates looked cheap and the fruit was just placed on a plate with cling film (I would have thought that a nice elegant fruit bowl would have looked much nicer.) The breakfast was also quite sub standard; cold coffee and tea brought to the table, dry fried eggs and not as much variety as one would expect from a 4* Hotel. (The waiting staff were however very friendly)

So, all in all - an average stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Briansquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    193
    84
    18
    13
See reviews for
154
211
19
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honiton, Devon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

We had a good sized room in the Pavilion. Clean with all services working fine. Had a courtesy call from reception soon after we arrived which we appreciated. Two restaurants. Made the mistake of eating in the buffet restaurant on Saturday evening. Far too busy for us to have the relaxing meal we wanted, but the food was acceptable and good value for money. Well stocked buffet breakfast. All you could possibly want, but with the usual quality degrade of hot food kept in warmers. But certainly no worse than anywhere else. Allowed to stay in our room until 12:30 on departure day, which we appreciated. Hardly a cozy, homely hotel, but didn't expect it. Got on the internet in room with no problems, can use RJ45 connection if you wish. Don't expect to do any real swimming in the pool.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisMen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faringdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

We ate on March 23rd in the 3 course buffet restaurant. Had a great meal, hot and plenty of choice. Our friends stayed the night, and were thrilled to find chocolates and helium balloon in their room as I had let the hotel know it was a special occasion. Would reccommend it to anyone wanting a good value meal and friendly staff. (well, ok, one of the chefs was a bit grumpy!!) Will be going back soon.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mrsmoaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

After checking in we found our rooms in the Pavilion Block, which was lovely and modern and spacious. The room was lovely, with a coffee machine and a balcony which was nice to have sat on a summers evening overlooking the golf course. The bathroom had a separate walk in shower together with a bath and even two bathrobes, and a plentiful amount of good quality soaps and shampoo's etc. We paid £119 to include breakfast and an evening meal in the Carvery restaurant. We chose to eat in the restaurant, which the decor was lovely and because we were celebrating we wanted something a bit more up market. We were able to deduct £20 which was what we would have paid for the carvery buffet and it was used towards the meal in the restaurant. The food was absolutely brilliant in there, the best ever rib eye steak I have ever eaten. A big thumbs up for the delicious menu on offer. There is plenty of space to sit and drink in the bar, with the largest amount of bottles of whiskey to choose from. The breakfast was plentiful with so much to choose from, all very hot and topped up frequently. The staff were clearing the tables quickly and were friendly. The hotel was very busy with two large functions going on, but this didn't effect our stay. I would definately recommend this hotel, it had everything you would possibly want. Golf Course, swimming pool, gym and beauty treatments.

A good Find

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa--1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romford
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

Very tired decor, corridor to rooms looked like a prison with exposed big bricks. Food at Christopher's Carvery was very tasteless, lots to choose from but very sub standard. Didn't think that the staff in restaurant were particularly nice, there was only one nice young man who cleared our table and that was on the last morning. We stay at lots of Best Western hotels and thought that because this one was 4 star it would be lovely, I can only think that it is 4 star because of the pool and gym but nothing else in the hotel warranted a 4 star. The room was basic and the bed and pillows were very uncomfortable. We would never come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallyRomford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

Stayed here for the valentine Ball
The rooms are large and the bed is massive everything you need is in the room. Breakfast in bed cost an extra £5 but it was on time and worth it.
The Valentine Ball food was okish, the disco was very good the group was not to my taste. The service of the meal was excellent overall a very good night.

this hotel is worth a try

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123taz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

From the moment we arrived the whole experience was great. Firstly we arrived just after 9pm and wanted to eat in the Christopher Cavery, although it closed at 9 they allowed us to enter the restaurant and have a meal. The chef could not have been more friendly and kept saying that there was no need to rush. The room we had was large, clean and in very good condition. The breakfast on both day we were there was plentiful hot and well cooked. All in all I would return to this hotel and also recommend it to friends. Well done

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CardiffTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blunsdon
7.1 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#6 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
4.1 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Pear Tree at Purton
The Pear Tree at Purton
#5 of 24 in Swindon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Property: Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Address: | The Ridge, Blunsdon, Swindon SN26 7AS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Swindon Blunsdon House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Blunsdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blunsdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in extensive private grounds of 30 acres with stunning views across to the Vale of the White Horse and the Cotswold escarpment. This very comfortable 116 en-suite, 4 Star, family owned and run hotel offers two restaurants, three bars, air-conditioning and executive room upgrades available. With extensive leisure facilities including indoor pool, 9 hole Par 3 golf course, beauty salon and much more. We are an ideal hotel for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Swindon
Swindon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing