We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Birthday reunion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blunsdon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 9 January 2012

An excellent hotel with a great layout and facilities. Rooms in Pavilion are excellent, but at a small premium. All buffet meals in large Christopher's restaurant are excellent for quality and range, and well suited to all ages. Fine dining in Nichols is also excellent and moderately priced. Car parking is excellent, especially if you have a high value vehicle requiring space and security.The octagonal pool is suited more for liesure than lengths, but the gymnasium is superbly equipped and included within room rates, so no extras to pay. Hotel is family owned and run, and all staff always have a smile and a kind word. There is a good 9 hole golf course, but green fees apply. There is also a hard tennis court (extra) and an outdoor childrens well equipped play area. A very family friendly hotel, but also superb for an adult break, with two intimate child free bars to complement the very large Carries Bar. Beauty treatments/breaks also available.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Pavilion are worth the small extra cost, especially for multi night stays
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwenday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (705)
There are newer reviews for Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

588 - 594 of 705 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2012

I stayed here with my Husband and two girls (aged 3 and 18 months) overnight and was very impressed. Although the room was not the most modern decor wise, it was very clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. We booked a family room for the four of us and I was pleased to see they had provided enough towels, toiletries and tea and coffee supplies for four - some hotels overlook this in my experience.

We used the leisure club facilities and I was impressed with the ladies changing room, which was wel equipped for babies, with changing stations etc.

The food in the carvery restaurant was good with a nice relaxed atmosphere and breakfast was the same.

All in all a very pleasant stay and I would book again or recommend to others.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Memmaclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Second consecutive new year here. Hotel is very friendly with the owners always around. Clean and comfortable rooms if a little bit warm,Some noise from next room could easily be heard such as switching lights on/off.
Bar large but with several small cosy bars around the hotel.
New year package provides an abundance of food almost continuously, very nice but not good on the waistline. Waiters always on hand in the restaurant and plenty of them so no waiting around.
Pool very nice.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ladieswhatlunch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We had a meal & room booked at a hotel nearby to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. At 6.30pm we were at the hotel and for reasons that don't need going in to we were unhappy to stay.

So we called The Blunsdon House Hotel and asked if they had a table available in their Nichols' restaurant and a double room for that night and I explained the reason for the last minute request. They said they could help and by 7pm we were at the hotel!

We had our room upgraded free of charge on our arrival to a fantastic room in their new Pavilion wing. It was spacious, had wonderful views and was very clean and comfortable.

Shortly after our arrival a Manager called to ask if we were celebrating an occasion because he noticed from our check in details that we were local. I said we were and he arranged for a complimentary box of chocolates and anniversary balloon to be placed at our restaurant table - which was a nice touch!

The Nichols' restaurant meal was top notch, (as we thought it might be having dined there before). My wife said the fillet steak was probably the best she'd ever had! The whole meal was a pleasure and we thoroughly reccommend the restaurant for a special occasion.

Overall, I can't thank Blunsdon House enough for rescuing our evening and providing a wonderful
service.

p.s. I haven't even mentioned the two bars, free disco on that night and terrific breakfast the next morning!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Calstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

I stayed at the Blunsdon last night after having our works Christmas Party there.
We had dinner in Christopher's Carvery which was delicious and the drinks service was very quick considering the large size of our party.
The room was surprisingly big, you walk into a fairly large foyer which has a double wardrobe and tea and coffee facilities. The bathroom was large, modern and clean. The bed was absolutely massive and there was an actual living room area with 2 big comfy armchairs pointing at a massive flatscreen tv. For the price of the room I fully expected your bog standard travelodge sized room with just enough room to walk around the bed but this was the size of a small apartment!
Check in and out was extremely quick and friendly... I don't have a bad word to say about anything!

Room Tip: Pavillon rooms, although a little more expensive, have breathtaking views of the countryside and a b...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank little_lizzy_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

When he pulled up to drop us off at the Blunsdon House the taxi driver said to us "Best hotel in Swindon". After staying there, I think he was right except in one sense.... I am not sure the hotel is actually IN Swindon--rather it is in Blunsdon a tiny village...or maybe a hamlet..outside of Swindon.

Which isn't to say it is isolated. In fact, given that it was mid-week in December, the place was pretty lively. It seems that many of the locals also like to drop into the hotel to eat at the upscale restaurant Nichols (quite good continental food!) or have a pint at the pub...or maybe just to sit in "The Malt Bar" and sip one of the more than 100 single malts they have available. Even though it is a modern hotel, it seems like the kind of place where one might be by the fire one evening having a glass of Ben Nevis, when a serious looking constable bursts in to say something like "I am sorry Miss Marple, but your excursion tomorrow morning with Dr. Parkington to try and spot the Wiltshire Marsh Wren is off. Dr. Parkington has just been found strangled on the tennis courts!"

The rooms are really nice, with great baths and beds. The staff is helpful and attentive. You will need a car or taxi to go places, but I am not sure it would be better staying in central Swindon. Swindon did not seem to be a place with great nightlife.

If you do decide you would like an evening diversion, the dog racing stadium is only a few hundred meters or so away and could be fun. Also as you are coming off the motorway from Swindon, notice the futuristic glass and steel Vygon headquarters with its bizarre elevate tube running above the hotel. If it looks like something from a Bond movie, that is because it is. It was used as a a Turkish oil platform in the James Bond film, "The World Is Not Enough."

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Middle_Aged_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

As a family living in the North East with extended family in the wiltshire area we have used this hotel on a number of occasions, the last being the weekend 9/10 Dec 2012.
The service was excellent and food first class. Highly recommended for a visit.

Room Tip: Ask to see rooms available
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blunsdon
7.1 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,020 reviews
4.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 25 in Swindon
681 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#4 of 25 in Swindon
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 25 in Swindon
2,036 reviews
6.1 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,582 reviews
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Address: | The Ridge, Blunsdon, Swindon SN26 7AS, England (Formerly Best Western Plus Swindon Blunsdon House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Blunsdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blunsdon
Price Range: £79 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in extensive private grounds of 30 acres with stunning views across to the Vale of the White Horse and the Cotswold escarpment. This very comfortable 116 en-suite, 4 Star, family owned and run hotel offers two restaurants, three bars, air-conditioning and executive room upgrades available. With extensive leisure facilities including indoor pool, 9 hole Par 3 golf course, beauty salon and much more. We are an ideal hotel for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Swindon
Swindon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing