We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Blundson”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blunsdon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Western Blundson”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

After being stuck on the M5 for 4 hours Southbound after an accident in Jan 2012, I only had a short time in this hotel. With a multitude of restaurants and leisure facilities it approaches a cruise ship in size! As a Best Western Platinum member I was lucky to be upgraded to the annex. Rooms were huge and luxurious. Reception Staff were charming. Only one complaint: the bar staff could have cleared my plate and cutlery within a short time of my having finished my bar meal, considering that there were only 4 people in the bar. I ordered at 22:15, finished at 22:40, and the plate was still there when I left at 23:15. I'd like to return at a time when I can have more time to enjoy the facilities.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spiceboy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    204
    92
    20
    14
See reviews for
160
221
22
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

. Have stayed at this hotel on and off for many years. The food in the self service and a la carte restaurants is of a high quality. However the rooms in the main hotel have deteriorated with time and although some are being refurbished the remainder really are not up to scratch with plumbing problems in particular. Therefore it is wise to pay the extra and upgrade to the rooms in the annexe overlooking the golf course.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindylouMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Excellent hotel with very good layout ans plenty of room for the kids to play.
Very helpfull staff.
Christopher's restaurant OK but Nichols was a disapointment.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pabib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Stayed a Best western Blunsden house on 1st Jan for two nights. we were travelling with friends and in total there were 12 of us. As a new Best Western rewards client, I called ahead to see how to claim my upgrade/early check in/late check out, only to be told that as we were arriving on 1st Jan the hotel was full so no upgrade or early check in was available.
Not a great start!! Hotel itself is very homely and the pool is lovely and clean, if a little small.
Bedrooms are very clean but tired, No air con, had to sleep with windows open as so hot. Would not call it Premier!! Mattress was really hard and uncomfortable, pillows were either hard or non existant!! Bedding and decor need updating.
Food in the main bar was lovely, although the carvery left a lot to be desired. Meat was over cooked, and cold plate looked tired. Breakfast on our first morning was lovely, although the contiental choice was not great, only smoked or babybel cheese....Premier??? However, breakfast on morning 2 was not so wonderful. The hotel was prectically empty on this morning (3rd Jan), so breakfast was made to order...What a shambles. My husband was in the restaraunt 15 mins before the rest of our group, but had to wait till last to have his order taken. People who arrived after us were served first, and two of our orders were compleelt wrong and hadto be redone. I also asked for a latte with my breakfast, only to be told that they are not served until 10am, when breakfast is over, how strange!!!....again Premier???
All in all it was a pleasant stay with lovely friends. Would I come back to this hotel?? Don't think so..Better Best Westerns that are not Premier.

Room Tip: rooms on the third floor a a bit bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shoefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Street, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

An excellent hotel with a great layout and facilities. Rooms in Pavilion are excellent, but at a small premium. All buffet meals in large Christopher's restaurant are excellent for quality and range, and well suited to all ages. Fine dining in Nichols is also excellent and moderately priced. Car parking is excellent, especially if you have a high value vehicle requiring space and security.The octagonal pool is suited more for liesure than lengths, but the gymnasium is superbly equipped and included within room rates, so no extras to pay. Hotel is family owned and run, and all staff always have a smile and a kind word. There is a good 9 hole golf course, but green fees apply. There is also a hard tennis court (extra) and an outdoor childrens well equipped play area. A very family friendly hotel, but also superb for an adult break, with two intimate child free bars to complement the very large Carries Bar. Beauty treatments/breaks also available.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Pavilion are worth the small extra cost, especially for multi night stays
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwenday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I stayed here with my Husband and two girls (aged 3 and 18 months) overnight and was very impressed. Although the room was not the most modern decor wise, it was very clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. We booked a family room for the four of us and I was pleased to see they had provided enough towels, toiletries and tea and coffee supplies for four - some hotels overlook this in my experience.

We used the leisure club facilities and I was impressed with the ladies changing room, which was wel equipped for babies, with changing stations etc.

The food in the carvery restaurant was good with a nice relaxed atmosphere and breakfast was the same.

All in all a very pleasant stay and I would book again or recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Memmaclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Second consecutive new year here. Hotel is very friendly with the owners always around. Clean and comfortable rooms if a little bit warm,Some noise from next room could easily be heard such as switching lights on/off.
Bar large but with several small cosy bars around the hotel.
New year package provides an abundance of food almost continuously, very nice but not good on the waistline. Waiters always on hand in the restaurant and plenty of them so no waiting around.
Pool very nice.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladieswhatlunch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blunsdon
7.1 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,005 reviews
4.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 25 in Swindon
671 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#4 of 25 in Swindon
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 25 in Swindon
1,964 reviews
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 25 in Swindon
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Property: Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Address: | The Ridge, Blunsdon, Swindon SN26 7AS, England (Formerly Best Western Plus Swindon Blunsdon House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Blunsdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blunsdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in extensive private grounds of 30 acres with stunning views across to the Vale of the White Horse and the Cotswold escarpment. This very comfortable 116 en-suite, 4 Star, family owned and run hotel offers two restaurants, three bars, air-conditioning and executive room upgrades available. With extensive leisure facilities including indoor pool, 9 hole Par 3 golf course, beauty salon and much more. We are an ideal hotel for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Swindon
Swindon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing