We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place with something for everyone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blunsdon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 July 2012

I recently stayed here on business during the Royal international air tattoo and was truely suprised by the variety offered by this hotel - honestly i didnt know that UK hotels like this exsisted. I was a bit suspect because of the Best Western tag but this one was "Premier" which sits in the top bracket of their hotels.

I stayed in the Pavillion a seperate building (with a short walk) with very large modern rooms which had great views over the nearby valley & air base plus a fantastic shower & AC (which most places in the UK never seem to have!) We only ate breakfast at the hotel because we were catered for on base but what we had was fantastic, fresh hot food and service was good.

We had a sneaky round of golf and used the fitness suite on the last afternoon and both were top quality and worth spending a bit of time at (although the golf course was only par 3 it was very well kept)

In summary this place was a really pleasant suprise and I can highly recommend it, in fact at some point I am going to return with the family to fully expore it.

Room Tip: Book a pavillion room - good views, showers and AC!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChubbleyKeith_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

586 - 592 of 737 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel in July 2012. The hotel is located in a pleasant village (which has a nice pub in walking distance) and also in nice grounds.
Staff were efficient on check in and our room, which was a twin, was a good size, modern with all the facilities you would expect.
We ate in the hotel opting for the buffet, which was good.
Lots of nice bars and small rooms to sit in for a drink, and several options to eat in bars and restaurants.
Very pleasant, the only downside was no air con in the bedrooms and it was a hot day, apart from that would stay again

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Enjoyable break away from home. Minor issues with initial room location (next to laundry & ground floor) quickly resolved. WiFi a little flaky with several hours of unavailability and a false fire alarm one night due to the black-flies.
Despite these minor niggles the food and service were excellent and my wife & I had a good long weekend away.

Room Tip: Stayed in a Pavilion room. Upper floors have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I recently stayed here on business and got a chance to meet the current family "clifford"

Tthis hotel is certainly worth visiting because it dates back for quite a few generations and I think each generation have only improved the place. It really has a mix of old and new and all integrating so well. I last stayed here about 10 years ago.

The golf course looked so tempting from my bedroom but sadly had to be missed even though I carry my clubs all the time.

If you get a chance meet "Carrie" the real Mama and you might even end up having getting one of her own home made marmalade. I will certainly return before the next 10 year!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the Pavilion rooms overlooking the golf course!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donningtonmanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The Blunsdon House Hotel used to have a reputation for being the most exclusive hotel in the region. That was in the 1980's and frankly not much has changed and the hotel is now looking a little dated. Having said that we were impressed with our room and the food was excellent.

Arrival at the hotel saw us being booked in efficiently by a very polite receptionist. We were directed to our room (270) which was located in the pavillion. There was no offer of help with our luggage but this didn't bother us. I had asked for an executive room with a super king bed on the dinner bed and breakfast rate of £155. The room did have a comfy super king bed but this consisted of two single beds being pushed together. I may as well had asked for a twin room and pushed the beds together myself! Nevertheless all the bedding was clean and crisp despite the absence of a duvet. I really do not like those itchy hotel blankets and thin white sheets.

The room was clean, tidy and well appointed. There was plenty of storage space, trouser press, iron, coffee maker and plenty of teas, coffees etc. Lighting was good and the view was over the carpark and onto the surrounding countryside. The bathroom was large, clean and well appointed. Plenty of lotions and potions and plenty of clean towels. There was a hairdrier and shaver socket. The bath and seperate shower cubicle had a good water pressure and plenty of hot water. All sounds great with the room until you try and get some sleep. The walls are paper thin and one can hear all that goes on in the surrounding rooms. We had a guy that snored like a steam train on oneside and a loud chavy woman the otherside that seemed to think it was okay to shout at 1am. As such we got very little sleep.

The hotel has two restaurants. One serves a buffet and carvery, the other is fine dining. We ate in the carvery and found the food to be excellent. Special thanks to Maureen who served us who was a delight. I think I would have preffered the other restaurant though as I found the carvery to be a little bit like a canteen. There were loads of children running amock and the whole ambience felt like a cross between a motorway service station and an old peoples home! The decor was a little bright and garish for me and was reminisicent of the 1980's. The same goes for the main bar which felt a little bit like an airport departure lounge. We found a delightful 'malt' bar that certainly warranted the 4 stars that this hotel holds. Prices and choice were excellent.

We did not try the leisure facilities but saw the pool from the bar and although clean, did look rather small. The hotel also has a golf course that looked okay if you're that way inclined.

Breakfast was excellent. There was plenty of choice and quality was splendid. My 'Northern' wife particularly liked the black pudding and trust me that is quite a compliment for her!

On the whole the hotel is good but really could do with a spruce up and bringing into the new millenium. It does not compare favourably with other hotels in the area such as the Cricklade Country Club or Stanton House. I feel that the Blunsdon House is too large for couples seeking an intimate getaway. It is however fine for families and businesss travellers and caters well for children.

Room Tip: Try and get one in the Pavillion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pau109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We pulled up in our car to the front door, but there was no one in sight. We went inside and got the trolley and used that to bring our own luggage in, only to find the bellman leaning on the counter at Registration, talking to the lady there. We checked in, reminding them of our request for a Queen bed. Yes, we were assured. (The bellman at this point was taking our luggage up to our room without us, banging it loudly as he struggled with it at the elevator) We went up to the room to find 2 single beds pushed together for our "Queen" bed. We were too jetlagged and tired to change rooms, or meet up with the bellman again, so we let it go. (the clerk at checkout couldn't understand why there would be a problem or a difference between one large bed and two shoved together!). The bathroom was large and modern, with instant hot water for the shower, which was nice. Annoying to find separate spouts for hot and cold water, because it means you have to fill the sink to wash your hands in warm water. Otherwise, it's either hot or cold...but that's just a pet peeve of mine. We went down to dinner at the Carvery. Food was not bad, but not good either. In the morning, we went down for breakfast. Not a single "good morning" from anyone we passed who worked there, from cleaners to front desk to the man who seated us at our table. And buffet breakfast wasn't great, with not a lot of choices. We didn't like the sunny side up eggs in the buffet, so the chef made them for us separately, bringing them to the table, which was nice of him. As we sat in the restaurant, several workers were passing through the dining room to the back. Not one of them looked happy. In fact, they all looked miserable. That usually means terrible management, when everyone obviously hates working there. So if you're looking for friendly hospitality, you won't find it here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldshopper_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Dear Worldshopper,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with the other community members of Tripadvisor.

Naturally we were disappointed to read that you felt your recent visit lacked "warmth". The provision of good hospitality is something we pride ourselves on at Blunsdon and this is well reflected in the vast majority of our other reviews. Please accept our apologies that you were not welcomed at breakfast and rest assured that this has been subsequently addressed with the (restaurant) management team.

In response to some of your other points ; we do not specifically advertise nor provide a door / bellman but a service of general porterage, based in our main reception area. The room allocated to you contained a zip & link kingsize bed and separate hot/cold taps both of which are (normally) acceptable, common provisions within the UK hospitality sector. We are sorry that you did not like these arrangements. Although for future reference, our executive pavillion rooms have monobloc mixer taps and (at least) queen size beds as standard.

On a more positive note we are glad to see that our chef cooked and delivered your eggs to your liking and that you also enjoyed the great showers we have.

We feel that your assertion that the hotel is subject terrible management , based on an isolated experience during what was an exceptionally busy time, to be misplaced. Indeed we are proud to say that our 10 longest serving members of staff have provided Blunsdon House hospitality for a combined 327 years, a good testment to our labour retention and staff happiness. With this in mind we hope that we will have the oppuntunity to welcome you back to Blunsdon again in the future.

Kind regards

Chris Clifford
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

This hotel fits the bill for all - personal or professional visits. Set on a ridge with its own par 3 golf course. Room was well decorated and furnished with small but important bits such as a robe, coffee maker and fridge. Large flat screen TV to enjoy. No air conditioning so the rooms potentially can get warm however there is a floor fan. Hotel has a variety of restaurants to include a great breakfast and carvery in addition to a finer dining experience restaurant. The lounges and quiet rooms are extremely well appointed with the right atmosphere for everyone. Fitness facility is a bonus.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blunsdon
2.1 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#3 of 24 in Swindon
823 reviews
4.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#9 of 24 in Swindon
725 reviews
6.1 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#6 of 24 in Swindon
2,330 reviews
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
4 mi away
Cricklade House
Cricklade House
#1 of 1 in Cricklade
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Address: | The Ridge, Blunsdon, Swindon SN26 7AS, England (Formerly Best Western Plus Swindon Blunsdon House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Blunsdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blunsdon
Price Range: £71 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in extensive private grounds of 30 acres with stunning views across to the Vale of the White Horse and the Cotswold escarpment. This very comfortable 116 en-suite, 4 Star, family owned and run hotel offers two restaurants, three bars, air-conditioning and executive room upgrades available. With extensive leisure facilities including indoor pool, 9 hole Par 3 golf course, beauty salon and much more. We are an ideal hotel for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Swindon
Swindon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing