We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel, a la carte restaurant expensive, carvery very good.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blunsdon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Slough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel, a la carte restaurant expensive, carvery very good.”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Lovely hotel, clean, good food, Nicholas menu very expensive, but Christopher's carvery for dinner and breakfast excellent. Most rooms away from main building good for luggage but would be a wet walk in the rain.

Did not tell me how much they were taking from my card (I checked in, my partner paid) so I was £200 down for the weekend.

Room Tip: We had a superior room with a King Size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann502010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Dear Anne50210,

Thank you for your recent review. We are glad to see that you really enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hotel, clean, tidy and well presented. For your future visits you will be please to note that we provide a full porterage service for luggage. We also provide umbrellas to guest staying in the pavilion should it rain, to help mitigate the effects of the bad weather.

By providing a host of dining options, we feel that we offer superb value to our eclectic mix of customers and that the pricing of our a la carte restaurant is positioned appropriately. We hope to welcome you back to Blunsdon soon.

Kind regards

Chris Clifford
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    199
    90
    20
    14
See reviews for
159
217
21
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I was fearing the usual slightly tired and shabby Best Western offering, but actually this turned out to be rather better. The evening food, by 3 star standards, exceeded expectations, with good prompt service. Nice choice at breakfast.

The strongest part of the offering was the room. Great to have a bath and a separate shower, a king size bed and a spacious room. Free wifi was also excellent and fast. I was in the Pavillion building, and the room also had a balcony overlooking open countryside.

This hotel has the feeling that the people who run it care about their customers. I wouldn't say it has a 4 star plush feel about it though.

Room Tip: I would return to the Pavillion. The room was roomy, smart and had a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Funtraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Dear Funtraveller007,

Thank you for completing a review on Trip advisor. As an independent, family owned hotel we take great pride in the product we offer; after all the hotel is also our home.

We are glad that you feel that this is well reflected in the high quality of our bedrooms and hope that you will be staying with us again soon.

Kind regards

Chris Clifford
Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a weekend at this super hotel and feel we had wonderful value for money. Our room was in the main hotel and was large and comfortable. The restaurant was very busy most nights but that added to the atmosphere. The food was delicious and the staff very helpful.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jasmin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Dear Jasmin F,

Thank you for taking the time and effort to share you experience of Blunsdon with the Tripadvisor community. We are happy to note that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Chris Clifford
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We took a mini-break here in November and had a great time. The room in the Pavilion was spacious and although it overlooked the car park, it was very quiet. The leisure facilities were very good. The staff were very friendly and made recommendations about what exercise classes were available. The abs class I went to was not only well taught, but I had a lot of fun meeting some of the regular attendees, one of whom was a very sprightly 75 year-old! The gym had all the latest equipment and the pool, although small, kept my two children entertained for hours.

My son, who needs to be within close proximity to a games console while on holiday, really enjoyed all the games on offer in the "kids room". We also used the Secrets spa and met some very friendly people there. Penny, who gave my daughter a manicure, came up with a new nail colour that is definitely not available in London, while the lady who helped me with a pedicure was one of the friendliest and knowledgeable beauticians I have met. She was also very accommodating when our sat nav broke down and we struggled to find our way back from the designer outlet centre in time for my appointment.

The hotel offers a good value half-term package that included breakfast for two adults and two children at no extra charge. There was a good selection of hot and cold food for breakfast and the staff were attentive and met every request with a smile. We will definitely visit again, perhaps with relatives and younger children who would love the outdoor playground and tennis court.

Room Tip: Do pay extra for rooms in the pavilion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fung S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Dear Fung S,

Thank you for your recent review and kind words. It is always gratifying to receive such praise in public and we will ensure that your comments are passed on to all of the team at Blunsdon. We are very happy to have accommodated your family and are glad that you found the host of leisure facilities to your liking.

We are also glad to see that you soon intend to brave the M4 corridor once more, so that we can welcome you back to Blunsdon. Until then we wish all the best and a merry Christmas.

Kind regards

Chris Clifford
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratton, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We have used this hotel on numerous occasions for meals, celebrations or sometimes just a coffee it combines elegance with warmth. The last time my daughter stayed as a treat for her 40th birthday she unfortunately encountered a few problems. However, the management proved themselves to be very caring and went the extra mile to put things right. This hotel offers everything you will need for any occasion. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Dear Sandra L,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to see that your daughter’s return visit went very well and that she thoroughly enjoyed herself. Although rare, like any service operation we are not immune from the occasional error. We are happy to note that you felt the situation was handled well and look forward to seeing your family again in the future.

Kind regards

Chris Clifford
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on a business trip and I was pleasantly surprised! The location is beautiful and the very large tree carving in front of the hotel is very unique. The rooms are as big and well appointed as any I've seen. The leisure centre is very well equipped and spotlessly clean. Only negatives are : bar area lacked atmosphere and the food was only average. Other than that, I will certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear Baa,

Thanks for the great review, its always very nice to receive such words of praise. We will ensure your comments are circulated to the entire staff. We are glad to see that you had a very nice stay. You may be happy to hear that our recently appointed french head chef will be starting a new menu in the hotel next week which hopefully will meet your approval upon your anticipated return.

Kind regards

Chris Clifford
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night in the main building which was ok but typically stuffy but UK hotels are usually hot and airless. Bed was quite hard and non of us slept well, but our Son liked the bunk bed for novelty value. The pool was cold and actually quite deep with a sharp incline which could catch out the unwary. Also you provide the entertainment for people in the bar above who can watch.
The food was fine, nothing special just good honest Carvery fair served in what looked like a converted MT garage.
The hotel mainly seemed to cater for large family occasions, weddings, anniversaries, bridge club etc. If you are having a big family get together it is a sensible hotel in a sensible location but not for us.
Go back? No we won't, it did seem a bit soulless and if we need to stay around Swindon again, we would try another venue if only because we have already tried the Blunsdon House Experience.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Dear Paul C,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback via Trip advisor. We are glad that in general you enjoyed your stay with us but we are naturally disappointed to see that you only scored us as average and that you will not be returning. We would like to respond as follows to some of your specific points.

Sixty Four of our bedrooms (totalling 108) are fully air-conditioned, a standard many of our international guests automatically assume should be present in UK hotels but is usually not. Given the subjective nature of room temperature, we are also happy to provide additional fans / heaters to any of our rooms upon request. Our main heating is now on given the onset of the chilly brutish autumn weather; with overnight temperatures dipping to near freezing, we feel that this is entirely appropriate.

The pool temperature is computer controlled and maintained at a balmy 30C, well within the acceptable established range for a UK leisure pool. The deep end of the pool is indeed accessed via a slope but this is clearly signed and a safety rope is in place specifically to ensure that people are not caught unawares. Historically this has not been a cause for concern.

We offer a choice of restaurants (in addition to a full snack menu in any of the three bars) to cater for a variety of tastes , perhaps given your feelings about Christopher's carvary; our a la carte restaurant would have better suited your needs. We have owned and managed the hotel since its inception in 1960 and pride ourselves on the homely feel of the hotel, after all to us - it is home. We do not concede that it is in anyway, “soulless”.

As you correctly highlight we are fantasically well located and do cater for a wide range of customers. It has always been a strength of Blunsdon that we are able to offer a “little something” for everyone to enjoy. We are sorry that feel that you will not be returning but would like to wish you all the best in your future travels.

Kind regards

Chris Clifford
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blunsdon
7.1 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
973 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#4 of 25 in Swindon
749 reviews
4.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 25 in Swindon
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 25 in Swindon
1,883 reviews
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Property: Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Address: | The Ridge, Blunsdon, Swindon SN26 7AS, England (Formerly Best Western Plus Swindon Blunsdon House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Blunsdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blunsdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in extensive private grounds of 30 acres with stunning views across to the Vale of the White Horse and the Cotswold escarpment. This very comfortable 116 en-suite, 4 Star, family owned and run hotel offers two restaurants, three bars, air-conditioning and executive room upgrades available. With extensive leisure facilities including indoor pool, 9 hole Par 3 golf course, beauty salon and much more. We are an ideal hotel for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Swindon
Swindon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing