We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Weekend Bridge Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blunsdon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bracknell
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Weekend Bridge Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Never been on a Mr Bridge holiday before, but Blunsden House is just an hour from home, in lovely countryside so we decided to give it a go. Lovely hotel, very friendly staff, comfortable, clean quiet room.
Food wonderful, plenty of choice for breakfast, full English, or all things continental, and (my favourite) plenty of fresh fruits and cereals. Oh, and don't forget the pastries
As we were with a large party (think there were over 80 of us) we had our lunches in the Garden Room which was excellent. On Saturday there was a buffet, jacket potatoes with lots of choices of fillings, plus salad and deserts. On Sunday we had a Sunday roast, waitress service, fresh melon and berries starter beautiful roast beef with all the trimmings then choice of desserts, follwowed by coffee and mints. The staff could not have been more helpful, and the restaurant Manager was excellent. We were so busy playing Bridge and sociallising between eating and drinking that we didn't leave the hotel. Great place, would recomment it.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor - not a nice view, but we didn't spend much time in the room an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    195
    85
    18
    13
See reviews for
154
212
21
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

We wanted to combine an easter break with our wedding anniversary, and chose the Blunsdon House Hotel. We stayed 5 nights.We were allocated an executive room in the main building, this was quite a spacious room on the 3rd floor and had a large king size bed.The room was quiet, warm, and clean. We had chosen this hotel for it's facilities and location. A leisure centre which we used the pool and sauna and found the changing facilities were very good.The weekend was very busy and I think they were fully booked with a plethora of families with children. But even so we always managed to find a quiet spot somewhere within one of the bars. The buffet breakfast was always very busy around 9oclock in the morning, but adequately topped up when necessary.There was only two disappointments, First the Spa was closed for the Easter break?? I am sure it would have been very busy if they had kept it open, The second was the need of a wider selection of vegetarian food choice for lunch and evening meals, The menus became boring after the 3rd night, so we ventured out into Swindon. We also found the local pub up the road nothing special but a change of scenery.
The staff were helpful, polite and friendly. A good all round hotel on the edge of beautiful countryside, If you enjoy walking, or visiting local historical sites,with quaint villages on your doorstep, then this is a very good base to explore. Plus there's also plenty of retail shopping areas. We will not hesitate to go back and then perhaps if it is a litle warmer we will venture out onto the Golf course that overlooks the southern cotswolds. Thank you for a lovely break!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IntrepidAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

We booked this hotel for my parents to stay overnight for their Golden Wedding Anniversary and then had Sunday lunch in Tawny's restaurant the day after. The staff when booking and on the day could not have been more helpful. The service was great and the food really lovely. Big portions. We had children in the party and they were catered for too. My parents said their room had spectacular views.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryR198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

This is a vast place with well equipped leisure facilities, bars and restaurants to suit most tastes. the room I had was a budget offering and adequate but my travel companion flashed his Rewards card and got a much better room. Other colleagues tried the food and had no complaints, the spa facilities are good and the bars comfortable. There is plenty of parking and the corporate facilities are good. Our buffet lunch was above average and breakfast was a good buffet style offering also. However, the whole place has a bit of a tired feel, but we had no real complaints.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cryptomuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Me and my Husband love Best Western's for their breakfasts alone and this did not disapoint. Full English cooked fresh rather than cold buffet style.
Bed was uncomfortable though and the decor was dross. Friendly staff though and the bar prices were cheaper than the pub down the road.

Did not go in the pool although wish I did take my costume.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyHelena1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

My family have a reunion here once a year and we have just had this year's.
Every year they look after us really well. Their events organiser, Gerrie is a lovely lady who does a brilliant job. We have Zen's lounge for the day which is a beautiful room with a bar and is just the right size because there are between 20 and 25 of us each year. We then have a meal in the restaurant, exclusively to ourselves. The chef does an excellent job, our meals are pre-ordered and he gets everything spot on, very well presented and service is just right. We also stay the night and the rooms are very comfortable. We will be back same time next year!

Room Tip: We prefer to stay in the main hotel. There are other rooms that you have to get to by a short walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheila747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

I stayed here for 2 days in March. Loads of facilities most of which I didn't get time to use.
There are 3 different places to eat within the hotel with a couple of bars for chilling out. The internet is quick wherever you use it, my favourite area was in the bar.
The pool looked inviting as did the hot tub, you can sit in the bar and look over the pool.
I will be returning here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnlySimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blunsdon
7.1 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#5 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
4.1 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Pear Tree at Purton
The Pear Tree at Purton
#6 of 24 in Swindon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Property: Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Address: | The Ridge, Blunsdon, Swindon SN26 7AS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Swindon Blunsdon House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Blunsdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blunsdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in extensive private grounds of 30 acres with stunning views across to the Vale of the White Horse and the Cotswold escarpment. This very comfortable 116 en-suite, 4 Star, family owned and run hotel offers two restaurants, three bars, air-conditioning and executive room upgrades available. With extensive leisure facilities including indoor pool, 9 hole Par 3 golf course, beauty salon and much more. We are an ideal hotel for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Swindon
Swindon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing