We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired hotel in need of updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blunsdon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tired hotel in need of updating”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The decor is dated and needs updating. However staff is friendly and generally helpful. There are two restaurants for dinner - one is casual, carvery style. The other is a more formal restaurant with a menu which tries hard to impress but could do with keeping things more simple. Quality of ingredients was good and staff accommodating.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ric027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Ric027

Thank you for sharing your opinion of Blunsdon House with the Trip advisor community. Naturally we are disappointed that you felt the hotel was dated and that you scored us poorly. Taste in décor is a very personal and a highly subjective matter and we try very hard to cater for a variety of tastes within our product. Given that the hotel is both our business and home we strive to continually re-invest and refurbish the premises on an ever rolling basis. We also feel that our product is of a good 4 star standard; something that is well reflected in the photography shared by many of other reviewers.

We were very glad to see that you felt that the team were helpful and the service provided by them was professional and accommodating and that the variety of food was to your liking. We very much hope to welcome you back to Blunsdon House in the future.

Regards

Chris Clifford

Ownership Family
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    197
    87
    19
    13
See reviews for
155
212
21
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

To be honest we were both perplexed by this hotel. It seems to be a typical traditional hotel when you enter the reception area and then there is a health complex tagged onto the back and then a further building with the executive rooms above a treatment centre that is of a very odd design. However, the stay was fine. The room was clean but too hot as we couldn’t turn the heating down or off so had to have the balcony window open.

The bar staff were friendly and the drinks not overpriced. The breakfast was adequate but not made from local produce and the selection was small probably because we were there out of season. It looked as though there could be another 100 guests and it would still be empty.
If you are travelling through as we were then this hotel is fine. If you are staying for a while then I hope your room’s heating/cooling works. To us it was neither good nor bad hence the average rating although my last comment would be that an average rating shouldn’t cost over £100 per night.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WozThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We stayed one night at the Blunsdon whilst visiting the Wyvern Theatre in Swindon and could not fault the hotel.

We booked an executive room in the Pavilion with balcony overlooking the tennis court, golf course and rolling English countryside, and it was certainly a 4 star room with everything provided that you could want (walk in shower, separate bath, decent coffee and hot chocolate, biscuits, robes, blackout curtains, nice furnishings). We were very comfortable in there and the balcony was certainly a sun trap in the morning which was an unexpected bonus (to sunbathe at 9 a.m. in May was certainly a bonus !)

The hotel is family owned and it shows in the management, everything is very well kept with lots of little touches. The receptionist was charming, and the barman where he had our nightcap (the whisky bar ?) friendly, housekeeper ditto. Hotel and grounds spacious with plenty of places to sit and read, or go jogging around the grounds and trails.

We would certainly return to the Blunsdon House if we go to the Wyvern again, its in a really nice spot away from the bustle of Swindon with lovely countryside surroundings.

Room Tip: The Pavilion rooms with balconies and views very nice especially in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank White-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

but i have to be honest, i have stayed at this hotel many times over the years, and have always loved my time here, i even call it my second home.
Don't get me wrong this hotel has many good things going for it the staff on the whole are friendly and well trained, the history is all around. the pavilion is good.
my worry is i feel the hotel in the most needs a revamp, my mattress was poor in the pavilion its ok to say why did i not complain at the time but to be honest why should i have to? Breakfast on the first day had no management at all the juice bar was empty for a long time, people were coming in and not being seated, not a problem but a sign says wait here till seated??
Second day was better but once upon a time, you could set your clock to how this place was run.
The old part of the main building just looks old and tired, my colleague eat here one night and his words were "never again" food was over priced and cold.
would i stay again yes as it may have just been a one off but i fear it was not we will see, i hope it can be put right

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ram-ram-ram-ram-ram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Dear 503927Amex_10

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Blunsdon House with the Trip advisor community. Please accept our apologies for the mismanaged breakfast experience you describe, please be assured that such incidents are not typical.

We were naturally somewhat disappointed to receive your criticism, particularly when by your own account; your previous (extensive) experience of Blunsdon has been resoundingly positive. We would always encourage any customer to seek to resolve an issue if and when it occurs as it is often very hard to “set matters right” retrospectively. We do however appreciate and take on board your comments and where appropriate will seek to adapt our operations.

Mattress comfort is a highly subjective topic and we regularly replace rotate and replace a percentage of our stock. I would greatly appreciate it if you would contact me at Chris.Clifford@Blunsdonhouse.co.uk to furnish me with the specifics of your stay so that I can investigate some of the issues raised further.

Kind regards

Chris Clifford
Ownership Family
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, Wilts
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I attended our freinds 50th Birthday celebration at the Blunsdon on Saturday Night. The function room was pleasantly laid out and the staff very friendly. The catering consited of a mixed hot and cold buffet which was of a very high quality. The bar staff were very busy always polite in their dealings with those attending. The quality of the hanging decorations were such that I would suggest the Hotel use these when preparing for the Christmas Season, it definately added to the overall experience. Well done.

Room Tip: Check to see what else is going on at the hotel in advance as the Car Park gets very busy as it also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WRGBEM53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

my partner my 4 yr old son and i stayed here over the easter weekend, The family room was really nice, plenty of room, double bed and bunk beds which our son loved, batroom was a good size and the power shower over the bath was one of the best we have had in a hotel.The swimming pool was small but really nice, makes a change to get a really good deep end, 7ft. the changing rooms were really good not freezing cold like a lot of changing rooms. On the Sunday the hotel organised an easter egg hunt for the children which was great fun and as there wernt many children that weekend they all came away with a handful of eggs. There is a really lovely walk around the golf course.All the staff were very very helpful especially the pool manager who organised the egg hunt and the restaraunt manager unfortunatly this is where we come to the "but" althought all the food was good quality everything we had was really really cold, on the first morning i asked for my breakfast to be popped in the microwave for a minute to warm it up which was done with no problem so we didnt think anything of it however we had booked in for the evening carvery which looked fantastic that night, starters were good but they were chilled starters so that was fine then when we got our mains they were once again really really cold, we told the manager who was very good and offered to get replacements but by now we had had enough of cold food so we declined, the staff did everything they could at the time and in the end we wernt charged, we wouldnt have minded paying for starters and puds as these were fine. The following morning at breakfast it was cold food again and because of this we decided not to stay for a third night which was a shame because everthing else about the hotel was great, We did talk to other guests who had had bar meals and they said they were fantastic. Having said that we are planning a big family get together later in the year and as we are hoping the food situation was just a small hicup and will be rectified soon Blunsdon House is still on our list.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JULIEA1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Never been on a Mr Bridge holiday before, but Blunsden House is just an hour from home, in lovely countryside so we decided to give it a go. Lovely hotel, very friendly staff, comfortable, clean quiet room.
Food wonderful, plenty of choice for breakfast, full English, or all things continental, and (my favourite) plenty of fresh fruits and cereals. Oh, and don't forget the pastries
As we were with a large party (think there were over 80 of us) we had our lunches in the Garden Room which was excellent. On Saturday there was a buffet, jacket potatoes with lots of choices of fillings, plus salad and deserts. On Sunday we had a Sunday roast, waitress service, fresh melon and berries starter beautiful roast beef with all the trimmings then choice of desserts, follwowed by coffee and mints. The staff could not have been more helpful, and the restaurant Manager was excellent. We were so busy playing Bridge and sociallising between eating and drinking that we didn't leave the hotel. Great place, would recomment it.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor - not a nice view, but we didn't spend much time in the room an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blunsdon
7.1 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#5 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
4.1 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,768 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Pear Tree at Purton
The Pear Tree at Purton
#6 of 24 in Swindon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Property: Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Address: | The Ridge, Blunsdon, Swindon SN26 7AS, England (Formerly Best Western Plus Swindon Blunsdon House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Blunsdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blunsdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in extensive private grounds of 30 acres with stunning views across to the Vale of the White Horse and the Cotswold escarpment. This very comfortable 116 en-suite, 4 Star, family owned and run hotel offers two restaurants, three bars, air-conditioning and executive room upgrades available. With extensive leisure facilities including indoor pool, 9 hole Par 3 golf course, beauty salon and much more. We are an ideal hotel for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Swindon
Swindon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing