We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They made the wedding a perfect day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blunsdon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“They made the wedding a perfect day”
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

We had the real pleasure of going to a friends son and his fiancée wedding reception yesterday at this hotel; from the minute we arrived to be greeted by friendly staff offering kir royals or Buck's Fizz to the very last goodbyes they were attentive, showed genuine interest and made everyone feel welcome. They interacted with everyone and made you feel that it was more than just another job for them. Excellent food, great company and a lovely atmosphere all contributed to a memorable day. Well done to the staff for their part in making it a great day.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank behappy222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    193
    84
    18
    13
See reviews for
154
211
19
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I booked a room for my family and two other rooms for my parents and my gran (who needed a special room as she is in a wheelchair). Right from the very start I had a wonderful experience. The booking was done over the phone, and it was a pleasure to talk through our special requirements and make the booking with the friendly staff.

When we arrived everything was perfect, just as we'd booked, and we were greeted with a warm welcome at reception. The rest of the stay was no exception with many staff members to thank for this, and especially the Restaurant Manager at Christopher's who was very helpful moving tables around to accommodate a large(ish) party with a wheelchair, (and 2 lively children).

All in all a wonderful and extremely friendly stay at this hotel, culminating in one of the staff following us out to the car park, on our departure to hand back a camera that my mum had left in the bar where we had had lunch.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

Excellent service all round food was out standing again such a choice from starter to coffees. Very clean thought out highly recommend this Hotel. 1st class well done The Clifford Family. Raining so we never got to use golf course, views outstanding and a very nice children's play area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lwadl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

£115 for a room stuck in the lower basement at the furthest trek from the Hotel, to then find no Hot water for a shave or shower in the morning. Called reception to no avail, so left to use freezing water or be late for meetings, thanks so much. To be fair the reception staff apologised and felt that should be sufficient. No plus or Best about this Hotel, especially compared to far better hotels in area.

Room Tip: Dont let them stick you in the Pavilion
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Lynne J,

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion on Trip advisor. We are sorry that you had a problem during your stay. We would like to respond to your specific comments as follows. The hotel does not have any “basement” rooms; physically all of bedrooms are equal to or above ground level. The room you were allocated - 166 has French doors and a patio which open directly onto the golf course and offers fantastic views of the Vale of Cricklade and surrounding area. To claim that were stuck in the “basement” is factually inaccurate and somewhat unfair.

Your issue with the room’s hot water was reported to reception during check-out; we have no record of the issue being highlighted prior to this. We log all phone calls to Main reception and operate an automated maintenance tracker to record issues as and when they occur. This allows us to accurately track and measure the performance of our facilities team, whilst simultaneously ensuring that guest issues are addressed promptly and professionally.

Blunsdon House is a large property and naturally issues can and do occur that require immediate attention. Upon investigation, the shower check valve was found to be at fault and was promptly replaced. Whilst we accept this was inconvenient, the issue was entirely unforeseeable and addressed as quickly as humanly possible – once raised. Furthermore the hot water supply to both the bath shower and sink was unaffected, providing alternative points at which to bathe.

During check-out the duty manager, Geraldine Burton was called to attend your complaint and in the light of your comments made an apology and offered you a discounted rate. This was rejected out of hand, citing that you would rather “speak to your agent”. To say that only an apology was offered, is again a point we differ on.

Occasionally service shortcomings do arise; we are not immune from occasional equipment failure or human error. We do believe however, that in light of events at the time of your stay our response was appropriate, swift and professional.

We note with some trepidation that this reviewer has yet to post a positive review and in the light of that would encourage any third party reading this to consider the context in which it is made. We would also encourage you to appraise a selection of reviews and make an on-balance judgement.


Regards,

Chris Clifford
Ownership Family
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

A comfortable large room. It was all good the only negative was that the room was a bit dated and if it wasn't for working out how to put the air conditioning on constant it would have been too hot. The bed was really big & comfortable but if you like soft pillows take your own.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ccdrage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. It had wonderful views over the golf course towards Cirencester and beyond. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was excellent. It had a large bath and a separate walk-in shower. The bars and public areas were nicely decorated and welcoming. Staff were friendly and helpful. We opted for the buffet meals and some were disappointing - the food was not always piping hot. We find this a common problem with buffet meals. We would definitely use the hotel again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greytravellers69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights with my family. The food at Christopher's restaurant was very good and plenty of choice and the service was excellent. The children enjoyed the pool, play area and walk. We stayed in the Pavillion and has interconnecting rooms. The rooms were very spacious and clean. Quiet and comfortable - the best sleep I've had at a hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mazk28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blunsdon
7.1 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
911 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#6 of 24 in Swindon
665 reviews
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 24 in Swindon
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
635 reviews
4.1 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
1,701 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Pear Tree at Purton
The Pear Tree at Purton
#5 of 24 in Swindon
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Property: Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Address: | The Ridge, Blunsdon, Swindon SN26 7AS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Swindon Blunsdon House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Blunsdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blunsdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in extensive private grounds of 30 acres with stunning views across to the Vale of the White Horse and the Cotswold escarpment. This very comfortable 116 en-suite, 4 Star, family owned and run hotel offers two restaurants, three bars, air-conditioning and executive room upgrades available. With extensive leisure facilities including indoor pool, 9 hole Par 3 golf course, beauty salon and much more. We are an ideal hotel for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Swindon
Swindon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing