We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everywhere should be like this.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blunsdon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Everywhere should be like this.”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The hotel is in a quiet rural location but within easy reach of the centre of Swindon: by public transport if you need it. The room we had would have qualified as a suite anywhere else and it was superbly appointed and efficiently but discretely maintained. There is a Health Club with swimming-pool gym and sauna and use of this is free to guests. The food is excellent and especially good value in the carvery where a three-course dinner can cost as little as £12.95. Book breakfast because this is good as well. We made the mistake early on of eating in the nearby pub and the meals there cost us more than the much better offerings in the hotel so learn from our experience.
The whole atmosphere in the hotel is friendly and calm but very efficient.
The hotel claims four stars and, in my view, that is about half the number it deserves.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building and we found it quiet but central to all the amenities. I've no r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corvinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Corvinus

Wow! What a review, it is not everyday that we receive such gratifying praise. We have taken the liberty of printing and posting this review on the staff notice board as it will be greatly appreciated by all the team at Blunsdon.

We hope to see you again soon and until such a time wish you all the very best.

Warm regards,

Chris Clifford
Ownership family
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    199
    90
    20
    14
See reviews for
159
217
21
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Esher, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed here recently with an event - it is rare to find a family owned hotel these days. It is traditional style although the extension is more modern. There is usually plenty of staff and the amenities are good with the gym, swimming pool and outdoor area. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The buffet breakfast and carvery at lunch and in the evenings was very good value. We stayed in the Pavilion rooms which are very well furnished and quite spacious. Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolinejc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Carolinejc,

Thank you for sharing your experience of Blunsdon with the wider community, we were delighted to host your successful event. Should you have any further requirements, business or personal please don't hesitate to contact us again.

Warm regards

Chris Clifford
Ownership family
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I stayed here for work because it was close to our plant. It was very clean with many amenities. There are multiple places to get good meals here as well as two pubs. The breakfast selection is terrific. There is also a very good pub a short walk down the street. Definitely will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Shenls,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We are all too happy to cater for business and leisure customers alike. Whilst the local pub is good, don't forget we have three very different bars within the hotel, all of which would be very happy to welcome you! We look forward to seeing again soon and until such a time will keep the fire hot and the beer cold.

Kind regards

Chris Clifford
Ownership Family
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stay here regularly whilst visiting elderly parents.The hotel is convenient to our destination and the staff are always extremely pleasant ,helpful and thoughtful to our needs .The hotel is kept clean and our room is always excellent, drinks in either bar is enjoyable with a slightly different atmosphere in each.Food is fab and always plenty of it with the breakfasts setting you up for the whole day ahead.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Anna P,

Thank you for your kind words. We are always happy to host family groups, as a family owned operation we have built our business around catering for the different generations! We are glad that you enjoyed your food and stay and would like to wish you safe travels until we see you again.

Warm regards

Chris Clifford
Ownership Family
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We had a one night stay to visit friends nearby. The staff were very pleasant and efficient and we were allocated a room in the main building. The room was very comfortable and had sufficient facilities including Wi Fi which worked well. The main building however was dark and dated in décor giving it the feel of a social club. We were told that rooms in the adjacent pavilion were much more modern.
The buffet breakfast was plentiful and well cooked albeit the hot items did seem to be hanging around for a while.

Room Tip: Check in to the Pavillion annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom_H503775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Tom_H503775,

Thank you for sharing you opinion of Blunsdon with the Tripadvisor community. We provide a wide range of services and products to a diverse customer base. As such we accept that on subjective matters such as décor peoples opinion will vary greatly. We are happy to see that you found the free Wi-Fi and customer service to your liking and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

Chris Clifford
Ownership family
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This hotel was booked purely on price alone as I was looking for one nights stay near the Cotswolds at the weekend. The hotel really exceeded my expectations, we were upgraded upon arrival to a lovely room with a fantastic view over the country side, very spacious inside and had wonderful fresh coffee and biscuits to make in the room.

The staff were very friendly and the breakfast in the morning was great. Cooked, continental, you name it they had it! they would also cook your eggs for you anyway you wanted if you fancied poached instead of fried.

Fab service and would recommend to anyone going to the Cotswolds, we visited Bourton-on-the-water on the Sunday which was only 30 mins away and we got there before all the tour groups turned up!

Room Tip: We book the standard double with breakfast but we got upgraded which had a fantastic view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maz_1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Maz_1001,

We are very glad to see that you enjoyed you time with us and delighted that you have chosen to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community. We go to great efforts to ensure our product represents good value for money and we strive to exceed our customer expectations, in this case we were very happy to be able to provide a complimentary upgrade.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Blunsdon soon and until such a time wish you safe travels.

Kind regards

Chris Clifford
Ownership family
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luton
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This was a return visit to this hotel. Our room this time had a balcony overlooking the grounds/ Cotswolds. Breakfast was a bit like Fawlty Towers. Don't know if they had lots of staff call in sick, but it was chaos!

Room Tip: If we return we would like room 367 as we think this was 1 floor above ours, which would give even m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LutonWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear LutonWanderlust,

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We are very glad to see that you enjoyed your return visit and your repeat custom is appreciated. The view you describe is that of the Vale of Cricklade and surrounding Cotswolds, it spans 24miles on a nice day and is simply breath-taking. Breakfast at the weekend can sometimes be a little frantic, even with good foresight and planning – peak demand is normally between 9.30-10am - we do hope that it did not inconvenience you and we look forward to seeing you at Blunsdon again soon.

Kind regards

Chris Clifford
Ownership Family
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blunsdon
7.1 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
973 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#4 of 25 in Swindon
749 reviews
4.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 25 in Swindon
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 25 in Swindon
1,883 reviews
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Property: Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Address: | The Ridge, Blunsdon, Swindon SN26 7AS, England (Formerly Best Western Plus Swindon Blunsdon House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Blunsdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blunsdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in extensive private grounds of 30 acres with stunning views across to the Vale of the White Horse and the Cotswold escarpment. This very comfortable 116 en-suite, 4 Star, family owned and run hotel offers two restaurants, three bars, air-conditioning and executive room upgrades available. With extensive leisure facilities including indoor pool, 9 hole Par 3 golf course, beauty salon and much more. We are an ideal hotel for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Swindon
Swindon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing