We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blunsdon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Wonderful setting, family feel to Hotel. Friendly staff, well worth a visit. The Tawny's Restaurant was superb, the food was high quality and well presented. The staff really looked after us without being intrusive. Business or pleasure it must be the best hotel in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Mark S,

Thank you for sharing you opinion of Blunsdon House with the wider community at Trip advisor. Your compliments are gratefully received and have been passed on the the general staff for circulation. We look forward to welcoming you back to Blunsdon again soon. Until such a time we wish you a safe and prosperous 2014

Kind regards

Chris Clifford
Ownership Family
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    192
    83
    18
    13
See reviews for
153
210
19
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed at the Blunsdon House Hotel, breaking a trip from Hull to Highclere Castle. The hotel was extremely comfortable and the staff were very friendly, nothing was too much trouble. We had an evening meal at the hotel and the food was delicious and of a very high standard. The breakfast was also excellent with a fantastic choice of options. It is clear that the hotel prides itself on providing the best customer care, with many of the staff having worked there for many years. We enjoyed a lovely woodland walk around the golf course which took in fantastic views around the surrounding area. I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel to friends and family. Thank you to all the staff at Blunsden who made our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yummymummy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

I stayed in the hotel recently and must say this is a nice hotel that offers excellent value for money.

On my stay I found the staff were fantstic. Very polite, friendly and professional and there was nothing that was too much trouble especially Zoe and Stavros who were working on bar on late shift.

Car parking was superb which is sometimes a problem in hotels that I stay in.

I particulary enjoyed the breakfast selction the morning after and was alot of choice to choose from in which I sampled a very nicely cooked full english breakfast.

I would highly recommend this as a hotel for anyone staying in the Swindon Area as it has a great location for motorway access in and out and also Orbital Shopping Retail Park isnt far away either.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulF2582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Blunsdon on Saturday night for a family function where we all enjoyed the hollywood themed dinner and disco. It was a great night, the staff were amazing, polite, friendly and professional, nothing was too much trouble. i would like to say a massive thank you to the lady who helped with the surprise for one of our party who was celebrating a special birthday - it really made her evening. Normally in hotels where there are large functions, you expect the food to not be great, but i was pleasantly surprised, the portions were very large and the food was tasty.
I would highly recommend this as a hotel and for any Xmas Parties the Hollywood Night.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babsking28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

I stayed here with my family 4 times through 2012/13. This is a nice hotel that offers excellent value for money. We've always had good rooms and we were been given a free upgrade on one visit. That suite was on the corner of the new block with fabulous views including the golf course and kids play area. It is well situated with lots of activities within a short drive. The carvery was excellent and we had no complaints about the bar food either. Very reasonably priced too.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a Pavilion Executive Suite,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

This hotel is just outside Swindon in a quiet area. When you arrive it's pretty enough in a green area. There was plenty of free parking. The hotel is from the BW chain so as usual feels old fashioned and full of carpets. The room was okay. The problem was the food in the restaurant at night. For two nights I have hardly eaten as it really wasn't nice. I had the vegetarian option but heard the meat and fish eaters were also not impressed.
The breakfast was on the other hand nice and also for lunch there were nice options, especially the desserts (gooseberry crumble with custard!).
The meeting room we had for a few days was fine, no problems there. I just wouldn't come back as I want to have decent food in the evening as well and I didn't think the restaurant offered that.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank squizz20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

The hotel was ok and staff were helpful.
However, I would echo the comments that some other guests have made regarding the hotel looking somewhat dated and in need of a revamp. i.e. worn fittings in our room, spongy mattress, dated decor.
I would also advise guests to be careful where they park in the hotel car park. One of my car's wheeltrims went missing between me parking up for the night and returning to the car the next day. I parked at the far end of the car park away from the hotel, near a building which apparently is used for staff accomodation (nad which also happened to have a car the same as mine parked outside it also minus wheeltrims).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Mobl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Mobl2013,

Thank you for taking the time to create an account specifically to post this review of Blunsdon. We are glad that you found the staff to be helpful and courteous, it is something we are renowned for. Theft is something we are certainly not.

With regard to your missing wheel trim, you are fully aware that we have conducted an investigation into this matter - including a search of the staff accommodation. We did not uncover anything untoward, something you are also fully aware of. Whilst the member of staff concerned (having served with us for 5 exemplary years) just happens to have the staggeringly abundant Ford Mondeo - his is fitted with incompatible 17 inch alloy wheels - he would have absolutely no use or desire to retrofit a plastic wheel trim to his vehicle. We consider your persistent and now public inference of staff misdeed, without any type of evidence whatsoever to be exceptionally unfair.

We would also like to highlight that upon rejection of your requested compensation this review has come to light, your first and only review to date. This event was completely beyond our control and with some regret we feel this has tainted your entire review of the premises.

Regards

Chris Clifford
Ownership Family
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blunsdon
2.0 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#6 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
7.1 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
4.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Pear Tree at Purton
The Pear Tree at Purton
#4 of 24 in Swindon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Property: Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Address: | The Ridge, Blunsdon, Swindon SN26 7AS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Swindon Blunsdon House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Blunsdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blunsdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in extensive private grounds of 30 acres with stunning views across to the Vale of the White Horse and the Cotswold escarpment. This very comfortable 116 en-suite, 4 Star, family owned and run hotel offers two restaurants, three bars, air-conditioning and executive room upgrades available. With extensive leisure facilities including indoor pool, 9 hole Par 3 golf course, beauty salon and much more. We are an ideal hotel for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Swindon
Swindon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing