We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair but not as good as I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blunsdon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Plenty of good things: Free wifi, Plenty of free parking, good restaurant, sensibly priced wines but also some things that weren't as good.
Check in was efficient. We were in the block away from the main hotel. The rooms were comfortable if a little overheated. There was a wet and windy walk back to the main building and restaurant. Dinner in the more expensive restaurant had good food and wine, pleasant service and it was not very crowded. Given the image I thought they were trying to convey the canned music was a bit unsuitable but not over loud. The other restaurant was a modestly priced carvery which was quite full but not in my view a place for a relaxing dinner. The bar was a nice place to sit and had a fearsome array of whiskeys to try.
On the second morning no paper was delivered because of a problem with their newsagent. They might have left a note or perhaps a note and substitute paper but instead I had to enquire and they took a "the newsagent didn't deliver what are we supposed to do" That may have been true but was not conducive to good relationships I felt. Still it was removed from the bill.
Breakfast was self service. They checked names and rooms very carefully. One would suspect from the procedure that they had hordes coming in off the street trying for an illicit free breakfast. On both occasions it was an effort to attract someone's eye to get tea and coffee although once successful it came quickly and it was the first hotel I've been in for a long time where the conveyor belt toaster was actually set correctly to produce real toast. The cooked breakfast had eggs missing unless you wanted scrambled eggs cool and congealed. When eggs were produced they rushed to cook them and served them medium rare.
There were plenty of facilities to go with the hotel (spa, par 3 golf course, woodland walk).

Room Tip: The rooms in the block away from the main hotel are the "superior" rooms. Check if that is...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Jeremy69Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (705)
There are newer reviews for Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 705 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

This is the second time my family has stayed at Blunsdon House, and we can quite gladly say it is by far the best hotel we've ever stayed in. The staff are extremely friendly, especially the reception staff who are always polite and very helpful.
Also, I'd recommend a meal in the carvery to absolutely everyone! For less than £10 for three courses the value for money in the restaurant is more than anyone could ask for. We shall certainly be staying again sometime soon!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed at The Blunsdon rather than impose on family who live just around the corner, they spoke fondly of the place and we did not want to wear out our welcome. Whilst down here we also visited the nearby Cotswolds (which were largely underwater in parts) and also popped to the Saturday races at Cheltenham. The recommendation turned out to be sound - the hotel itself was excellent, clean and comfortable and convenient to our needs. We stayed in an executive room and it was real bonus to find a ground coffee machine in the room. The weather however was truly miserable the whole time but we cannot really hold that against the place.

We ate twice at the hotel once in tawny's which was quite pricey but well worth it and on Sunday in the Carvary which again was very nice but perhaps just a bit too busy (packed with families which is proably a good thing unless you want a bit piece and quiet like me). If we were going to eat again it would be Tawny's. My brother in-law aka the "swindonianl" seemed to think that it is probably the best hotel in the area, based on my sole experience to date I would not be at all surprised.

A worthwhile visit and a new place for the list, well done The Blunsdon House.

Room Tip: executive room was impressively good but have not seen a standard to compare.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRolly60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Really good pub food. Staff very attentive and aim to please. Quite busy when we visited on the last 3 occasions. Buffet on a Sunday not so good many coach visitors and staff do not seem to be aware of individual tables. Had to wait ages for a drink and for them to clear plates.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmigcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I have stayed here twice now and can honestly say one of the nicest hotels I have stayed at for many years . I stay away a lot during the week possibly 3 to 4 nights each week and would recommend this hotel.The staff are fantastic all of them especially Stamos Bar Manager and Alfred Operations manager.
hotel is clean and warm with very comfortable beds and rooms. Food is Excellent and has a leisure centre which is also very good
I cannot stress what value for money this Hotel is and the Tawny al a carte restaurant is well worth a visit and very reasonable .
Should try this hotel you would not be dissapointed

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I have found this restaurant the best in Swindon for a good night out and excellent food.

The head waiter and waitress are very helpful and always a smile on their faces.

The hotel to me is always very clean and welcoming. Cannot fault it one bit.


.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royston g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Stayed in this hotel back in December and overall had a very enjoyable stay. Plenty of car parking space, smooth check inn etc. Room was comfortable, a little dated but it was clean.

Breakfast was very good with no problems.
The only thing taht bugged me was evenign meal and this was taken in the carvery. After being shown to our table, we were told to go and help ourselves at teh Carvery and it was pointed out that starters and desserts were located to the far side.

Went to get a starter and looked at the blackboard or similar which said soup of the day (Cream of Tomato) and went to serve meself and it was not Tomato but Mushroom which was ok to eat but why not correct the signage?

Went to get main dish and was only offered one meat (Gammon) - nothing else on display, along with one yorkshire pudding which had been sat for quite a while and was fairly brittle and cold. No offer for fresh ones and to be honest, once the meat had been placed on the plate, the chef disapeared and then no staff behind the counter. Things were covered to keep them warm but again i think these had been standing for a while and nothing to tell you what was in each dish without removong the covers. Not a major issue but something which annoys me if no staff to help and advise.

Dessert was ok but again for a 4 star hotel, would have expected alot better.
Would certainly use the hotel as its comfortable and in a good location and with some impovement in service and food, could be an excellent hotel.

Another plus side is the massive lounge areas available to relax in.

Room Tip: We stayed in the old part of the hotel and did not get to experience the newer rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuffolkboyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blunsdon
7.1 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,022 reviews
4.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 25 in Swindon
682 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#4 of 25 in Swindon
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 25 in Swindon
2,042 reviews
6.1 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,586 reviews
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Address: | The Ridge, Blunsdon, Swindon SN26 7AS, England (Formerly Best Western Plus Swindon Blunsdon House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Blunsdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blunsdon
Price Range: £78 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in extensive private grounds of 30 acres with stunning views across to the Vale of the White Horse and the Cotswold escarpment. This very comfortable 116 en-suite, 4 Star, family owned and run hotel offers two restaurants, three bars, air-conditioning and executive room upgrades available. With extensive leisure facilities including indoor pool, 9 hole Par 3 golf course, beauty salon and much more. We are an ideal hotel for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Swindon
Swindon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing