We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last Minute Booking and glad we did.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blunsdon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Last Minute Booking and glad we did.”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Arrived just after check in time, staff friendly, courteous and very helpful. Most of the holtel was OK, parts of the dining area were "dated" but the rest of the place was very good. On our first night we booked a meal in the carvery, we had to move because a light was flickering next to us. Not a problem, while we went and got our main course all the moving was done for us. Food was excellent including the breakfasts, something simple that so many hotels get so wrong. We had to move room after a couple of days as the shower stopped working, again all our clothing and bags were transferred without a fuss, and the second room was bigger, king size bed etc.
Standard of cleanliness very good, the bath room was excellent in both rooms. Only the weather was a bit iffy! Can't blame the hotel for that though.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Catface1960,

Thank you for posting a review of Blunsdon House Hotel. Please accept our apologies for the problem you encountered with your shower during your time with us, the Aqualisa Digital Quartz units we use are (normally) exceptionally reliable and offer an absolutely fantastic guest experience. We are glad to read that the duty management team at the time of your stay was able to resolve this “hiccup” swiftly and to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed your stay as a whole.

You may also be glad to know that Christopher's restaurant will soon be undergoing significant renovation and that we have an exciting new concept lined up. You can rest assured that we receive at least 1-2 days of glorious sunshine in Swindon annually - you will simply have to visit more frequently to increase you chances of successfully catching it. Until then we will keep the umbrella's at the ready and wish you safe travels.

Kind regards

Chris Clifford
Ownership Family
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    197
    87
    19
    14
See reviews for
155
212
21
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is the 3rd year we have returned to stay here when we go to the Cheltenham festival.Check in was quick and easy. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming throughout our entire stay. The rooms are spacious, clean and tidy. The WiFi has improved from last year and can now be accessed throughout the whole hotel without it dropping off. The bar service is excellent and would highly recommend the food to anyone staying here.Would like to thank Stavos and his staff for looking after us for food and drinks for the week. We will definitely be back to stay here next year!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kautostar001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Kautostar001,

Thank you for taking the time and effort to post a review here at Trip advisor. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are particularly pleased that you found our new Ruckus “fast and free” Wifi to be an improvement over the old system. We are constantly reinvesting in our product and the new system represents some of the best technology on the market.

Your kind comments have been passed on to Stamos and we very much forward to seeing you at next year's Cheltenham festival.


Warm regards

Chris Clifford
Ownership family
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

It was a last minute book that I did at this hotel but I am so glad I did. This place is a little peace of quiet away from the main drag but not that far from Swindon and the main road and motorway. Check in was quick and easy and the room absolutely gorgeous, clean tidy and beautifully decorated, just what was needed after a long day!

After a quick bath, it was time for pre-dinner drinks and the chap behind the bar was extremely pleasant and helpful and well turned out. The lady that showed us to our table ( I can't remember her name but she was a cracker!) looked after us superbly and chatted in a very friendly way. The food was superb and the wine complimented it fabulously.

The bed was so comfy that when my alarm call came at five I did not want to get up! Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone. the only negative would be that I didn't get time to enjoy the gym!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Michping,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion of Blunsdon House with all here at Trip advisor. It is gratifying to read that you enjoyed all of the various aspects of your stay and hopefully we can look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Until such a time, the Cybex treadmills will be waiting!

Kind regards

Chris Clifford
Ownership family
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We pre-booked for the Sunday carvery for yesterday.
We were shown to our table straight away dispite arriving early.
The food is all help yourself, from soups to salads, cold meats and fish to start.
Carvery meat was delicious, beef melted in your mounth, pork and turkey equally tasty, good quality meat.
Excellent choice of desserts, also chesse and biscuits with a good choice of different cheeses.
We will certainly be returning soon.
The service we recieved was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Pat P,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a complimentary review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us in Christopher's restaurant and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Chris Clifford
Ownership family
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Had a family room with bunk beds which was fine. Kids wanting to swim will enjoy the pool. We had to check out early and the staff were excellent over arrangements though it meant I can't really review the restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Groovytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Plenty of good things: Free wifi, Plenty of free parking, good restaurant, sensibly priced wines but also some things that weren't as good.
Check in was efficient. We were in the block away from the main hotel. The rooms were comfortable if a little overheated. There was a wet and windy walk back to the main building and restaurant. Dinner in the more expensive restaurant had good food and wine, pleasant service and it was not very crowded. Given the image I thought they were trying to convey the canned music was a bit unsuitable but not over loud. The other restaurant was a modestly priced carvery which was quite full but not in my view a place for a relaxing dinner. The bar was a nice place to sit and had a fearsome array of whiskeys to try.
On the second morning no paper was delivered because of a problem with their newsagent. They might have left a note or perhaps a note and substitute paper but instead I had to enquire and they took a "the newsagent didn't deliver what are we supposed to do" That may have been true but was not conducive to good relationships I felt. Still it was removed from the bill.
Breakfast was self service. They checked names and rooms very carefully. One would suspect from the procedure that they had hordes coming in off the street trying for an illicit free breakfast. On both occasions it was an effort to attract someone's eye to get tea and coffee although once successful it came quickly and it was the first hotel I've been in for a long time where the conveyor belt toaster was actually set correctly to produce real toast. The cooked breakfast had eggs missing unless you wanted scrambled eggs cool and congealed. When eggs were produced they rushed to cook them and served them medium rare.
There were plenty of facilities to go with the hotel (spa, par 3 golf course, woodland walk).

Room Tip: The rooms in the block away from the main hotel are the "superior" rooms. Check if that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy69Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blunsdon
7.1 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#5 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
4.1 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Pear Tree at Purton
The Pear Tree at Purton
#6 of 24 in Swindon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Property: Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Address: | The Ridge, Blunsdon, Swindon SN26 7AS, England (Formerly Best Western Plus Swindon Blunsdon House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Blunsdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blunsdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in extensive private grounds of 30 acres with stunning views across to the Vale of the White Horse and the Cotswold escarpment. This very comfortable 116 en-suite, 4 Star, family owned and run hotel offers two restaurants, three bars, air-conditioning and executive room upgrades available. With extensive leisure facilities including indoor pool, 9 hole Par 3 golf course, beauty salon and much more. We are an ideal hotel for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Swindon
Swindon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing