We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel let down by food and room cleanliness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blunsdon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good hotel let down by food and room cleanliness”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed here for a bridge weekend. Had been before, so know what to expect. The hotel mostly delivered what I expected. The rooms are nice, and it is mostly otherwise good.
However, unfortunately the dining experience left a bit to be desired. Where we sat there were structural beams around us, restricting space.
Also, the catering was not great. It was ok, but nothing special.
It was difficult to attract staff to order drinks with the meal.
Though the staff were pleasant enough (as they were all around the hotel).
My biggest disappointment was the cobwebs in my room. These were clearly visible from the minute I opened the door. Hence no excuse for them. Please make sure these are properly cleaned in future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MinkySpinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear MinkySpinky

Thank you for your second review of Blunsdon house, it was as always a privilege to welcome your party back to the hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your room and stay. We are sorry that you felt that the catering was not up to its normal standard and that it did not stand out, something that will soon be subject to major refurbishment and review.

We have passed your comments onto our head housekeeper relating to your bedroom, she was naturally disappointed. Our housekeepers are constantly thwarting the (exceptionally) industrious spiders of Blunsdon, please accept our apologies that one appears to slipped through the net on this occasion. We very much hope to see you again soon.


Kind regards

Chris Clifford
Ownership Family
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    197
    87
    19
    13
See reviews for
155
212
21
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed here on business a few times. The rooms are a good size and have nice amenities. TV is good quality and good size. I like the leisure facilities, which for the price of the hotel are a good standard. Breakfast was quite a standard affair but the letdown was the food. I have not eaten at the a la carte restaurant (put off by the carvery) but the carvery was really poor. If you stay here do not eat there, go to Swindon old town or cricklade where you can find a good selection of options. The hotel bar was good for watching the football and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotel_bed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Hotel_bed,

Thank you for your recent review of Blunsdon House. We are glad to read that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay, in particular the bedroom and supporting amenities. However we were disappointed to read that you did not enjoy our carvary restaurant, something which is normally very popular – please accept our apologies if this did not appeal to you. With your comments in mind you may be particularly pleased to learn however that it will soon be undergoing extensive refurbishment throughout August to be reborn as Flame, a new concept with a fantastic Josper grill! We do hope that you will have the opportunity to revisit us again soon.

Kind regards

Chris Clifford
Ownership Family
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

really enjoyed 3 days here we stayed in the pavilion and had very good views across the country side. rooms were big and very nice. i liked the big bathrooms . i enjoyed a few evenings in the bar and a Sunday evening meal in Christopher’s Carvery the food was very nice and filling .
breakfast was very good , staff polite and friendly , i could not fault this hotel , and i will be staying here again as i visit family in the area

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jay651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Jay651,

Thank you for the effort involved in posting a review here at Trip advisor and for it's content. We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your Pavilion bedroom and the food and service offered by our Carvary restaurant whilst at Blunsdon House. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit your family.

Kind regards

Chris Clifford
Ownership Family
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

For me the stay at this hotel ticked all the boxes (I stayed in a higher class room in 'The Pavilion'). A very large room, super fast WiFi and separate shower and bath. The staff were extremely welcoming and really appreciated what's important to a business traveler. I ordered room service was actually very good. I'll be back.

Room Tip: Go for a room in the Pavilion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globalexplorer_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Globalexplorer_Uk,

Thank you for taking the time and effort to review Blunsdon House Hotel. We are glad to see that you enjoyed you time with us and that we satisfied, on this occasion, your corporate needs. We hope to see you back again at Blunsdon soon.

Kind regards

Chris Clifford
Ownership Family
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

You'd think it was simple enough; an evening meal for 4 adults and an 11 year old. We wanted 5 Bar meals and some drinks, basic request? not at the Blunsdon House Hotel!

It was training day behind the bar, that was a bit unfair really, it appears to be 100% on the job training and both the staff and the customer suffer the difficulties of the learning curve, but we all have to learn.

Then a 40% failure on the meals adds to the service level disappointment, [that's 2 out of 5 by the way BHH]. We believe in fairness and credit where it is due, so the team in Carries Bar were trying their very hardest to get things right, they even made the effort to double check the food order and we could see that the screen was showing the correct items, the problem is the kitchen, attention to detail is dismal, care and presentation is dismal, quality and freshness not great, speed to replace and fix issues was SLOW!

Mid level duty management are complacent and unwilling to 'negotiate' a deal on the final bill to compensate and calm the situation; they're not empowered to actually manage anything it would appear.

We've given them too many chances, they clearly don't like their jobs and are not willing to admit defeat; please sack the chef and employ somebody that has lived a little and knows quality service when they experience it, it's all a bit amateur! It just feels like a sinking ship with no rudder that's running out of supplies in the galley!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Herb-Appeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Mr ARJH,

Thank you for expressing your opinion here at Trip advisor, no less than 50% of your entire review history to date. Naturally is it disappointing to receive criticism but it is particular hard to accept when presented from an anonymous source in such a vitriolic, petulant and sarcastic manner. We are not in the business of "admitting defeat" and nor is any successful business. We serve several thousand meals a week (and have done so for the last 54 years) to a very satisfied customer base, with an exceptional low complaint rate - something well reflected in all of our legitimate feedback mechanisms.

Our middle management team are without exception, experienced professional hoteliers who are empowered to make whatever decision they see fit at the time of complaint - a level of trust afforded to them well in excess of the industry standard. They can and will "negotiate" where appropriate, but will they not however respond to threats of poor review or heavy handed tactics or unjustified refund requests, as we believe is the case in this instance. If you wish to discuss this in a correct and proper manner then by all means please contact me directly at Chris.clifford@blunsdonhouse.co.uk.


Regards

Chris Clifford
Ownership Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England
Level Contributor
146 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at Blunsdon House hotel on four occasions and have always had a wonderful time. It is the exceptionally helpful and friendly staff who make this hotel so special, along with the comfortable rooms and good food.
We usually book a Pavilion room, they are spacious, with everything you need and have a little balcony with fantastic views over the golf course. We also like to eat in Tawney's where the food and service are very good.
Last week we were forced to cancel our booking at the last minute as my husband was taken into hospital and when I contacted the booking manager she was lovely - her only concern was about his health and there was no hint of a problem about their loss of business. Fortunately we found that we were able to rebook soon after and on arrival found that we had been upgraded to a fabulous suite, ' to help make up for what had happened' earlier in the week.
Needless to say we had another wonderful and relaxing time. We will definitely be returning and I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Diana014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Diana014,

Thank you once again for you great feedback here at Trip advisor. It is always a pleasure to host your party and we very much hope that your husband is recuperating swiftly. We are dedicated to our customers and will always do our best to "flex" with changes in circumstance. We were very glad to be able to accommodate you on this occasion and look forward to welcoming you back to Blunsdon again soon.

Warm regards

Chris Clifford
Ownership Family
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I stayed here on business for 1 evening, arrival was uneventful but as I had got there late thought I would get something to eat before retiring to bed. I had a ham & mustard sandwich which was ok but slightly fatty. When I got to my room it had the most awful smell, I would almost go to say it smelt like stale urine, on top of that I had a TV that didn't work. On top of that the cleanliness wasn't very good with hairs in the bed & a lot of dried skin & nails down by the bedside cabinet.
I called reception and a member of staff attended to mend the TV, which was due to a convoluted set up and no instructions, whilst he was there I mentioned the smell & he concurred that it was pretty bad, he said he would get air freshener (would have preferred a move), left & never returned!!
I opened a window and went to sleep, the next morning I fancied a coffee only to be presented with a complex & time consuming filter coffee system (I love fresh coffee but it has to be balanced with convenience).
Breakfast was ok, hot buffet but the room was an odd shape and they had strange grass displays placed around the area which just looked odd.
Good points, rooms are a very good size and generally well appointed), although feel very 80's as does the hotel generally.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soundbites30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Soundbites30,

Naturally we were disappointed to read the contents of your review, but would like to thank you for taking the time to share it. Your experience as detailed, is certainly not typical of what we offer at Blunsdon, something well reflected in the majority of our customer feedback.

I would greatly appreciate it if you could contact me directly at Chris.clifford@Blunsdonhouse.co.uk with some more specific details ( room number etc.) and I would be very happy to investigate and resolve the issues raised promptly.

Kind regards

Chris Clifford
Ownership Family
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blunsdon
7.1 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#5 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
4.1 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Pear Tree at Purton
The Pear Tree at Purton
#6 of 24 in Swindon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Property: Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Address: | The Ridge, Blunsdon, Swindon SN26 7AS, England (Formerly Best Western Plus Swindon Blunsdon House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Blunsdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blunsdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in extensive private grounds of 30 acres with stunning views across to the Vale of the White Horse and the Cotswold escarpment. This very comfortable 116 en-suite, 4 Star, family owned and run hotel offers two restaurants, three bars, air-conditioning and executive room upgrades available. With extensive leisure facilities including indoor pool, 9 hole Par 3 golf course, beauty salon and much more. We are an ideal hotel for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Swindon
Swindon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing