We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blunsdon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
2  Thank 178traceyc
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (705)
There are newer reviews for Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 705 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just back from a 2 night break at blunsdon house hotel with my wife and baby daughter very nice hotel , from the moment we checked in the reception lady was very helpful and made us feel welcome to moment we checked out everyone was very professional in there jobs and nothing seemed to much trouble great staff , we stayed in the pavilion rooms very spacious and well presented really nice grounds well looked after you get the feeling everyone loves working here we will definitely be back great value to

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank oggyoggy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Oggyoggy69,

Thank you for posting a complimentary review here at Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that you were able to relax with your new family. At Blunsdon we strive to look after our team as well as our customers, after all they are looking after the customers! It is very gratifying to read that you felt this approach was effective and that it was well reflected by the team during you stay. We have passed you comments on for general circulation and they were greatly appreciated.

We do hope that the next time you are on your travels we will be welcoming you back to Blunsdon.

Kind regards

Chris Clifford
Ownership Family
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed for 1 night while wife was working in swindon let in to room at 1.30 very comfortable good views of hills over golf course only 10 mins walk to dog track and then back to large sports bar at hotel staff very welcoming breakfast very good

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Billyballbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Billyballbag,

Thank you for your review of Blunsdon House. We are happy to note that you enjoyed your time with us, as a policy we will always expedite check-in wherever possible as we feel that it offers a little something extra for our guests. We hope that you had good luck at the track and that you will be visiting Blunsdon again soon.

Kind regards

Chris Clifford
Ownership Family
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My son booked this hotel at quite short notice for us to attend the Air Tattoo.
The hotel and surrounding area is really lovely. It makes you feel special. We occupied two rooms one which my son and grandson used were in the Pavilion building. They said the room was spacious and comfortable . I was on the third floor of the main building and was very pleased with the room. Lots of storage furniture made me wish I was staying longer instead of just one night. The bathroom area clean and well supplied with various products. The shower was just right. There is a coffee machine and a kettle which makes very nice coffee. Generous supplies of milk etc makes for a pleasant experience. We had a meal in the a la carte restaurant which was delicious. The service good and friendly despite being busy.

Room Tip: I understand that the Pavilion building is better than the main building but in my experience my roo...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank happimags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Happimags,

Wow! What a fantastic review, it is made all the better given your extensive travels to date – thank you! We are delighted to read your comments and have taken the liberty of sharing them with the whole team at Blunsdon. We do hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us again soon and until such a time wish you all the best.

Warm regards

Chris Clifford
Ownership Family
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Spent a night here for business meetings rather impersonal and not very welcoming - receptionists would rather chat to one another than the customers.
Food was very average ordered a salad for dinner which was a heap of leaves and sundried tomatoes not very appetising. Breakfast buffet was tired!

TV not working and discovered too late in the evening to rectify, room very hot with a noisy air on fan so not able to leave on all night.

Glad to get out into the car park for fresh air.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally&Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Sally&Phil,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We were very disappointed to read that you found the service impersonal, it is something we normally pride ourselves on and something well reflected in our customer feedback. Please accept our apologies for failing to meet your expectations on this occasion. For your future reference, a large proportion of our rooms air-conditioned rooms (which given the recent heat wave) may have better suited your needs. We also operate a 24 hour maintenance team who are available to fix minor issues like a TV at any time day or night, whenever reported. We do hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Regards

Chris Clifford
Ownership Family
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed here for a bridge weekend. Had been before, so know what to expect. The hotel mostly delivered what I expected. The rooms are nice, and it is mostly otherwise good.
However, unfortunately the dining experience left a bit to be desired. Where we sat there were structural beams around us, restricting space.
Also, the catering was not great. It was ok, but nothing special.
It was difficult to attract staff to order drinks with the meal.
Though the staff were pleasant enough (as they were all around the hotel).
My biggest disappointment was the cobwebs in my room. These were clearly visible from the minute I opened the door. Hence no excuse for them. Please make sure these are properly cleaned in future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MinkySpinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear MinkySpinky

Thank you for your second review of Blunsdon house, it was as always a privilege to welcome your party back to the hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your room and stay. We are sorry that you felt that the catering was not up to its normal standard and that it did not stand out, something that will soon be subject to major refurbishment and review.

We have passed your comments onto our head housekeeper relating to your bedroom, she was naturally disappointed. Our housekeepers are constantly thwarting the (exceptionally) industrious spiders of Blunsdon, please accept our apologies that one appears to slipped through the net on this occasion. We very much hope to see you again soon.


Kind regards

Chris Clifford
Ownership Family
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed here on business a few times. The rooms are a good size and have nice amenities. TV is good quality and good size. I like the leisure facilities, which for the price of the hotel are a good standard. Breakfast was quite a standard affair but the letdown was the food. I have not eaten at the a la carte restaurant (put off by the carvery) but the carvery was really poor. If you stay here do not eat there, go to Swindon old town or cricklade where you can find a good selection of options. The hotel bar was good for watching the football and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotel_bed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Hotel_bed,

Thank you for your recent review of Blunsdon House. We are glad to read that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay, in particular the bedroom and supporting amenities. However we were disappointed to read that you did not enjoy our carvary restaurant, something which is normally very popular – please accept our apologies if this did not appeal to you. With your comments in mind you may be particularly pleased to learn however that it will soon be undergoing extensive refurbishment throughout August to be reborn as Flame, a new concept with a fantastic Josper grill! We do hope that you will have the opportunity to revisit us again soon.

Kind regards

Chris Clifford
Ownership Family
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blunsdon
7.1 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,022 reviews
4.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 25 in Swindon
682 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#4 of 25 in Swindon
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 25 in Swindon
2,042 reviews
6.1 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,585 reviews
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Address: | The Ridge, Blunsdon, Swindon SN26 7AS, England (Formerly Best Western Plus Swindon Blunsdon House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Blunsdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blunsdon
Price Range: £78 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in extensive private grounds of 30 acres with stunning views across to the Vale of the White Horse and the Cotswold escarpment. This very comfortable 116 en-suite, 4 Star, family owned and run hotel offers two restaurants, three bars, air-conditioning and executive room upgrades available. With extensive leisure facilities including indoor pool, 9 hole Par 3 golf course, beauty salon and much more. We are an ideal hotel for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Swindon
Swindon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing