We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superlative!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blunsdon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superlative!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

A lovely time all round! The staff were friendly, the sports and leisure activities were excellent and the general atmosphere was relaxing- just what was needed! It's only a shame that bad weather prevented us from enjoying the golf course!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_Calgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear M_Calgar,

Thank you for taking the time to review Blunsdon House. We are delighted to read that your stay was excellent and please do take the time to revisit us the next time you are in the area - if the weather is better we would be delighted to treat you to a round of golf!

Warm regards

Chris Clifford
Ownership Family
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    193
    84
    18
    13
See reviews for
154
211
19
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We arrived at Blunsdon House for a Friday night get away on the DBB deal.
We were immediately given an upgrade to an Executive room thanks to our Best Western Rewards card. Our room was immaculately kept and the balcony and view over the Cotswolds was just perfect to wake up to.
The restaurant that we should have been booked into was closed for renovation and Grace on reception very kindly made arrangements for us to be booked into the a la carte restaurant instead. Food and service (thank you Maureen & David) was first class as was breakfast the next morning.
Just down the corridor from the charming and characterful Whiskey Bar was a small alcove with lots of old photos and press cuttings regarding the hotels 50 years or so history. It was interesting to read just how many of the staff had over 20 years experience at the hotel.
The Hotel has somehow managed to evolve over the last 50+ years into quite a large hotel offering many services and amenities that you would expect from a 5 star hotel but has lost none of the charm and personal touches that you expect from a small family run establishment.
Well done Blunsdon House Hotel, you are doing everything right and I have no fear that you will be running a very successful business for the next 50 years and more!!

Room Tip: Executive Rooms with balconies have amazing views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theginger0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear thegingerone

Thank you for sharing your experience of Blunsdon House with the wider world here at Trip advisor. Wow! What a lovely review, it is very rewarding to receive such high praise from one of our customers. Indeed we have taken the rare step of sharing your comments with the founder of the hotel, Mr Peter Clifford (who is well into his 90's) this morning, he was utterly delighted with its contents.

With your comments in mind we trust that we will see you again at Blunsdon soon and until such a time wish you safe travels.

Warm regards

Chris Clifford
Ownership Family
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel on Fri 8th & Sat 9th August 2014....Never Again!!

Arrival,
On arrival the Hotel looked lovely and very welcoming.... then came Check In and staff more into cleaning the brass & the fact they love the smell of Brasso....very professional around customers....NOT!!

Pavilion Room,
We upgraded due to comments of views across the Cotswolds & Golf Course....we got the car park (opposite side from the great views).
The room was very large with a huge bathroom but the beds were soft, very soft. I see why they have twin beds pushed together....to stop you rolling into the middle.
There was enough storage for a long stay but the furniture and carpet looked dated.

Leisure Facilities,
A nice small pool with Jacuzzi in the main area with a sauna & steam room in each changing room.
There was a weight based room & a cardio based room.

Outdoor Facilities,
9 hole golf course looked well maintained, as did the tennis court. The woodland walk was nice but a few area needed a bit of cutting back.

The Carvery,
Oh yeah this was closed for a refurb & the Tawny restaurant advertised itself as £30 per person before wine....yep had to go and eat elsewhere!!!
So no £15 per head Carvery, and we weren't informed when booking.

Breakfast,
I don't know how to put this into words....A bit like a rudderless ship, nobody in control & no direction!!!

Saturday full English, cold hash browns, cold fried eggs & cold bacon. Sausages were nice (yeah), I used the baked beans to warm everything up and there was no black pudding.
Ran out of pastries & some cereal, not in any rush to replenish!!

Sunday, the hotel had an extra coach trip of 70, a wedding party & some other large groups but no extra staff from the Saturday.
The result on arriving at the restaurant: No fried breakfast other than bacon & beans, no juices, no milk for cereal, 10 min wait for tea, coffee or toast.
I asked the chef for some warm fried eggs, hash browns & black pudding. I was told that she had just put some eggs & hash browns out but will cook me some black pudding. When the black pudding arrived there was no hash browns or fried eggs.

Having worked front of house & as a chef, I was very surprised that a four star hotel couldn't cope with serving breakfast.
Bringing out 6 fried eggs, 20 hash browns & 10 sausages to a queue of about 8-12 people was a waste of time.

I did attempt to complain to reception but all I got was "I'm sorry your stay wasn't as you envisaged!!"....

Mr Thomas, Room 373.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pompey_Gav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Pompey_Gav,

We are sorry to read your review and that you did not enjoy your stay with us at Blunsdon. Reading through your comments we see that you felt the facilities were tidy and well maintained, although evidently breakfast was the crux of the issue for which we would like to offer our apologies. We would like to respond to your comments as follows.

The hotel is routinely and thoroughly cleaned, a porter cleaning brass throughout the day however has no bearing on reception or the check in-process but please accept if you found the smell unpleasant, many do not.

The pavilion consists of 48 executive bedrooms, of which 40 of them have panoramic views of the surrounding Cotswolds. Furthermore the balconies of all of the rooms, including 373 are angled to make the most of the views something well reflected in the photography on this site. We would have been delighted to cater to any request, had one been made conversely we find it difficult to accept criticism based on incorrect assumptions. The beds within are King-size zip & link twins, an industry standard and we only use the very best Hypnos mattresses all of which are regularly checked, rotated and replaced as necessary. Although we do accept mattress comfort is highly subjective.

Christopher's carvary is currently closed for a £500,000 major refit and will be reborn as Flame, a char grill restaurant with a Josper oven. After serving just over a million meals to satisfied customers over the last 13 years this refit represents a major and very welcome investment to the property and one that will be greatly beneficial to our customers. We have gone to great lengths to communicate this process, our telephone operators have been briefed and are consistently relaying it, it has been published on our social media sites, in the local newspaper and extensively throughout the premises itself. This information is widely available in the public domain. As noted by another recent review, - we are providing alternative dining options to people including a large bar menu (with many main course dishes around £10) and a full a la carte menu in Tawny's restaurant – these steps alone exceed what many of our competitors offer on a regular full basis. If you chose to eat elsewhere, it was precisely that a choice, not as you have portrayed, a forced necessity.

The problems experienced at breakfast stemmed largely from a logistical one and were not, as suggested due to a lack of staff. Over the weekend 9th August we were accommodating 190 people, with no less that 30 families. Our main restaurant (Christopher's) seats 160 people, whilst Tawny's seats 80. We laid an additional 30 breakfast seats in the bar area to supplement these. With the ongoing refurbishment we are pushed for space, particularly when no less that 85% of our guests arrived within 20 minutes of each other, at the end of service.

Given your hotel experience it should be no surprise to you that on very rare occasions, even in the best operations and despite all best laid plans things occasionally go wrong. We are doing our very best to manage a tricky situation and thankfully the huge proportion of our customers have been very understanding. We are glad to see however that a duty manager was on hand to address your concerns and apologise at the time. Something that given the situation was entirely appropriate, evidently someone was at the rudder after all.

We always regret a customer complaint, particularly when a customer feels it warrants non-return. However given the steps we have already taken and the nature of some of your comments it is hard to see what else we could have done in this instance. Please be reassured that we are doing everything within our power to manage the ongoing refurbishment, which will be completed in early September. Should you wish to reconsider your position please contact me at Chris.Clifford@blunsdonhouse.co.uk and I would be very happy to take steps to ensure an enjoyable return.

Regards

Chris Clifford
Ownership Family
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

The staff at the hotel were just fantastic. They were so helpful and went above and beyond to ensure that we were well looked after. It had such a homey feel but with all the services of a hotel. Beds and pillows are comfy and the hotel was clean. Highly recommend.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Julie R,

Thank you for your kind words and complimentary review here at Trip advisor. We are glad to read that you enjoyed you stay with us and that everything met with you approval. We do hope that we can now count you as a loyal customer and welcome you back to Blunsdon soon.

Kind regards

Chris Clifford
Ownership family
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanarmon-yn-Ial, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is the second time I have stayed here, My husband comes to Swindon on business. This time he had booked and hadn't asked for an executive room, so I was slightly concerned, however the room in the main building was fine. It was a large corner room, very spacious, with a settee and two chairs and coffee table, plus desk, TV etc.. the bed linen has been upgraded since my last visit, about two years ago, and looks much more contemporary. There does seem to be some upgrading going into the hotel, which is good to see as it is in a lovely setting. while we staying, a heat wave was in progress, so the room was very hot, our room did not have aircon, although thankfully there was a tower fan, which prevented it from being too unbearable. I have started taking from home a flat sheet to use instead of a duvet as no hotels in the UK seem to provide them, sadly. I slept well considering the heat, the bed was very comfortable.
The bathroom was small, not room for two people, unless one was in the shower or bath, but the shower was really good, great pressure.

The first day, while my husband went to work, I had a relaxing day reading on the patio area undispersed with a woodland walk around the grounds of the hotel, a hot stones back massage, lunch, followed by a walk round the village and more reading. Our room was not cleaned until after midday, but this could have been because I had mentioned to one of the housekeeping staff that I would be in and out of the room all day.

We ate in the carvery, which was fine, I couldn't really see what other people were complaining about in earlier reviews. The Carvery is going to be closed for a few weeks in August while a big revamp will be taking place, but it seems that arrangements will be made for diners. I look forward to seeing it when it is completed.

I found the staff all very friendly and courteous during our stay. I would be happy to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Llanarmonlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear LixwmLass,

Thank your for such a comprehensive review of Blunsdon House. We are glad that you enjoyed your first of hopefully many return visits. It is particularly pleasing to note that you noticed the investment programme we are currently undertaking across the property. Blunsdon House is family owned and has been since its inception in 1960 (my grandfather) because it is basically our home, as well as business we go to great lengths to maintain the property and fervently believe in constant reinvestment.

With this in mind, we have recently replaced all of the bed linen - with finest Egyptian cotton sheets and duvets. We have also constructed a sun terrace for our customer enjoyment. Throughout |August we will also be undertaking a major (£500,000) refit of Christopher's restaurant which should modernise it significantly and hopefully allow us to continue to exceed our customers expectations. As you correctly observe we have taken steps to minimise disruption to our customers as the work proceeds.

We sincerely hope that the next time your husband is on business you will stay with us again and hopefully have the opportunity to enjoy our ongoing improvements. Until such a time we wish you the very best.

Kind regards

Chris Clifford
Ownership family
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Just back from a 2 night break at blunsdon house hotel with my wife and baby daughter very nice hotel , from the moment we checked in the reception lady was very helpful and made us feel welcome to moment we checked out everyone was very professional in there jobs and nothing seemed to much trouble great staff , we stayed in the pavilion rooms very spacious and well presented really nice grounds well looked after you get the feeling everyone loves working here we will definitely be back great value to

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank oggyoggy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blunsdon, Owner at Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Oggyoggy69,

Thank you for posting a complimentary review here at Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that you were able to relax with your new family. At Blunsdon we strive to look after our team as well as our customers, after all they are looking after the customers! It is very gratifying to read that you felt this approach was effective and that it was well reflected by the team during you stay. We have passed you comments on for general circulation and they were greatly appreciated.

We do hope that the next time you are on your travels we will be welcoming you back to Blunsdon.

Kind regards

Chris Clifford
Ownership Family
For Blunsdon House Hotel Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blunsdon
7.1 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
911 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#6 of 24 in Swindon
665 reviews
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 24 in Swindon
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
634 reviews
4.1 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
1,700 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Pear Tree at Purton
The Pear Tree at Purton
#5 of 24 in Swindon
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Property: Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Address: | The Ridge, Blunsdon, Swindon SN26 7AS, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Swindon Blunsdon House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Blunsdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blunsdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in extensive private grounds of 30 acres with stunning views across to the Vale of the White Horse and the Cotswold escarpment. This very comfortable 116 en-suite, 4 Star, family owned and run hotel offers two restaurants, three bars, air-conditioning and executive room upgrades available. With extensive leisure facilities including indoor pool, 9 hole Par 3 golf course, beauty salon and much more. We are an ideal hotel for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Swindon
Swindon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing