We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not brilliant value for New Year's Eve stay - disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blunsdon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not brilliant value for New Year's Eve stay - disappointing”
Reviewed 11 January 2011

The hotel is somewhat hyped up in the literature but a disappointment in reality. We stayed there over New Year for 3 nights, and to be honest, the celebrations were a little bit flat. They managed to conjure up party hats at the NY Eve meal, but the food was pretty much the same as the other two nights (glorified Toby carvery in Christopher's restaurant) and not much effort was put in to the meal side of things. The disco was OK, but again, could have been any old disco. Best part was the room in the Pavillion building which was very good (and peaceful). We had stayed in a hotel in Kikby Lonsdale (Whoop Hall) the previous New Year and the food there was excellent compared with this one - they really put an effort into the celebrations with fireworks afterwards, and it was cheaper there. Service in the restaurant was slow at this hotel and they left dirty plates on your table whilst you were having the next courses - not good. Overall disappointing and would not recommend if you want to go somewhere special - OK as a run of the mill place though.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjohnstone186298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    198
    87
    19
    13
See reviews for
157
212
21
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2010

Stayed at this hotel for a business meeting (combined with a Christmas party night) - had a room in the Spa part of the hotel (excellent free upgrade) - carvery lunch (first class) - meeting room (good) - Party night DJ (Very good) - only very minor negatives - A/C in room didn't turn down (could only turn it off) & room was very hot - and food for party night was typical mass produced fayre (with only one choice) - That aside the two lady barstaff at lunchtime were great & this is a very good hotel

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColonelSande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

We wanted a hotel central to places we planned to visit with our grandchildren. The hotel is in the countryside...beautiful views. It has it's own golf course, tennis court, indoor pool and leisure centre. It is within an easy drive of most attractions in southern England....Stonehenge, Cheddar Gorge, Legoland, New Forest ect. The hotel has two restaurants and a bar lounge with games area. Food is available all day in the lounge. The bedrooms also had an unending supply of coffee, tea, hot chocolate and cookies! The staff were all so friendly and helpful. This is a true family hotel with the original family still running it! Check out their web site.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeerDeerOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2010

My wife and i have just returned from a lovely weekend break at this hotel. We just wanted to get away to recharge our batteries. What we look for is a nice room and bathroom. comfortable bed and good food, attentive staff. We want to get up in the morning having had a good nights sleep ready for the day ahead. We got all of these things at this hotel.
We stayed in one of the pavilion executive rooms which we found very comfortable. the bed was excellent and we both had a good nights sleep on the 2 nights we stopped. The bathroom was massive with large bath and walk in shower.
On our first night we went into Christopher's carvery where we had a lovely meal, beef and pork were on the menu and a nice bottle of wine.
The following night we had a bar snack in Carrie's and the pizza was home made with large pieces of chicken salmi and bacon on. One of the best pizzas i have had.Breakfasts were just what you needed to set you up for the day. There was enough choice to suit everyone.
Staff at the hotel were attentive throughout our stay.
Thank you Blunsdon House Hotel for our stay which was most enjoyable and we certainly recharged our batteries.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul and Tammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

would reccomend this place very relaxing
breakfast was buffet
dinner was buffet
rooms for very large and we had an upgrade due to the fact we have a best western reward card.
had a balcony looking over golf course.
would reccomend the nature trail back of hotel a mile long but nice after having lunch then going to the indoor pool and the jacuzzi then off to the nature walk.
hubby loved it as a suprise as we do on our burthdays.
would reccomend best western hotels as they are so welcoming.
staying at another 12th november visitng family in sunderland.

The room also had shower in the bath and a walk in shower and also tea making facilities and a coffee making machine and a flat screen tv

Also would reccomend the boot dale across the road on the sunday and then went off to the old railyway musuem very interesting

when going the postcode takes you to town centre so make sure print off the address as the sat nav dont take you to hotel which was a bit of pain so lucily we followed the paperwork after.

Barry and jackie

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bajjaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Rooms where really lovely. Food was delicious, full tummy at breakfast and dinner. Good choice buffet style. Leisure facilities excellent. But if you go for a swim beware pool suddenly deepens with sharp slope. Staff really friendly and helpful. I think this hotel deserves another star.!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in August on our way home from 2 weeks in Cornwall. Room was great with bunkbeds for the children and balcony to sit out in.
Leisure facilities were good and breakfast great. Bar food very generous portions. A very family friendly hotel. The outstanding thing about this hotel was the exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. Good location for some interesting sites, i.e white horse

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lag111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blunsdon
7.1 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
956 reviews
4.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
652 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#4 of 24 in Swindon
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#9 of 24 in Swindon
1,841 reviews
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
1,437 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Pear Tree at Purton
The Pear Tree at Purton
#6 of 24 in Swindon
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Property: Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Address: | The Ridge, Blunsdon, Swindon SN26 7AS, England (Formerly Best Western Plus Swindon Blunsdon House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Blunsdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blunsdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in extensive private grounds of 30 acres with stunning views across to the Vale of the White Horse and the Cotswold escarpment. This very comfortable 116 en-suite, 4 Star, family owned and run hotel offers two restaurants, three bars, air-conditioning and executive room upgrades available. With extensive leisure facilities including indoor pool, 9 hole Par 3 golf course, beauty salon and much more. We are an ideal hotel for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Swindon
Swindon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing