We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blunsdon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 25 January 2011

From the moment we arrived the whole experience was great. Firstly we arrived just after 9pm and wanted to eat in the Christopher Cavery, although it closed at 9 they allowed us to enter the restaurant and have a meal. The chef could not have been more friendly and kept saying that there was no need to rush. The room we had was large, clean and in very good condition. The breakfast on both day we were there was plentiful hot and well cooked. All in all I would return to this hotel and also recommend it to friends. Well done

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CardiffTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

649 - 655 of 729 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2011

Our second xmas spent at this hotel having enjoyed it so much last year and we were not disappointed. Travelled with family members ages ranging from 8 months to 82 years and we all want to thank everyone at the hotel for a great time. Staff are friendly and attentive, great choice of food and plenty of it, bedrooms in main hotel all a good standard. Nice touch meeting the owners and staff on the xmas eve, midnight mass at the local church followed by coffee sat round the fire on our return..This hotel is family owned and it shows nothing is too much trouble and they take pride in what they deliver, even down to a personal gift for everyone delivered by Father Christmas of course. Enjoyed the woodland walk around the hotel and a swim on Boxing Day, we felt totally at home at this hotel.....so thank you to everyone at the Blunsdon House, we think some of these 5 star hotels could learn a lot from you, and we will be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BristolDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

The hotel is somewhat hyped up in the literature but a disappointment in reality. We stayed there over New Year for 3 nights, and to be honest, the celebrations were a little bit flat. They managed to conjure up party hats at the NY Eve meal, but the food was pretty much the same as the other two nights (glorified Toby carvery in Christopher's restaurant) and not much effort was put in to the meal side of things. The disco was OK, but again, could have been any old disco. Best part was the room in the Pavillion building which was very good (and peaceful). We had stayed in a hotel in Kikby Lonsdale (Whoop Hall) the previous New Year and the food there was excellent compared with this one - they really put an effort into the celebrations with fireworks afterwards, and it was cheaper there. Service in the restaurant was slow at this hotel and they left dirty plates on your table whilst you were having the next courses - not good. Overall disappointing and would not recommend if you want to go somewhere special - OK as a run of the mill place though.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjohnstone186298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2010

Stayed at this hotel for a business meeting (combined with a Christmas party night) - had a room in the Spa part of the hotel (excellent free upgrade) - carvery lunch (first class) - meeting room (good) - Party night DJ (Very good) - only very minor negatives - A/C in room didn't turn down (could only turn it off) & room was very hot - and food for party night was typical mass produced fayre (with only one choice) - That aside the two lady barstaff at lunchtime were great & this is a very good hotel

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColonelSande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

We wanted a hotel central to places we planned to visit with our grandchildren. The hotel is in the countryside...beautiful views. It has it's own golf course, tennis court, indoor pool and leisure centre. It is within an easy drive of most attractions in southern England....Stonehenge, Cheddar Gorge, Legoland, New Forest ect. The hotel has two restaurants and a bar lounge with games area. Food is available all day in the lounge. The bedrooms also had an unending supply of coffee, tea, hot chocolate and cookies! The staff were all so friendly and helpful. This is a true family hotel with the original family still running it! Check out their web site.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeerDeerOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

would reccomend this place very relaxing
breakfast was buffet
dinner was buffet
rooms for very large and we had an upgrade due to the fact we have a best western reward card.
had a balcony looking over golf course.
would reccomend the nature trail back of hotel a mile long but nice after having lunch then going to the indoor pool and the jacuzzi then off to the nature walk.
hubby loved it as a suprise as we do on our burthdays.
would reccomend best western hotels as they are so welcoming.
staying at another 12th november visitng family in sunderland.

The room also had shower in the bath and a walk in shower and also tea making facilities and a coffee making machine and a flat screen tv

Also would reccomend the boot dale across the road on the sunday and then went off to the old railyway musuem very interesting

when going the postcode takes you to town centre so make sure print off the address as the sat nav dont take you to hotel which was a bit of pain so lucily we followed the paperwork after.

Barry and jackie

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bajjaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Rooms where really lovely. Food was delicious, full tummy at breakfast and dinner. Good choice buffet style. Leisure facilities excellent. But if you go for a swim beware pool suddenly deepens with sharp slope. Staff really friendly and helpful. I think this hotel deserves another star.!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blunsdon
2.1 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#2 of 25 in Swindon
821 reviews
4.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#10 of 25 in Swindon
716 reviews
7.1 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
4.1 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#7 of 25 in Swindon
2,279 reviews
4 mi away
Cricklade House
Cricklade House
#1 of 1 in Cricklade
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Address: | The Ridge, Blunsdon, Swindon SN26 7AS, England (Formerly Best Western Plus Swindon Blunsdon House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Blunsdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blunsdon
Price Range: £68 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in extensive private grounds of 30 acres with stunning views across to the Vale of the White Horse and the Cotswold escarpment. This very comfortable 116 en-suite, 4 Star, family owned and run hotel offers two restaurants, three bars, air-conditioning and executive room upgrades available. With extensive leisure facilities including indoor pool, 9 hole Par 3 golf course, beauty salon and much more. We are an ideal hotel for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Swindon
Swindon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing