We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reasonable food but expensive”
Review of Canadian Fields

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canadian Fields
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Went for Sunday Lunch after reading the price on the web. Surprised to find no "Sunday Lunch"
but a menu with individual dishes at double the advertised figure. Some of us opted for the Pork
which was good.The beef was nice and rare but unfortunately very tough. Vegetables were good and as we had Yorkshires as a starter we could not manage any of the sweets. With starters at a minimum 3.20, mains about 9.00 and desserts at about 5.00 we did not think this was great valley.
A different experience eating in a tepee. Staff young but a bit inexperienced-served the men first
at each course.

Room Tip: For Sunday Lunch try The FEathers at Helmsley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Martyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

Just spent the night in our own Tent on the Canadian Fields Site. Firstly trying to find it was a chore but we got there eventually. First impressions mean a lot and the first thing we found was a smilling face and a very clean environment. We were the only tent on the Site so a peaceful night was on the cards. We did not use the restaurant but the comings and goings gave us the impression that it was a popular place. The facilities a great with all you need including washing machines. I wish the owners the best of luck and success with this veture.

Room Tip: Look out for the Wigwams from the main road for the location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I visited Candian Fields a few weeks ago with a couple of friends. We knew in was a new set up and the word was spreading quickly of how fabulous it was so wanted to test it out.
The weather was terrible and I feared that eating in a teepee maybe wasn't the best idea, however was soon to realise it's a great set up and very cosy inside! The teepee is surprisingly bigger than expected but well furnished. The food was excellent and reasonably priced. We'd gone along on 'pie night' so there was a choice of 3 pies, the portions were very satisfying and the meal only cost £5! I couldn't believe how busy the restaurant was so would advise booking in advance to avoid disappointment.
To end the evening, upon request the waitress kindly showed us around one of the available glamping tents. It was extremely cute inside- I really hope to be able to return again in summer!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BethCol94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

.....wasnt a glamping customer but ate in the teepee restaurant last nite... The food was outstanding .. Atmosphere ambient & staff really friendly& helpful...though they were busy the gap between courses was just right& everyones courses amazing...presentation was a feast for the eyes..well done CF ! Good luck!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank henryMC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Went for dinner here on pie night. It was a great experience to eat in the tipee restaurant, surprisingly spacious compared to my initial thought from the outside, and very nicely decorated inside. The food was top quality and because it was pie night it was really cheap. Very satisfying portions and all round a great night

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John_sbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed here in October 2013 but it wasn't listed on Tripadvisor so I couldn't write a review.
We only live two miles away but we wanted some peaceful relaxing time away from kids,pets and everyday life ! The accommodation was spotless, huge , well appointed and really comfortable. On arrival there was a plate of sandwiches and scones waiting for us in the fridge , delicious and a real welcome surprise and thoughtful touch.
The shower block was brand new , spotless and the water was hot . The surrounding areas were tidy and well kept. Apart from the occasionally honk from a goose or a chicken cluck , it was a real peaceful and tranquil setting.
Absolutely great value and a really lovely weekend . Fantastic !

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helmsleysxboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at this site on Good Friday. We had not booked anywhere to stay and at 6:30pm we called Canadian Fields who were happy for us to turn up without booking. The pitch was super cheap at £15 on a bank holiday weekend. The staff were friendly and helpful and the reception had a very small food selection for essential buys. The tent camping area is an area where you can pitch up wherever you like. The shower and toilets (3 of each which are unisex) are clean, tidy and warm, some of the nicest facilities I have had on a camp site. The showers could have been more powerful and more direct but they were good enough for the job. The site appears to have 4 or 5 large “glamping tents” and a tepee dining area. We did not get to use either but they looked great and I would definitely go back to give them a try.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHoward83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nawton
2.8 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
2.7 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,672 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
411 reviews
4.2 mi away
Royal Oak Inn
Royal Oak Inn
#1 of 2 in Gillamoor
201 reviews
0.7 mi away
Plumpton Court
Plumpton Court
#1 of 2 in Nawton
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadian Fields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadian Fields

Address: Canadian Fields Gale Lane, Nawton, Helmsley YO62 7SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley > Nawton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Nawton
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ryedale's premier glamping and restaurant experience!!! Safari tents each sleep 6-8 people with their own log burning stove to keep you cosy and warm; comfy beds, living area, kitchenette, each have their own toilet and shower. We provide your bed linen, towels and logs. Gi Sukawaka Restaurant is in a tepee so dining with a difference with a fully licensed bar. We also have pitches if you want to bring your own tent; electric and none electric pitches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Canadian Fields reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing