We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful tribute to devasting part of history”

Musee de Sachsenhausen
Book In Advance
More Info
US$19.94*
and up
Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin
More Info
US$19.94*
and up
Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour
More Info
US$68.04*
and up
Private Tour: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp from Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful tribute to devasting part of history”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We visited this as part of a free tour provided by the museum, meeting at the Potsdamer Platz at 10:20 on Sunday. (www.stiftung-bg.de and click on the visitor service tab). Our guide Robert was great, starting with a more interesting walk to the site than others got. His 2hr tour picked out the highlights - if you can call them that. This museum is tastefully done. It's a devastingly sad place. The exhibits are extensive and we spent another few hours here after Robert had finished his tour. He was very knowledgable. You could easily spend a whole day here, highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Jollygoodtimes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    91
    12
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tour with Sandemans”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We chose to visit Sachsenhausen with Sandemans as their free walking tour of Berlin was fantastic. The tour cost €15 plus the cost of an ABC travel card which I think is very reasonable. The entire trip is very well organised and Seb, originally from Madrid and then the UK, was a very good and informative guide.

I would recommend visiting with a guide, as the majority of what I learnt came from Seb. This does restrict your time at the camp, but you get a good overview of what happened here and all the main points of interest are covered. If you went alone, you could spend days looking at and reading every exhibit, so Sandeman's do well to compact it. The freezing temperature certainly contributed to the impact it can have on visitors, I find it impossible to imagine the suffering.

I hadn't visited a concentration camp memorial before, Sachsenhausen was a good introduction to the topic.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GemmaCaselton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Thought Provoking”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Rob our tour guide was fantastic! he was able to give a great insight into the whole campaign of the nazis, there rise to power, how they did it manipulating the thoughts of the German people and their control of the concentration camp. A very emotional experience and leaves you asking a lot of questions about the human state of mind.Fantastic tour, could not recommend enough

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Boston942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“No puches pulled”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Having managed to pay my respects at various sites of this or similar nature around the world, our visit here was not expected to be as rewarding nor revealing. Given that this is a short distance North of the German capital Berlin, I frankly was not expecting the German presentation to be as hard on itself as it was. And I commend them for doing so.
Sadly the former East German government cleared much of the site of its buildings, but this does little to reduce the enormity of what went on here as the Nazi's learned and perfected their shocking ways well before the commencement of WWII. The museums do not hold back and a visit here will not disappoint.
Certainly take on the portable audio guide which is very thorough and informative throughout. To take on board every aspect and exhibit would take days, but I strongly suggest setting aside a full day for a visit to this remarkable expose of the Nazi horrors - and on their home soil.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank croftbarntone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A must-see place!”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Sachsenhausen concentration camp is a must-see place. If you are interested in history and the way people were treated, you must visit Sachsenhausen. Be sure to go there with a tour guide as the place is quite big and it is much better if there is someone to talk you through the history of the camp, rather than trying to read all signs.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SusiePencheva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Musee de Sachsenhausen also viewed

 

Been to Musee de Sachsenhausen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing