We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reunion of Germany based staff”
Review of Ruthmann Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ruthmann Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oestrich-Winkel
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We selected this hotel to accommodate a group of ex- colleagues from the UK and Germany, who had worked together in the 1970s and 1980s. We were basically satisfied with the accommodation although at €92 for a double room, it was rather expensive, we thought. The food served in the restaurant was ok, perhaps a little basic and again expensive for what it was. We had two evening meals there. The breakfast was very good. There was a good choice of rolls, bread, meats and cheeses to choose from.

Our biggest disappointment and indeed an annoyance was experienced on the evening of Saturday 24th May. Having just eaten our evening meal together in the hotel restaurant, we were a group of about 8 or 9 friends who were enjoying each other's company after not seeing each other for some time. At about 10 pm the waiter asked if he could cash up and we duly paid for our meals and drinks already had. Imagine our surprise and disappointment when we asked to order some more drinks a bit later and were advised that as everything had been finalised, we could not have any more drinks! So we sat there for a further hour or so without any drinks but still enjoying a good chat. Imagine then our complete surprise when Herr Vahle, the hotel owner approached the group at about 11:20 pm and politely asked us to draw our very pleasant gathering to a conclusion because he needed to lock up the hotel and go to bed. At this time I would emphasise that with the exception of one ex-colleague, we were all hotel residents. We were amazed about this poor service. This is supposed to be a hotel, not a guest house. The owner displayed a remarkable lack of business acumen. He deprived himself of the chance to sell several more drinks that evening to a lively but very well-behaved party (all over 60 yrs old). So the group broke up and we went to bed. It seemed all rather unsatisfactory. It deprived us of the chance to spend even more precious moments together. I have never experienced anything like this in a German hotel before. Our German ex-colleagues were as amazed as we were. Maybe the hotels along the Rhine have a different idea of "Gastfreundschaft" to what we have always been used to. Maybe because of the attractions of the beautiful Rhine valley, hotel owners in this area do not have to try so hard to accommodate their guests' wishes. Anyway we will certainly not be returning to this hotel and I certainly would not recommend it for the purposes of a group reunion or for when a group of guests wish to sit together reasonably late into the evening. This attitude for a modern hotel was totally unacceptable.

Bryn King - 28th May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for Ruthmann Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

we came as a large family group - ten of us aged 5 - 85 - for a family celebration in Oestrich-Winkel. We had a terrific stay. The owner Wilfried was very friendly and helpful - he even sent back the bag we left there by mistake. It is a lovely quiet town with some brilliant places to buy wine.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

My friends and I were embraced as guests. The beds were comfortable, the hotel quality was excellent, breakfast was delicious and ample, and the location was perfect. I will stay @ Ruthman Rheinblick again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda_USA_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Value for money here. Good rooms with bathrooms down the hall (no problems.) Dining room was excellent and the view of the Rhine from dining room was magic! Staff really tops. Close to Rudesheim which is a good spot to visit. Cable cars nearby and chance of a Rhine cruise.

Room Tip: Make sure you have breakfast in the dining room and choose a table near the huge windows. Sorry this...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keasty446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We were a group of 8 people that visted the Rheingau to sample the wonderful Riesling of the area!
The hotel is really stuck in an era long past. The hotel was very clean, breakfast was plentiful, however the reception and entrance area is seriously outdated. The rooms are modernish, en suite bathrooms very clean and new, however with a tiny shower.

Room Tip: get a room with an ensuite bathroom
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MaasGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We had a great stay at this hotel - the owner and family are very kind, and he actually came to pick us up when we arrived in town on foot (after hiking all day in hot weather, and I had an injured foot).

The room was very nice and clean, and we had a beautiful view of the vineyard in front and the Rhine beyond. Very tasty breakfast also.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank toad55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

As an external doctoral student at the EBS, I was looking for a hotel close to EBS campus and with good service for a good price. I've been staying at Ruthmann during my lectures over the last year and was always happy with my choice. The hotel offers a range of rooms from very basic (important for price-sensitive customers) to sophisticated. All rooms and bathrooms are extremely clean and tidy and have good beds. The hotel has a restaurant where one can start a day with a good breakfast or finish a day with a nice dinner (dinner portions are really big). The personnel and the owner's family are very friendly and have always made my stay at Ruthmann a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheburashka123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oestrich-Winkel
1.9 mi away
Relais & Chateaux Hotel Burg Schwarzenstein
2.1 mi away
Kronenschlosschen Hotel & Restaurant
2.0 mi away
Weinhaus Zum Krug
Weinhaus Zum Krug
#1 of 2 in Hattenheim
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hotel Ruppert
Hotel Ruppert
#1 of 1 in Walluf
23 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Neugebauer
3.7 mi away
Park-Hotel Tillmanns
Park-Hotel Tillmanns
#4 of 8 in Eltville am Rhein
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruthmann Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruthmann Hotel

Address: Rheingaustr. 109, 65375 Oestrich-Winkel, Hesse, Germany
Region: Germany > Hesse > Oestrich-Winkel
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oestrich-Winkel
Price Range: £50 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ruthmann Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ruthmann Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing