We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Naturkost-Hotel Harz
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Bad Grund
Reviewed 28 May 2010

Stayed in the vacation apt for 3 nights - quite roomy with one large room with dining table, kitchen and "European" double bed and bedroom with another same sized bed. Bathroom must have been an afterthought - it was so small you had to sit sideways on the toilet because the front of it was a mere 6 inches or so from the wall. Clean enough, breakfast was fine - plenty of cold cuts, rolls, etc. There is a heated pool, tanning bed and sauna. If you find yourself in this tiny corner of Germany, this hotel is a perfectly fine option. Internet only worked in hallway of apt, but at least they had wireless.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank mikesluckywife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2008

I made my reservation through expedia and as we are a family of 4 I had to pay to upgrade to a double comfort room and pay a surcharge for my eldest child to give us 2 double beds as Expedia wouldn't allow us to book a normal double room.

On arrival at this very dismal looking hotel we were told they have no comfort rooms so had to make do with a normal double room which along with the rest of the hotel was very dark, cold, dated and tired looking.

The breakfast we encountered was quite honestly the worst ever received in Germany so far. On arriving at the breakfast room our table was already set for us in the corner next to the only working radiator in the room. The buffet breakfast which was laid out was very unappealing. The cereals sat stale and solidifed in the bottom of the jars, the coffee and chocolate was luke warm.

We quite frankly couldn't wait to leave as the place was so depressing. The hotel is supposed to house a wellness centre which provokes visions of a modern, up to date environment but this hotel is nothing of the sort.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2008

About Hotel-Pension-Berlin

The hotel has a very familiar atmosphere and it is in a very quiet area. It is the ideal place to relax and to enjoy oneself...

The hotel pension Berlin is a newly equipped hotel in Bad Grund in the natural preserve area of Harz.

It is just a 5 minutes walk to the health resort/park and 10 minutes to the centre.

Beside single and double rooms also offer apartments for your vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sirmaier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2007

This hotel is actually more like an old dorm room or what I would imagine a hostel to be like (I've never stayed in a hostel). There is one bathroom for the entire floor, and your door only locks with a key (so you have to lock your partner in the room if you plan to take a whiz in the middle of the night- which is weird and kinda creepy. My husband and I both ended up peeing in the sink in our room half the time, because the single co-ed bathroom would be full for hours.
The staff running the hotel are super friendly and helpful. The breakfast is decent and the hotel is very centrally located. We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. It was the cheapest place we stayed in our europe trip and we didn't even get to share a bed here- in fact, you get a mini-bed with waterproof pillows and an old blanket- and the beds are wooden and connected at the head. We felt like we were at 6th grade camp.
Although my review may seem negative, it's not. Berlin is the most beautiful/awesome city on earth and I would love to move there. You can walk/bike everywhere SAFELY, you can have free wi-fi everywhere, the food is cheaper than the states, and the people are wonderful.
If you're on a budget, this place will do. If you're not, don't stay here, unless you never got to go to 6th grade camp.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank AmyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Agnetha_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthias B, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Naturkost-Hotel Harz, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: ggf. nach schon renoviertem Zimmer fragen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Stephan-Bln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank ReinerSteden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bad Grund
0 mi away
Pension Jagerstieg
Pension Jagerstieg
#2 of 6 in Bad Grund
15 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel Engel Altenau
Hotel Engel Altenau
#1 of 5 in Altenau
37 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Harzperle
Hotel Harzperle
#2 of 5 in Wildemann
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Pension am Kurmittelhaus
0.6 mi away
Pension Talblick
Pension Talblick
#1 of 6 in Bad Grund
23 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pension Waldhaus
Hotel Pension Waldhaus
#3 of 6 in Bad Grund
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naturkost-Hotel Harz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naturkost-Hotel Harz

Address: Von-Eichendorff-Str. 18, 37539 Bad Grund, Lower Saxony, Germany (Formerly Hotel-Pension Berlin)
Region: Germany > Lower Saxony > Bad Grund
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Bad Grund
Price Range: £71 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Naturkost-Hotel Harz 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here in Bad Grund, a spa town located in the matchless forest and mountain scenery of the Harz Mountains in Germany, we welcome you into the pleasant atmosphere of our friendly hotel, where we would like you to be our guest for an unforgettable vacation—tailored to your wishes: either utterly relaxed, or entirely athletic, or devoted completely to your health. No matter what kind of vacation you choose, natural food will always be on the menu: We delight in serving you choice vegan or rawfood delicacies, starting right at the beginning with our bounteous breakfast. We make most of them entirely by ourselves - from local organic products, as far as possible. You will also be drinking our Kangen alkaline water - called magic water by some of our guests - for detoxification of the body and a health-optimized ph-balance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Naturkost-Hotel Harz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing