We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet & comfortable”
Review of Hotel Stadt Kassel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Stadt Kassel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Rinteln
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Had a balcony room at the rear. Roomy enough with comfortable bed, two chairs, dressing table. Plenty of wardrobe space and we liked the empty minibar as useful for cooling our own drinks. Bathroom only had a shower but pleasant enough although water pressure not that good. No tea or coffee making facilities. Excellent continental breakfast and we had a good dinner in the restaurant. Free parking but hard to find, follow the signs in the town and not your sat nav! Staff very helpful and efficient.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Number34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2013

I took my Husband to Rinteln as a suprise for his 60th birthday, as this was where he was born, the hotel was right in the centre of Rinteln making it a great short break, The hotel staff were very friendly and helpfull, especially when we needed train directions to Berlin, which was the second part of our trip. The food was excellent and plentifull. The town of Rinteln is very picturesque and quaint. Overall an excellent trip my Husband will remember.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back have a balcony which you can sit out and enjoy a drink
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

This is a fantastic family run hotel. It is so clean that you could eat your food direct from the shower floor ( should you be inclined) nothing is too much trouble forth staff. Breakfast is superb, choice extensive . I have stayed twice now and would recommend to anyone travelling to Rinteln

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yorkmusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Stayed here during the old town festival 2012 whilst I as playing with a band. Very tranditional Germal hotel with a lovely bar/restaurant area. Friendly staff, no complaints. We actually had a room in Julia Haas (an annex out the back) and the room was spaceous and met all our needs. Certainly not luxurious but clean and safe. I was especially impressed by the breakfast buffet. Just take care if staying during the festival as the music goes on until mid-night, but you should be out enjoying it anyway!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tattbatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We were looking for a hotel just off the A2 motorway when travelling though Germany. We arrived in Rinteln to find the bridge over the river going into Rinteln closed for repairs. There was no other way in! We asked a local who was standing by the bridge and had to do a 4km detour to come into Rintel from the other side. Then the difficulty of finding the hotel! No cars are allowed in the centre, and the narrow cobbled streets are mostly one way, after going round and round a few times we finally found the hotel, only to find that the car park was full and we had to park a few blocks away. Not a very good start! We were in the small annex across from the car park, the room was OK, not very large, bathroom good, all very clean, but I think the rooms in the main hotel were larger and better. The evening meal was very good, very tasty with good size German portions. The buffet breakfast was excellent. Rinteln is a beautiful old town if you are passing through this area I recommend the hotel and the Town.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Conmackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

We visited Rinteln because it is twinned with Kendal, Cumbria, England, where my wife and children were born and where I have worked, on and off for the past 32 years. It was more out of curiousity than anything else, plus it's about halfway to Berlin from Amsterdam.

Hotel Stadt Kassel was a bit of a nightmare to get to in a car because you have to jink the wrong way down a 1 way street. OK, it's only for 10 or 15 metres, but a bit unusual to say the least. The car park is, erm, compact but we found space for a Mini!

My first impression was that the hotel was very clean and well decorated, always a good start. We arrived in the mid afternoon on a Saturday, so had a brief game of 'hunt the receptionist' which was fun. Then we found the receptionist spoke no English and my German was equally poor. However, we managed to point out our reservation (made via the Tourist Office by e-mail the previous week).

Our room was a double bedded one with balcony, overlooking the car park at the back. This sounds far from ideal, but it was perfect. Beyond the car park was the market place and the town centre church, with the bell!

The bell is mentioned elsewhere, it is a charming relic of a bygone age when only the very wealthy had wrist watches or clocks. Everyone else had to rely on a single timepiece, mounted high for all to see and provided with a bell to draw ones attention to the ceaseless passage of time. It's not unduly loud, it's just there at 6 a.m. on a Sunday morning, when you don't want it.

Breakfast was a substantial buffet of bread, cheese, cereals, fruit juice, fruit, eggs, bacon, sausages and so on.

I would recommend Hotel Stadt Kassel to anyone wishing to stop in Rinteln. We were on an overnighter, so probably missed many interesting things. But the time we had was brilliant. I wouild like to return again and take a more leisurely time in the town. I booked via the tourist office and used Babelfish to translate my confirmation e-mail to the hotel and the reply.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

Family run Hotel -- Excellent buffet Breakfast. First class restaurant.Centre of the beautiful town of Rinteln

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jimnopidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rinteln
5.3 mi away
Schaumburger Ritter
Schaumburger Ritter
#1 of 7 in Rinteln
66 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Der Waldkater
Hotel Der Waldkater
#2 of 7 in Rinteln
69 reviews
1.7 mi away
Altes Zollhaus Hotel
Altes Zollhaus Hotel
#4 of 7 in Rinteln
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
No photo provided
Steinberger Hof
#7 of 7 in Rinteln
5 reviews
12.0 mi away
Mercure Hotel Bad Oeynhausen City
10.9 mi away
Schlosshotel Munchhausen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stadt Kassel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stadt Kassel

Address: Klosterstr. 42, 31737 Rinteln, Lower Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Lower Saxony > Rinteln
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Rinteln
Price Range: £66 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stadt Kassel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Stadt Kassel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing