We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great upgrade room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Schloss-Hotel Petry
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Treis-Karden
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“great upgrade room”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

What a treat to be given a suite on our Mosel cycle tour! Great fast internet and most impressed with the friendly welcome from the manager. Enjoyed the food at dinner and breakfast. Would recommend as great spot on the river.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeanPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    40
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
9
53
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
327 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,017 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Situated along the lovely Mosel River. An excellent night sleep in a quiet location. The staff was helpful and the room was comfortable. We also enjoyed dinner here on the terrace.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank burls1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed at the Schoss-Hotel Petry for one night as part of a self-guided bike tour of the Mosel Valley organized by VeloTours. The hotel grounds and lobby were very nice and well-maintained. Our room was clean and nice - the mattresses need updating, but all the bedding was nice. The hotel restaurant was quite good (and really, the only one we could find open on a Thursday night in this sleepy town...) and the breakfast was one of the best we had on our trip. The staff were nice, but did not seem overly friendly or willing to go out of their way.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 007MBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed only one night during our Mosel cycle tour, and it was fine. The building is nicely kept up, and the room was adequate. The reception staff were accommodating enough, just didn't seem to want to go out of their way to be extra friendly or helpful. One unnerving aspect was the elderly gentleman who sat in the entranceway most of the time eyeballing people walking in and out (and he sat at a table next to ours for breakfast the next day). Maybe just a bored guest? Or one of the owners? It was just slightly off-putting and may have skewed my impression of this nice hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJ8859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2008

We booked by telephone, but on arrival (at 5pm) were told that the desk clerk had made an error and there was no room available. Either they didn't like our Jaguar Sovereign or they are incompetent. Not very appologetic either.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank langej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
154 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 425 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2007

This hotel in not in a real castle hotel (schloss=castle) but it is placed in a very old building. The Mosel is not far away, it is behind a street with houses and the railway station. (Very quiet location, all hotels closer to the Mosel are at a very busy road.)

There is adequate parking space and also an underground parking with limited place (outside if free, inside is 5 Euro p.n.). In total there are 74 rooms. The standard rooms are very nice but we choose the suite. This suite or so-called Kohlbecher room was outstanding. (There are several of these rooms, all different in style.) Our room was very spacious with beautiful off-white furniture. The bed was very romantic decorated, the large bathroom, with bad and separate shower unit was very clean and looked brand-new. The toilet is apart from the bathroom. There were enough thick and soft towels and two bathrobes. We were there in October and had to use the heating, very comfortable with two climate control systems, one in the room and one in the bathroom. The latter had floor heating under the tiles, which is very pleasant in a bathroom. We were on the 3rd floor and had an excellent view.

We took the so-called Gourmet-arrangement, this included breakfast and a 4-course diner (for 72 euro p.p.p.n.). There are two restaurants, one for all the arrangements and one for a la carte diner. The diner was rather good but not top quality (and service was bad); the breakfast was excellent. It is all owned and managed by a family, their service and hospitality was outstanding, but they must give better attention at the behavior of some of their staff.

  • Liked — The spacious and nice suite
  • Disliked — The service in the restaurant and it is very hard to pay with a credit card, could only pay with my Amex after I told I had permission agreed with check-in.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BA-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2006

This hotel fails miserably on customer service.Stayed for 4 days and for 3 of those days didn't really get a breakfast as as the food ran out the staff were not keen to replenish. Was only ever 1 member of staff at breakfast to serve 50 plus people.Although it was a buffet style breakfast you still had to request coffee etc.Also tables were always full of dirty plates, so if you were a late riser there was no food and nowhere to sit anyway.We were not allowed to check in before 1pm but on the day we left several people checking in to their rooms at 9am ! Would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j0nnyr0p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Treis-Karden
3.2 mi away
Hotel Moselkern
Hotel Moselkern
#2 of 2 in Moselkern
28 reviews
4.6 mi away
Filla Andre
Filla Andre
#1 of 4 in Ernst
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Weinhaus Am Stiftstor
Hotel Weinhaus Am Stiftstor
#3 of 4 in Treis-Karden
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Jugendstil Hotel Bellevue
Jugendstil Hotel Bellevue
#2 of 11 in Traben-Trarbach
277 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Sewenig
Hotel Sewenig
#1 of 1 in Mueden
22 reviews
4.0 mi away
Altes Pfarrhaus
Altes Pfarrhaus
#2 of 4 in Ernst
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schloss-Hotel Petry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schloss-Hotel Petry

Property: Schloss-Hotel Petry
Address: St.-Castor-Str. 80, 56253 Treis-Karden, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Treis-Karden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Treis-Karden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Schloss-Hotel Petry 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kulinarische Erlebnisse jederzeit in unmittelbarer Nähe von Burg Eltz und Cochemluftige Gartenterrasse, rustikale Weinstube, Gourmetrestaurant Schloßstubewohnen in authentischen Schloßzimmern oder komfortabeln Juniorsuiten ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Schloss-Hotel Petry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing