We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not a 5* hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Apollonion Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lixouri
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Definitely not a 5* hotel”
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I have been there in holiday with my family in July 2011. The hotel is brand new and it has a lot of amenities. Stuff is helpful and rooms are clean and tidy.

However, the 5* star hotel begins to lose its stars when you try to have breakfast or dinner at the dining room of the hotel. The space where the buffet is placed is very tight, people are queued with over 10 people in front of you in the line each time , stepping over smashed food on the floor.

When it gets to the swimming pool, most of the sundbeds and parasols are reserved from the beginning of the day, when due to the lack of a hotel attendant or supervisor, people leave their towels on the sunbeds for the whole day while they are in completely different places such on the beach or eating in the restaurant.

Another disappointing fact is that the hotel manager has found another way of trying to make more money. On Saturday night, during our stay there, he provided the open space around the swimming pool to the locals to hold a wedding ceremony with a live band playing loudly. The result was expected : a noisy flock of locals, irrelevant to the hotel, came into the hotel, they parked in the hotel leaving no parking space free and the loud noise from guests and the band kept as asleep until 1:30 am after midnight.

That was definitely a lack of respect from the hotel management for the client of the hotel who pays for his holidays and try to relax there with his family.
I am afraid these are not 5* hotel services.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Costas102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexandrosGM, General Manager at Apollonion Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your contribution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    166
    40
    12
    2
See reviews for
318
390
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Unfortunately the service delivered during our stay fell short of that, one would expect from a '5 Star' hotel.
- Self Service dining area is too small and needs to be at least twice the size. At times queueing for breakfast and dinner was a scrum. Although on the whole the standard of food for that of 'self service' variety was reasonably good with a good selection.
- Certain reception staff had a complete lack of empathy when managing issues raised with them.
- Staff levels were insufficient to support & deliver a good service which at times caused some staff to be be impolite when busy and overstretched. Extra staff are required in the bar and dining areas.

A shame to write negative comments as the Hotel does have good facilities and was very clean, however for the money you pay the overall service delivered fell short of that one would normally expect from a 5 Star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexandrosGM, General Manager at Apollonion Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your contribution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novo Mesto, Slovenia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We spent one teriffic week on the island of Cephalonia. Hotel Apollnia beach is very suitable for families with children. Hotel facilities are very nice and clean. We enjoyed swimming pool cinema.
We would recomend a litle bit larger area for food delivery because it crowdy. We missed fresh fruit juice. At swimming pool there were not enough towles available.
Anyhow we recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexandrosGM, General Manager at Apollonion Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your contribution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We went to Kefalonia probably at the best time possible, right before the season started - the water was still a bit cold, but all restaurants & bars on the island were open and there weren't a plethora of annoying tourists at every corner.
Anyway, the rooms were very comfortable & the resort was beautiful.Spa,Pool all very clean, modern as the hotel is nearly new.Service, staff was always good and extremely helpful.If there was something which was not to the customer's satsfaction the issue was quickly addressed where possible.
The food(buffet) we did have there was very well done.But the real takeaway was Kefalonia,you just rent a car

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floripas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexandrosGM, General Manager at Apollonion Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your contribution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Our journey to the hotel was great - a short coach trip from the airport to the harbour followed by a trip on the ferry to Lixouri and then a taxi transfer to the hotel. As other reviews have mentioned, the hotel is located in a slightly 'out of the way' area with not much else around it.

Initial impressions of the hotel reception were very good and, after a welcome drink, we were taken round to our room on the electric buggy. The room was absolutely lovely - a good size with nice, modern decor and was kept spotlessly clean throughout our stay. The bed was massive (super kingsize?) and very comfortable and our bathroom had two basins. The room had a large balcony with a glass balustrade and gorgeous views across the pool towards the sea beyond. The room had excellent air conditioning and a good TV system but, as is to be expected, English-speaking channels were pretty much limited to the News channels (plus a limited number of subtitled programs on the Greek channels) although the films on demand feature of the TV system was great.

The hotel grounds were clean and tidy and the swimming pool was beautiful too. The staff, with a couple of exceptions, were generally pleasant and attentive although drinks were quite expensive (330ml beer was €4.00 and a Gin & Tonic was €8.00). As a supposedly 5 star resort this is to be expected but we thought that bottled water was especially dear at €2.50 for a one litre bottle making it a massive fifteen times (!) the supermarket price - so we bought a case of 6 x 1.5 litre bottles (i.e. 9 litres) at the local Carrefour for only €1.50 and kept it in the room fridge!

We hired a car for four days of our stay and got to see quite a lot of the island - it is truely a beautiful place which hasn't really 'sold out' to tourism and isn't too busy. We particularly liked the village of Assos and the stunning Myrtos Beach and would certainly encourage visitors to see the island - if you come here and spend your whole time in the hotel you will be missing out on something 'very special'.

Sadly, the one thing that often wasn't 'very special' in the hotel was the dining which is a shame - as the title of this review says, if it could be improved this hotel would be absolutely fantastic. We found the buffet/serving area to be too cramped and busy with the queues of people for some sections of the buffet obstructing access to the food on other parts of the buffet. On the barbeque theme nights things were especially problematic with long queues waiting at the serving area for meats to be cooked and a tendency for the under-pressure chef to serve the the meat before it was properly cooked in an attempt to reduce the queue - pork which is completely raw in the centre is not a good idea.

In fairness to the hotel we sometimes did have very nice meals (breakfast was especially good) but generally the food was served luke warm and seemed to be quite similar night after night - the selection of desserts in particular was identical every single night of our holiday. The waiting staff were pleasant and worked exceptionally hard but appeared to sometimes be overwhelmed by their workload.

Other minor points:
* The swimming pool is not supposed to be used until 11:00am which is a shame for those of us who appreciate a swim before breakfast (although some people ignored the signs anyway).
* As others have mentioned, the evening entertainment was disappointing.
* There is free wireless internet provision at the hotel but the signal was not strong enough to reach our room or balcony so we highly recommend bringing a network cable for your laptop so you can plug it in to the room network socket - the broadband speed is quite slow (seems to be capped at 250k) so will be no good for streaming full video etc but is just about okay for general browsing and internet radio and was able to run Skype albeit with choppy video.

Despite these few issues we certainly enjoyed our stay at The Apollonia and found it to be a lovely and very relaxing place to be. The island of Kefalonia was simply stunning and we will surely return one day.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbo2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexandrosGM, General Manager at Apollonion Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your contribution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Summer holiday for a week here with my husband and 2 children aged 9 and 14.
Good points: Pool, spacious, clean and good fun. Breakfast, buffet selection with a very good choice. Family apartment, Clean, spacious, good air con. Spa, had a wonderful Indian head massage for 30 euros.
Staff friendly.
Bad points: Price for holiday £2.700 with first choice (was expecting more included in the price activities) Very expensive. 5 euros for a milk shake, 5 euros for a glass of wine. 2.5 euros for a bottle of water or a small coke. 15 euros to hire the tennis court for an hour.
Evening buffet. Got very monotonous. Craved some simple barbequed fish!
Xi beach. 10 minute walk away. Poor sand quality, cigarette butts and crowded (but it was august)
No children activities or entertainment, My 9 year old got a little fed up with just the pool! Tried out the entertainment room but guess what? yep had to pay for pool, air hockey, computer games etc. Only free activity was coloring with a pen and paper!
Don't think we will be going back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliPaliUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexandrosGM, General Manager at Apollonion Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your contribution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

This is a very attractive hotel with a fabulous pool area. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The cleaners are fantastic with very high standards. Reception staff are helpful and efficient. The staff in the main restaurant and bar are good but usually look unhappy. The food is buffet - mostly the same all the time and never hot. It doesn't look particularly appertizing and is definitely not five star. The restaurant manager looks grumpy all the time and doesn't speak to guests or welcome them. They are lucky that they have a very good waitress, Irene, and an older guy with glasses who are excellent and make up for the lack of care by management. It's a free for all both for tables and food which is just not good enough. The entertainment is poor and drinks are very expensive so most guests walk down to the beach bars or get a taxi to Lixouri in the evenings. There was a Greek wedding there last night which completely took over the hotel. Hotel guests were made to feel like second class citizens and pushed out of the way. We waited over an hour in the bar to be served with drinks and in the end gave up like most of the other British guests. The music went on until 3 in the morning and it was impossible to sleep. It's a real shame as this could be a fantastic hotel but the management of it is really poor. It's also very isolated and a courtesy bus to Lixouri should be a must for the hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure it's not in the main block as the noise at night is appalling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank janeybjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexandrosGM, General Manager at Apollonion Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your contribution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lixouri
21.7 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Cephalonia Palace Hotel
Cephalonia Palace Hotel
#8 of 11 in Lixouri
406 reviews
6.4 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Ionian Emerald Resort
22.6 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fiscardo
484 reviews
7.2 mi away
Petani Bay Hotel- Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollonion Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollonion Resort & Spa

Property: Apollonion Resort & Spa
Address: Xi Beach, Lixouri 282 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lixouri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lixouri
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lixouri
#1 Family Hotel in Lixouri
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lixouri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Apollonion Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apollonion Resort & Spa is a newly built 5* hotel. It is located in Lixouri of Kefalonia, in the region Xi, well known for its long golden sand beach. The excellent range of facilities at our Luxury Hotel is complemented by the high standard services from the professionally trained friendly staff. The unique architecture, the stylish lounge with genuine pieces of contemporary art, reflect the glamor of this Luxury Kefalonian resort. The Art Gallery hosts unique painting exhibitions throughout the Summer season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apollonion Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollonion Hotel Lixouri
Apollonion Resort And Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa Lixouri, Cephalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing