We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lixouri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Very good hotel and a very nice staff. Highly recommended. The food is very good, the staff very friendly. A beautifull place. The rooms are big, beautifull and clean. The same counts for the pool. We had a great time there!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Fred v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexandrosGM, General Manager at Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

Thank you very much for your contribution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (880)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

583 - 589 of 880 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2012

excellent place to stay.was last minute booking staff were very good on arrival room was better than expected good pool. not to bad a walk to beach what was nice and clean.food was good but could have done with being a little bit warmer.but a very good choice of food.the only down side to staying here getting out and about if you do not drive.as we were only there for one week did not matter as much.but could do with a courtesey bus to main town in the evening.only thing we felt was missing was tea and coffee in the room. then i could say they might have got 5 star.but can not have it all ways.now of to book again for next year and for 2 weeks.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topshot170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexandrosGM, General Manager at Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

Thank you very much for your contribution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We've been to Kefalonia before and this time decided to stay somewhere that was a bit more upmarket, and to be fair we were not to be disappointed. The Apollonion is only 3 years old, and every effort has been made to give it a modern feel. Upon arrival we were greeted with a drink and taken by golf buggy to our rooms. The rooms are spacious, we had two single beds pushed together, which I think is standard, a balcony with shutters, and ensuite bathroom. Each room also has air conditioning, which in the heat you will definitely need. The room has a fridge with a complimentary bottle of water.

The receptionists are excellent, showing genuine concern for the well being of guests. Any issues are dealt with immediately, and they are a valuable source of information. They'll also book taxis for you!

Breakfast and dinner are served in the onsite restaurant - La Primadoro. The staff here are outstanding, engaging with guests, and taking the time to ensure that everything is well. The main meals are buffet style, so you help yourself to a range of items from Greek yoghurt to a full english breakfast! I read a few reviews which were critical of the food, but I found it to be excellent. In the evenings, there was soup, salads, meat and fish dishes, pasta, cold meats, with as wide a range of deserts. As you walk in to get your food, you can see the chefs preparing the dishes. They'll also tailor what they prepare to suit your individual tastes. The drinks are not part of the buffet.

Lunch is either in the form of sandwiches from the pool side bar, Medeo's or from La Pergola, an à la carte place the other side of the pool. The food here is also very good - pizzas, burgers to mussels and traditional Greek dishes. It's also reasonably priced.

The pools are also good, the large one, in a kind of L shape is 46m and is kept very clean, the little one, with a depth of 0.5m, is ideal for the children. You are also given pool towels, which you can change as often as you like from reception. Some family rooms come with their own pool, and spa bath, so you can step out of your patio doors, and step down into the water!

In general drinks prices are on the expensive side, at €5 for a 500ml beer, €8-€10 for a cocktail, and €2.50 for a soft drink. The hotel rules state you can't bring your own drinks to the pool, but most people bring their own water. From 4-6pm, they have a 'Happy Hour' where all drinks and desserts are half price, which is great value. You don't even have to move from your sun lounger, as the friendly waiters will come over to you. The hotel have a system where you can either pay cash for any drinks as they come, or charge them to your room. We did a bit of both, which meant we didn't have any nasty surprises on the bill as we checked out.

There is also a gym and spa onsite. The gym has a couple of treadmills, a bike and a step machine, free weights and a multipurpose weights machine. The spa offers a wide range of treatments from pedicures to massage, and it certainly worth the experience.

There's also a tennis court, although it was too hot to play, an outdoor cinema, which was a fab way to spend an evening, and a Greek dancing night. The hotel could do a bit more in terms of themed evenings, but what was on offer was well laid on.

One area for development is the hotel wifi. It's free, but you have to go to reception for the code. You can get a code through the hotel room tv menu, but good luck with that. Wifi reception is not good. You can only pick it up in the main building, and it's sadly very slow, and keeps dropping out.

The hotel itself is a bit remote, there are a couple of mini markets within easy reach, and Xi Beach is 3 minutes walk away. The beach has a couple of restaurants and tavernas, which are cheaper than the hotel - some guests we met spent the whole holiday on the lovely red sand of the beach. There's the opportunity to ride the 'banana boat' or go paragliding (€40) on Xi Beach. To get any further afield you'll need to hire a car. There is one bus a day into Lixouri which leaves at 9.30am, and leaves town to come back to the hotel at 2.30pm, for just a few Euros. A taxi into town is €10 each way. Thomson recommend a local company called Pefanis, who charge €60 for one day's hire, Mercury, who are situated next door to the hotel charge €43. There's a difference in excess charges, but I guess that depends how careful a driver you are - the roads in Kefalonia are not particularly well maintained. Think alpine roads with potholes! The nearest cash machine is also in Lixouri.

In all, the resort is outstanding, if sometimes seemingly a little remote. The service is friendly, caring and quick, and despite the fact that the staff seem to work 12 hour shifts, they are good humoured and well mannered. It's an ideal spot to go away for a holiday!

A few hints and tips:
Do check out the different prices of the car hire firms.
Do make sure you check out Fiskardo, and Myrtos Beach.
Do pace yourself at mealtimes, as there is literally so much food.
Do book yourself a treatment at the spa!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank blaggers12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexandrosGM, General Manager at Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

Thank you very much for your contribution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

What a lovely hotel, booked direct choosing a 2 bed suite for our family of 5. Very spacious accommodation and if there were only 4 guests you would have a separate internal sitting area as well as 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, 2 large terraces and a private plunge pool leading into a shared pool. Luxury indeed! Food good quality although would prefer table service particularly at dinner. Wifi wasn't too good although it was free. Loved the open air cinema - think guidance should be given on film ratings - to avoid the rush to get kids out of there when an inappropriate scene comes on - we had the girl with the dragon tattoo showing! Short walk to Xi Beach - lots of sunbeds to hire and drinks service from the bars there. Hotel receptionists couldn't have been better, always happy to swap pool towels, organise car hire, taxis etc. Only (minor) gripe would be evening entertainment provided - most nights was a pianist singing with a backing track. And not very well. Drinks reasonably priced, would have been good to know about the half price drinks and ice creams between 4 and 6 a little earlier in our stay - maybe a note in the room along with the much appreciated complimentary fruit plate and bottle of wine. Would love to return.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sightseer16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexandrosGM, General Manager at Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

Thank you very much for your contribution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

The position is quite good, about 400 meters from Xi Beach, which is nice and relatively quiet even in the middle of August, and within few kilometers of other pretty beaches in the Lixouri (west) area of Kefalonia. The hotel offers good amenities without being too large or lacking a personal touch. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Service quality is very good and acceptable even during rush hour (reached around 10am, when breakfast service ends). One minor drawback is the slow wi-fi connection, only available around the reception area (although the service is free). Prices in the bar, lunch restaurant (we opted for half boarding), boutiques and spa are exceptionally competitive and the quality of food is quite good.

Room Tip: Second floor room have a better view on the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roberto O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexandrosGM, General Manager at Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

Thank you very much for your contribution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

we (me and my husband) chose this hotel for our vacation this year. We celebrated our anniversary and our choice was the best. The hotel is excellent, servis perfect. The staff is always friendly with smile especialy Katharina from reception. Thank you for all. we highly recommended this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Morthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexandrosGM, General Manager at Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

Thank you very much for your contribution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

After several tiresome years me and my wife decided to go for 5 star hotel to enjoy the company of our 9 months old baby boy. We must say this hotel passed our visit with flying flags!
The good:
1. staff: very pleasant, especially two ladies at receptiondesk Katerina and Maria, and managers are always around
2. rooms: we reserved a suite and it was a good choice; it was spacious(!) and with all necessities we could ask from a room - including giant bed; foto's on hotel's website actually are what you can excpect to get
3. pool: nice and clean with always enough space to relax; there is also smaller pool for children
4. beach: near the hotel is nice (but touristic) sandy Xi beach; it has a blue flag for 2012 and you can enjoy some really nice sunsets
5. food: in main restaurant it is excellent and in huge quantities and varieties (for breakfast and dinner); what I especially liked is that chef is always checking if there is anything wrong or if something should be refilled
6. entertainment: not that we had a chance to enjoy this part of hotels offering but you can enjoy nightly free movie in their small open cinema, go to art gallery or spend evening in café with different schedule every night
7. children friendly: last but not least, they have baby stools, baby beds and are not annoyed by children (great plus)

The not so good:
1. no markets in/around the hotel: if you want to buy anything more complicated than sun oil or towel you must go to Lixouri. There are two busses per day and a taxi is 10eur in one direction
2. no cash dispenser in the vicinity: also in Lixouri
3. getting from airport to the hotel: if you rent a car you can drive from airport to the hotel around the bay or taking a shortcut with ferry; however this route can be very annoying if you must take a bus to the ferry, ferry itself and then taxi to the hotel while pushing baby wagon and draging three suitcases around.
4. hotel's mini restaurant and café: they are just OK

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mpetrovic75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexandrosGM, General Manager at Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

Thank you very much for your contribution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lixouri
21.7 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Cephalonia Palace Hotel
Cephalonia Palace Hotel
#7 of 11 in Lixouri
445 reviews
6.4 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fiscardo
520 reviews
13.1 mi away
Ionian Emerald Resort
7.2 mi away
Petani Bay Hotel- Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel

Address: Xi Beach, Lixouri 282 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lixouri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lixouri
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lixouri
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lixouri
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lixouri
Price Range: £93 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apollonion Resort & Spa is a newly built 5* hotel. It is located in Lixouri of Kefalonia, in the region Xi, well known for its long golden sand beach. The excellent range of facilities at our Luxury Hotel is complemented by the high standard services from the professionally trained friendly staff. The unique architecture, the stylish lounge with genuine pieces of contemporary art, reflect the glamor of this Luxury Kefalonian resort. The Art Gallery hosts unique painting exhibitions throughout the Summer season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollonion Resort And Spa
Apollonion Hotel Lixouri
Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel Lixouri, Cephalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing