We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel ever...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lixouri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

A wonderful hotel with great facilities and fantastic food. Everything was perfect. The swimming pool area not very crowded, enough sun beds. The beach nearby, very nice tavern- Antonella's with not very expensive but tasty food - pita bread and greek salad marvellous... Highly recommended for everybody who loves quiet places with high standard. We went there with Itaka tour operator and the price for one week holiday was quite reasonable. We would like to come back there one day...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexandrosGM, General Manager at Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Ms Anna G,
Thank you very much for the nice review and comments.
It was a great pleasure for me to read that the Apollonion Resort & Spa has met your expectations.
We look forward to welcome you back again.
Alexandros Papanikolaou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (882)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

439 - 445 of 882 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

We have recently arrived home from our 10 day stay at the Apollonion. It was wonderful! We had our Renewal of Vows ceremony here and the management and staff made great efforts to make our day extremely special. We would highly recommend this resort and spa for either a wedding or renewal of vows ceremony, Nothing was too much trouble and the ceremony venue in the hotels Art Gallery felt very unique. The hotel has a very relaxing atmosphere and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Every breakfast and dinner time you are greeted by the delightful restaurant manager who cheerily shows you to your table. The food is very good. It is fresh with plenty of variety. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and felt very well looked after. We will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexandrosGM, General Manager at Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Andrew O,
Thank you very much for your very nice review.
I was pleased to read that your holiday was an enjoyable one and that all your expectations have been fulfilled. We all wish you the very best for your life together as husband and wife
Sincerely,
Alexandros Papanikolaou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Staying here in June 2014 for our honeymoon.
My wife was 6 months pregnant so we wanted a relaxed break and after reading the reviews on here decided to book.
The hotel is beautiful, we got a great half board deal with a garden suite. Huge very clean room, bed was massive. Hotel itself is spotless and well maintained. Food does get a bit repetitive, beer is expensive but as the other reviews say try the shop for cheaper beer and sneak it round the pool or in the cinema.
Definatley hire a car to see the island, its cheap and was the best day of our trip discovering the little coves, going for food in the harbour in Sami (Mermaid resturant - Kelftico pie AMAZING!!!)
As the other reports say, there is nothing much in Luxori and entertainment can is limited but, that is exactly what we were after.
Also the airport is very small so when you check in before the flight home check your bags and go up the road for food and a drink, don't get stuck in the airport, its expensive, small and gets very hot.
Great staff, great hotel, excellent Honeymoon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Ferdy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexandrosGM, General Manager at Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear "Ferdy76",
Thank you very much for your kind review.
I was pleased to read that your holiday was an enjoyable one.
It will be a privilege for us to welcome you back again.
Sincerely,
Alexandros Papanikolaou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Just returned from 2 weeks holiday. Very impressed with hotel and staff. Modern, clean, good facilities, food good with a wide selection of dishes to choose from. Staff very friendly and helpful. Advice you rent a car as only one bus a day to lixouri . taxi 10 euro each way! Recommend antonella tavern just left out of hotel for lunch and also the captains table at petani beach, we discovered owned by married couple carol (English lady) runs the tavern at Xi beach and her husband George (Greek gentleman) has the tavern at petani. Menus very different but lovely Greek food. Hope to return to apologia next year.

Looked around the other hotel at xi beach the kefalonia palace would not recommend it unless you have small kids.

Room Tip: Rooms to back of resort quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ruthross517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexandrosGM, General Manager at Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear "Ruthross517",
Thank you very much for your very nice review.
I was pleased to read that your holiday was an enjoyable one.
It will be a privilege for us to welcome you back again.
Sincerely,
Alexandros Papanikolaou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed here for a week in July 2014, the rooms are superb, the staff are helpful but not annoying, the pool is excellent. The only thing it needs is a little supermarket nearby. The buffet food is very good for a buffet, happy hour drinks are well priced and not over the top outside of happy hour. Free wifi by the pool and in the rooms. Highly recommended

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sigainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexandrosGM, General Manager at Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear "Sigainey",
Thank you very much for your very nice review.
We are pleased to read that your holiday was an enjoyable one.
Sincerely,
Alexandros Papanikolaou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Firstly, I'd like to say that my 3 friends and I are 18, therefore not the age group this hotel is geared towards. However, we're not into crazy parties and getting wasted, so this place was perfect!

We managed to book a maisonette with a private jacuzzi which was one of our best decisions as we could be together and go in our pool at whatever time we wanted. There isn't a lot of details about the maisonettes on Thomson where we booked our holiday, so basically: it's two floors, on the ground is the biggest bed in the world, separated from the lounge area by a shelving unit. There's a bathroom with shower, bath and separate toilet, and then outside is a corner sofa, sunloungers and of course the private pool which leads into a shared pool. Upstairs was two single beds, another huge bathroom and a balcony. The rooms were cleaned every day very well, and we were away from the bar so it was very peaceful. OH, and the safe and aircon are included at no extra cost! But wifi could only really be accessed at the bar area.

Next was the food. Personally, I'm an incredibly fussy eater, and I found there weren't a lot of plain foods at dinnertime. For example there'd be pasta, but with shrimps hidden within its depths. There were chips, but if that was all I ate I'd be a whale. However, my friends seemed to think the food was decent enough, so don't take my word for it! The bar was nice, although drinks were expensive, so we often opted for whatever the special cocktail was and then went to Antonello's for some cheap beer to get the job done. On one night they had Greek dancers which was really hilarious, however this was the only real entertainment out of the whole holiday. But being a five star hotel I guess the the entertainment that we want would lower their standards or something... For families with teenagers maybe they'd get a little bored, but we had each other to serve as entertainment, so all was well.

The staff were lovely, so helpful and friendly all the time. We were even jokingly offered a job to work there for the summer. Only now we wished we'd taken him up on it so we could go back!

Onto the island. We noticed a lot of people saying you must hire a car to get around, but I'd beg to differ. Maybe because we can't drive in the first place makes us more resourceful, but we managed to see the whole island without once hiring a car. We got the bus to Lixouri to have a wander, although there wasn't a lot to do there except eat. We also got the ferry to Argostoli to see the turtles, which we did and it was one of the best moments of the holiday. Transport around was pretty cheap, and the roads could get a little crazy so I was more than happy to let someone else do the hard work. The best way to see the island was the Premier Discover Kefalonia excursion. We got to see Melisanni Lake, a boat trip between Kefalonia and Ithaca where we also had a swim stop at a private beach, had a lovely three course meal and a wander around Fiskardo, and even got to see beautiful Assos (which had the most winding and terrifying roads I have ever been on!). Oh and of course a photo stop at Myrtos beach. It was only 82 euros each, and was really great value and not at all boring (although the tour guide did talk about olive oil for a little too long...)

Xi beach was the closest beach to the hotel, a tiny walk away. It wasn't quite what I expected, as there was a lot of debris littering the sand, and not a lot of room as most of the beach was taken up by sunloungers and parasols. However, we did go twice, and took some of the clay from the rocks back home. I've been using it since, and my skin is very soft! But I digress.

In conclusion, this was one of the best holidays I've been on, and I think the quality of the hotel really contributed to that. It is definitely geared toward couples looking for a relaxing holiday, but I think it is just as good for a group of friends wanting to get over the stress of their A-level exams! My only suggestions would be to maybe step up the food, and have better entertainment. The piano player, bless him, was great but wasn't really our style!

Thank you Apollonion Resort and Spa for having us, and I'm sure we'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 7Rashman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRASAMET, General Manager at Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear 7Rashman,

Thank you very much for the nice review and the valuable comments.
We are glad that we were able to make your holiday, an enjoyable one.

Sincerely,
Alexandros Papanikolaou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at the Apollonion between 1st and 8th July. Simply I would say this hotel is one of the best we've stayed at. From the moment of arrival the service provided was outstanding. The hotel itself is well presented, very clean and impressively sculptured. The room we had was spacious, clean and had a great balcony view of the gardens / pool and the coastline.

I had read some mixed reviews about the food but I can only say the food here was amazingly good, with a great selection of dishes each evening to choose from to cater for most tastes. Oh breakfast here was very good too!! needless to say we ate too much, so a week was enough! To round off the dining experience the service provided by the staff was very good.

Finally although the hotel was busy, it remained a place of relaxation - just what we wanted. We will be returning to this hotel next year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Ciaran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexandrosGM, General Manager at Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear "Ciaran C",
Thank you very much for your very nice review.
I was pleased to read that your enjoyed your holiday.
Sincerely,
Alexandros Papanikolaou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lixouri
7.2 mi away
Petani Bay Hotel- Adults Only
6.4 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
14 mi away
Odyssey Hotel
Odyssey Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Efimia
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Cephalonia Palace Hotel
Cephalonia Palace Hotel
#7 of 11 in Lixouri
446 reviews
4 mi away
Dionysos Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel

Address: Xi Beach, Lixouri 282 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lixouri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lixouri
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lixouri
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lixouri
#1 Family Hotel in Lixouri
Price Range: £91 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apollonion Resort & Spa is a newly built 5* hotel. It is located in Lixouri of Kefalonia, in the region Xi, well known for its long golden sand beach. The excellent range of facilities at our Luxury Hotel is complemented by the high standard services from the professionally trained friendly staff. The unique architecture, the stylish lounge with genuine pieces of contemporary art, reflect the glamor of this Luxury Kefalonian resort. The Art Gallery hosts unique painting exhibitions throughout the Summer season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollonion Hotel Lixouri
Apollonion Resort And Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel Lixouri, Cephalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing