We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Palace Fit for Royalty....?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cephalonia Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Lixouri
midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Palace Fit for Royalty....?”
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We have just come back from a lovely one week stay at The Cephalonia Palace.
The hotel staff were brilliant - very nice and helpful = 5 star!!
The hotel is clean.
It is in an ok location - There could be more near by but buses, boats, excursions make this an easy island to travel around.
The atmosphere was good, guests were all friendly and respectful.
The entertainment is very poor - awful music choices and all round bad - this needs improving.
Food is good, drinks nice too; plenty of choices for both.
Traditional fight for sun loungers.
Tip - Get to Argostoli and go on the Sun Cruise trip, the large Turtles can also be seen near by at the port here. Buses run to and from all the towns but not that often so plan your journeys well.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidlandsMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    113
    102
    35
    32
See reviews for
143
172
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We had two weeks all inclusive at this hotel. We had a very nice room, very big with plenty of wardrobe and drawer space with a safe in the wardrobe (30 Euros charge for 2 weeks - no returns). Having spoken to other couples we were of the opinion that they had refurbished some of the rooms and others were still waiting. We obviously had a refurbished room and the beds were very comfy. Bathroom was a bit small but it was adequate. Some people moaned that they could not keep drink cold in the fridge in the room as the electric was controlled by the card which also opened the door. We got round this by asking for a second card which we left in the electric slot all day which kept the airconditioning going as well, so the room was always cool when we went into it, and boy did we need it as the heat was in high 30's most days sometimes hitting 41 degrees. What impressed me was we got clean bedding every three days and clean towels every day. Most days the lady who dealt with the room left the top sheet or the towels in butterfly or heart shapes, very entertaining.

One complaint was the constant noise from music blaring from the Animation team stage all the time, however Crista who did the morning water exercise in the pool and entertained at night was very good and she did a good mini disco for the children each evening. Same music and actions every night and very boring for the adults but the kids loved it and because the movements were the same each night they could do them ok. It was, however, lovely on the day they had their day off as the poolside was quite quiet. Preferred Crista's way of entertaining to the person who is the actual head of the entertainment in the hotel. The first night he appeared, some days after we got there, I thought he was a trainee to be honest. The pods that had sunbeds in them around the pool were quite good but they could really do with many more, as previous reviewers have said you had to be up early to get one. Felt it was a bit unfair that we got charged for sunbeds and umbrella type things on the beach when they were owned by the hotel when we were all inclusive. The beach is good though with quite a gently shelving entry into the water.

The restaurant was ok, that is really all I can say about it. Plenty of salad items, feta cheese and pasta mixes, etc but the hot food left a bit to be desired, vegetables being a bit scarce apart from potatoes usually chips (very tasty though and this from someone who is not keen on chips), or sauteed. We did get boiled a couple of times. I thought the sweets were good and they always had fresh fruit on the sweet counter, even in the morning. It was good quality fruit as well and they kept up a good assortment over the days we were there. As a previous reviewer said the cat and dog were very amusing as they usually turned up every mealtime as they knew some of the guests would give them food. They got quite well fed really but what amazed me was that they never tried to come into the restaurant itself even when the automatic doors were open for long enough for them to nip in.

We enjoyed our holiday there on the whole, the only thing really was being on the far end of the Lixouri peninsular if you hired a car you either had three quarters of an hour to an hour's drive before you got anywhere else on the island or you had to pay 16 euros return to take the car and yourselves on the ferry to Argostoli. The island is still as beautiful as it was 20 years ago when we went last but we found that some places on the island have been spoilt with an overkill of tavernas' and expensive tourist tat shops, especially Fiscardo the only place on the island which survived the 1953 earthquake and has original buildings, which to our mind has been totally spoilt. If you go look out for an amazing supermarket just outside of Argostoli heading toward the south of the island, has everything and anything you'd ever want. Never seen such a highly stocked shop ever and so reasonable too!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We (wife and myself) have just returned from a 2 week all inclusive stay at the Cephalonia Palace at Xi Beach in Kefalonia.

We had a fantastic time, with nice food, good accomodation and very welcoming hotel staff.

Special mention has to go to the animation team and the bar staff, all of whom helped make a really great holiday.

We found it very friendly and would certainly consider coming back, although we tend to go somewhere different for each holiday.

Xi Beach is quite remote and this location would not suit someone looking for lively town nightlife.

Kefalonia is a beautiful island and I can see why people go back year after year.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

I have just returned from a one week All Inclusive stay at the Cephalonia Palace where I holidayed with a friend. I should start by saying that we were both absolutely convinced that when we booked this holiday (in March) the Thomson brochure had listed this hotel as a 4 star yet I see now it appears to have "mysteriously" dropped down to 3.5 stars. Hmmm.

POSITIVES

The staff at the hotel (aside from one Receptionist) from the cleaners, the animation team to the pool bar staff are cheerful, friendly and really do make an effort to have a bit of banter with the guests. The drinks are actually pretty good - I enjoyed the beer and the cocktails particularly - and I heard favourable reports off others about the spirits. Water and coffee available throughout the day for the AI-ers via dispensers.

The Animation Team did put on activities during the day for the kids and also for the adults. OK, they wern't brilliant but guests who stayed there whilst we did were game for a laugh. "Crazy darts" certainly caused some hilarity during the afternoon!!

Beach is really pleasant - you have to pay for the beds but it's a nice break from the hotel for a change of scenery and a mere 2 minutes walk away.

NEGATIVES

Well....

You have to get a boat to the other side of Kefalonia after being picked up from the airport. I didn't think it was particularly appropriate of Thomson to simply dump 4 guests at the quayside late at night and tell us that a taxi would be there to get us at the other side. Thankfully it went to plan but we were not given a contact number in case anything went wrong which we should have asked for in hindsight - the same thing also happened on the way back! Make sure you take the Thomson emergency number off the board at the hotel before you leave as you can be certain the Rep won't volunteer it to you. Fully appreciate that this is a gripe with Thomson, however, and not the actual hotel.

We booked a room with twin beds - got a double and a bunk bed. This however is minor and could be lived with. The air conditioning was broken and had to be repaired immediately. To be fair this was dealt with efficiently - but why was it not checked before we arrived? The room was pretty pokey; no idea how a family of 4 would have managed in there. I thought it was extremely considerate of the hotel to keep some food back for us (we'd arrived at 10.30pm at night) but that was when the one problem started that essentially ruined this holiday in its entirity for us.

The food at this hotel is nothing short of an absolute joke when you consider that many guests, like us, had paid over £500 for a week's All Inclusive stay. It was, in my opinion, nothing short of disgusting and way below the standard that should be offered at a 2 star, let alone an alleged 4 star one. The salads were ok and that is about the most positive comment I can offer. All hot food exactly the opposite. Usually one vegetable offered in an evening so no possibility of eating healthily. Yesterday's lunch was the final straw with the "beefburgers" and we both decided we'd rather go hungry before leaving for the airport.

The Animation Team try very hard with the evening's entertainment but it's incredibly dull. Same music all the time played off a laptop plus a few events such as bingo (God) and a music quiz. If you're a young group of friends looking for lively then this is most certainly not the place for you - nothing else around you so you'll be paying £10 for a taxi into town every night. In the end most of the English holidaymakers sat together and created their own entertainment as things got so dire. The music during the day made me want to kill myself. Those who have stayed there will understand why.

For obvious legal reasons, I am not going to cast aspersions as part of my review in terms of how this arose but the number of guests who suffered alleged "stomach complaints" (and we'll leave it at that) was highly worrying.

I have no idea where the spa is that they purport to have there.

It is indeed a 7am start if you want a sunbed - there is simply not enough of them.

The straw that broke the camel's back (and I do not think this is a minor point) was being asked yesterday to leave the room by midday with no shower room or luggage room provided. A room for another 6 hours would have cost 50 Euros! I pointed out to the Receptionist that we had paid for 7 days All Inclusive and we had in fact had 6.5 days All Inclusive at that point so I was absolutely not paying for a room I had already paid for. There were no rooms apparently available anyway!!! We actually showered in the room of some friends we'd made (and had countless kind offers from others) - there was no way you would want to be stuck without being able to at least shower when the temperature has been up in the high 30's all day. This is an issue that I fully intend to take up with Thomson. I fail to see how you should have to rely on the thoughtfuless and goodwill of other guests for a facility that you have already coughed up for.

Had we gone for 2 weeks I'd really have made more of an issue about these points. Besides, it wasn't all bad. We met some really fantastic people at the Cephalonia Palace who were brilliant fun and absolutely made this holiday for us.

Would I ever go back? Draw your own conclusions......

Room Tip: If you do decide to go ask for a ground floor room - they're cooler than the others and most of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emmalouise_34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lixouri hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We're a couple in our mid 30's who were after 7 days of relaxing sunshine. We went all inclusive so didn't really have to worry about taking too much extra cash. It's all there if you want it, but due to the local bus running into town three times a day (9,3&6) and returning 20 mins after each of those times, you'll have to be happy with eating in the same restaurant three times a day. But that's not a bad thing as the food's good. If you likes Cakes, Desserts etc, prepare to shock your scales when you get home. 10 days or 2 weeks may be too long though. The rooms are decent and the staff are all very nice and helpful. There's an amusing Cat & Dog that know how to get their share of the all inclusive. They hang around by the restaurant (never coming in) and look oh so sweet to get their share. Put food on the floor between them though and the Dog backs off as he knows who'll win that fight. 7 Euros to get a pair of loungers and a brolly on the beach and the usual fight to be the first to get your towel on the pool loungers. The receipt you get when you hire the Beach Loungers has the Hotels name on it, which sort of wound me up a bit as we were all inclusive. They should at least dis-associate themselves with that charge The evening entertainment was okay once you'd put up with the mini disco. We hired a moped for the day from Mikelis at Porto Vehicle hire, 18 euros for the day, 9 euros for a tank of fuel and we saw two thirds of the Island. Check out myrtos Beach, but take some Coral shoes. When I dropped the bike back, Mikelis was good enough to do an 8k drive just to take me back to the hotel!!! Otherwise, Cabs are 10 euros either way. Guests were a mix of Brits and Slovakians and the general atmos was really pleasant. Don't be put off by the transfer times quoted online. From the Airport, the coach drops at 3 hotels and then the Cephalonia Palace Guests at the port. Then there's a pleasant 20 min ride across to Lixouri (Thomson had already given us the prepaid tickets) At the port, there was a mini Bus to finish the last 8k to the Hotel. Finally, we treated ourselves to a massage at the Appolonia Hotel (2 min walk away) which was superb.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phil s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed for 2 weeks half board. Sold as a four star package more two or three at a push. 80s music blaring all day by the pool, couldn't even have a conversation over it. Kids club colouring in or clay modelling in a carportesque shelter outside with no air conditioning. No kids club to interest over 5s. Needed to be at the pool by 7 in the morning to get one of the sunpods (of which there are 20 with 2 beds in each) otherwise you could go to the beach (which was beautiful) and pay the hotel 7 euros for the privilege of 2 sunloungers and an umbrella. For a family of four this becomes expensive over 2 week holiday!! Foodwise breakfast is bland and fruit was of the tinned variety if you didn't want an apple or an orange. Dinner was not a very pleasurable experience as plates were whipped off the table while you chewed your last mouthful and it left the impression of eat as quick as you can and get out and see you for breakfast for more of the same! food at dinner was also non descript except for Greek night once a week when we finally felt we were eating Greek food and it was delicious. Rooms were small with uncomfortable beds and as family of four we were given a twin room with camp beds wedged in. Room was cramped, lighting dire and the bathroom so small the door only opened half way as it was blocked by the loo on the other side. Air con was set on a timer and went off after an hour. Kept waking up overheating! Also entertainment from the poolside (goes on until 11ish) can be heard loud and clear from the rooms irritating if you want to sleep or just hear yourself think! Also if you look on the website it states wellness spa and sea water jacuzzi available. Neither were to be found! Kefalonia is a beautiful island and the beaches are beautiful but this hotel is not up to scratch a real shame.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hollydays1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

The reviews overall on this site for the C.P. Hotel seem to be split into two opinions. One is excellent, cracking, coming back next year. The other is poor, dated, noisy, tackfest. I am in the latter, but I think the important thing is to realise what type of person you are and you're pre-arrival expectations. If you're not worried about the more cultured side of life and only want the sun, pool, tan and a good Jackie Collins or Ian McNabb novel then you will enjoy your stay here. If you go on holiday, NOT wanting bizarre eurohouse thumping music around the pool mixed with Kate Bush medley's and even louder and incessantly tackier banging dance music on the beach then don't come here. If you enjoy the challenge of setting you're alarm early to get out and reserve a strangely canopied, airless sunbead area, by an alarmingly small pool for the number of guests, then stay here. If you have dignity and don't want to rush to grab one of the beds and don't enjoy a semi-concrete jungle aesthetic around the pool and garden areas then don't stay here.
The rooms are in the order of good quality youth hostel. The staff on the whole whilst not unpleasant, are of the strained welcoming type. I thought maybe I was just being over fussy, but when we went to the Dolphins bar on the front I realised I wasn't. The staff there are warm and 'genuinely' friendly and work very hard indeed.
Beach was packed and just stressful. If you 'have' booked this place then go left on the beach and round the little rock onto a much quieter section. Or better still, get a car and go to Vatsa beach nearby which literally saved the whole holiday, quiet, space, stunning cove with quality taverna.
Entertainment is not applicable as we don't get the entertainment thing anyway. But for those that do, you're in for a surreal experience. My wife said that she had seen much tackier goings on on holiday before such as bingo etc. The next night?........yeah you got it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lixouri
0.2 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa
#1 of 11 in Lixouri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
21.9 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
21.8 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ionian Sea Hotel & Villas - Aqua Park
6.5 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
14.5 mi away
Kefalonia Bay Palace
Kefalonia Bay Palace
#4 of 6 in Agia Efimia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cephalonia Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cephalonia Palace Hotel

Property: Cephalonia Palace Hotel
Address: Sandy Beach | Xi Beach, Lixouri 282 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lixouri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lixouri
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lixouri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cephalonia Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, HostelWorld, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cephalonia Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cephalonia Palace
Cephalonia Palace Lixouri
Cephalonia Palace Hotel Lixouri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing