We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good But Not What We Wanted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cephalonia Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Lixouri
Bedford England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Good But Not What We Wanted”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Had booked through Thomson for Utopia in Katelios but was changed 2 weeks before we left. We had booked a small hotel and had a large one which we did not want with the kids club and entertainment around the pool. Having said that the food was very good the only criticism was the "Juice" which was very weak squash at the best.
The beach was a sanctuary for us and only a few minutes walk away - near enough to pop back for drinks and lunch. We were All inclusive and I was surprised that beer was served in pint glasses and stop tap was midnight. Staff very helpful and although we arrived just as the restrurant was about to close we were allowed to carry on.
Transfer time was put at 2 hours plus half hour ferry but this was just to cover missing a feryy - we did it in about an hour which was a nice bonus.
Could not really fault the hotel but if you want to get out and about it is not in the right location for this.
If you wanted a POD you had to get up at 6.60 - 7.00
Safe deposit boxes are free.

Room Tip: room 257 seemed to have the best view in our block
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hssd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    113
    102
    35
    32
See reviews for
143
172
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

After looking at the photos and reviews for this hotel myself and my wife were both looking forward to a week there, relaxing and enjoying the sunshine.
What a disappointment, especially the buffet food for breakfast and dinner! We would have preferred not to have had to have eaten there every day but as we were booked on half board we felt we had better make the most of it as we had already paid for it. Because it was a buffet a lot of the times the food was luke warm, some of the meat was tough and lots of it was also covered in cheese, so when you can't eat dairy this limits your options quite considerably.
If you are after a relaxing and peaceful holiday this isn't the best hotel to stay in. I think it should be stated that this hotel is mainly suited to families because as a couple we wanted to sit round the pool and relax, not hear screaming children all the time!
Also if you wanted to actually get a lounger by the pool you had to get up at the crack of dawn to put your towel down, otherwise it was impossible to get one.
Because of this we went to nearby hotel, the Apollonion, and used their pool which was much quieter and you could actually enjoy reading your book in peace.
If you are not into loud music in the evening you are better off trying to get a room as far away from the pool area as possible.
The hotel offers free wi-fi but it's only a good offer if it actually works, as it was very intermittent.
If you didn't want to spend every day by the pool you definitely need a car to get around the island. We found booking a hire car before we left home was much cheaper than doing it once you get there.
There are some great places to visit such as Fiskardo, Assos, Sami and Myrtos beach, to name just a few. Do bear in mind though that to use the ferry it will cost you around 17 Euros for a return ticket, which is for 2 adults and a car.
I know we have been quite negative about the hotel but it really wasn't what we hoping for. The island is a beautiful place to visit, just choose a different hotel if you want peace and quiet!

Room Tip: Try to choose a room in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We have already got holiday blues, with our return from a 2 week all inclusive holiday staying at Cephalonia Palace. We had a truly amazing and relaxing time. All staff were extremely helpful and nothing was ever too much to ask. The location is quite isolated however if you're happy with a pool and beach then this is the perfect place for you, if not then a taxi ride or car will be needed. The transfer time was a lot shorter than expected and the ferry rides were a lot of fun. One day we got the ferry over to Argostoli and saw the sea turtles by the harbour which was a really unique and exciting experience. Another day we went to a different beach called 'Petani' which was beautiful, a 35-40 minute taxi trip costing 45 euros return (extremely good value) - the beach enabled us to snorkel as it was very clear and full of sea life.
The bedroom was as expected with an all-inclusive hotel: bedroom and bathroom. The only issue we had with the room was that it didn't have a double bed as we requested but we made do with two singles pushed together - very cosy. Air conditioning in the room was very useful as the temperature outside got very hot after midday.

All in all our holiday was very good from start to finish the hotel exceeded our expectations with great staff and services. We would recommend this to anyone from couples to families - great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We have just returned from 1 week all inclusive, the staff were briliant and very friendly they couldnt do enough to help. The rooms are a bit tired but spotless and the beds were comfortable. It is in a lovely location, very peaceful, and will definatley visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Crikey!….. It’s true ….. it’s out in the sticks!
But… I’ll tell you my thoughts… on all the best bits.
The transfer was fun….crossing by ferry…
Thomson ….took care of us….so nothing was scary.
The hotel itself… was spotlessly clean….
with the loveliest pool….. that I’ve ever seen.
We played… “water polo“…each day…. just for fun…
great to be active…in the heat of the sun!
The gardens were pretty… with exotic palm trees…
that danced to the tune….. of every light breeze.
Every meal that was offered…. was such a delight…
my favourite …being… the special Greek Night.
ALL the staff… were amazing …they worked hard it’s true…
especially the ladies…who cleaned up the bird poo!
The beach was nearby… and perfectly nice…
the sand was the colour…. of cinnamon spice.
The cliffs…. were a striking…. chalky,…white… grey…
when moistened with water ….became a soft clay!
If you stood in the sea …which was warm…. and so clear
you saw… beautiful mountains…. so far… yet so near.
If you fancied a change…. from the pool or the beach….
the bus left …..at nine thirty…. and cost…. one sixty each.
We hopped off at Lixouri …and wandered around…
plenty of shops and Tavernas we found.
The bus takes you back at ….quarter past three….
but to get back for lunch… we caught a taxi.
Ten euros… it cost! But oh… what the heck!
Didn’t fancy the walk … it was quite a long trek!
We booked an excursion…a lot of money we spent….
but well worth it…. I think….for all the places we went.
Of Assos….Fiskardo…Myrtos Beach ….I would rave…
but… the most stunning of all…was down in the cave!
Well…I could ramble on…I’ve a lot more to say…
but I’ll let you get on…..choosing your next holiday!
So… just to sum up….if you’re happy to chill…
Kefalonia Island… should fit the bill.
The hotel and staff……….score “ten out of ten “
And …yes …..I’d be delighted…. to visit again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank followthewaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Like many others we were changed at short notice from the Utopia but we decided we would go with an open mind. Yes the rooms might be a bit tired and the bathrooms need refurbishing but it didnt matter because they were spotless, the maid did an amazing job and worked her socks off every day. The beds were firm but really comfortable, the air conditioning worked like a dream.
The entertainment team worked hard, but is was the usual quiz shows and bingo, Sunday's there are some Greek dancers who come in and do a turn, maybe the hotel should have a few nights with some form of entertainment. As for comments that kids were running wild every night we stayed for two weeks and saw no sign of this.
We hired a car for 4 days and saw most of the island, we visited Katelios and saw the Utopia which looked ultra modern but in truth there looked less in Katelios than there was here. You can catch a bus from the hotel each day to Lixouri and then catch the ferry to Argastoli, which we did one day and we went straight to the harbour and saw the turtles feeding when the fishermen came in, pretty amazing and you can see this around 10-10.30am.
The staff are all so helpful they cant do enough for you, the bar staff in the day are so full of fun they obviously love their jobs, the evening one at the pool bar works her socks off dont know how she copes on her own, the terrace bar is open in the evenings but there is nothing going on but its nice if you want a quiet drink we thought the girl here was a bit miserable but if you take the time to talk to her she is really quite cheerful. The restaurant staff are all very pleasant and efficient, the food is really good and we were never stuck for something nice to eat. The salads are really good and the chips are far too nice to resist.
The only negatives I can come up with is the sunbeds around the pool which get towels put on from 6am and then you dont see anyone on them until around 10am but this is no different from other hotels we have been to.
The transfer time is nowhere near as long as we thought it was going to be and it was rather nice going over on the ferry.
If you go to the beach the subeds are five euros for two beds and umbrella, the beach itself is lovely, you can walk from one end to the other quite easily as where the rocks jut out the sea is so shallow that you can walk around them. Just be aware though that a few times we were there we kept getting tiny black flies landing on us and we could feel them nipping us in fact on the last day they were really bad.
All in all we had an amazing time and made lots of new friends and if we ever went back to the same place more than once we would be quite happy to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cynthiamay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I spent a week, all inclusive at this hotel. The staff were more than accommodating, the food very good, the location brilliant with the exception of not enough to do at night. However, I have had a fabulous week and a super holiday. The sun cruise was good value for money and I event went horse riding in Lixouri - just super. The rooms were cleaned every single day with fresh sheets and towels. I can thoroughly recommend this holiday. Just a wisely word - dont put your key card next to your mobile phone - it dedactivates the card key!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spinlady1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lixouri
0.2 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa
#1 of 11 in Lixouri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
21.9 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
21.8 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ionian Sea Hotel & Villas - Aqua Park
6.5 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
14.5 mi away
Kefalonia Bay Palace
Kefalonia Bay Palace
#4 of 6 in Agia Efimia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cephalonia Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cephalonia Palace Hotel

Property: Cephalonia Palace Hotel
Address: Sandy Beach | Xi Beach, Lixouri 282 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lixouri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lixouri
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lixouri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cephalonia Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cephalonia Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cephalonia Palace
Cephalonia Palace Lixouri
Cephalonia Palace Hotel Lixouri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing