We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs A Little Polish...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cephalonia Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Lixouri
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Needs A Little Polish...”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

COULD be a perfect piece of paradise! A few 'finishing touches' needed. Can't complain about the food or restaurant service....most of the staff always smiling and welcoming...but WHO is that unkempt little chap who hovers around the buffet area, a moustache bigger than him (some guests refer to him as Super Mario), looks like the local handyman & smells like a bin man, usually eyeing the women up and down?? He really does lower the tone of the restaurant..
Our room was adequate although in need of a general makeover. The cleaning ladies did a good job although it was clear their brooms didn't reach under the beds.. so maybe some new equipment or more staff would be a good idea.
Animation was ok - if you are 5 years old - but very repetitive...boring...unimaginative...maybe a bigger team with fresh ideas would be a little more exciting for everyone plus a larger selection of 'background' music, it was the same every day, even the music in the main bar, particularly on Greek Night didn't strike me as typically Greek (plus the complimentary ouzo shots served by the animation team from huge plastic bottles did nothing to help the authenticity of the evening)....In fact the best entertainment was The Battle Of The Sunbeds..guests removing other guests towels from sunbeds when they'd gone to the trouble of setting their alarm clock for 2am to creep down to the pool and secure a bed for the day...guests almost coming to blows when they discovered their towels lying in a heap on the grass and a non-English speaking stranger happily sunbathing on their 'pre-booked' lounger -grrr!!
On the plus side, Cephalonia Palace has a wonderful atmosphere and some of the most friendly and helpful staff I have ever met but it's crying out for those little improvements that wouldn't cost the earth but would certainly improve the current rating and make it the perfect haven on this heavenly island.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moneypenny2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    116
    104
    35
    32
See reviews for
145
178
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denbigh, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

After reading some reviews on here we were very apprehensive about our stay at the Kefalonia Palace but what a fantastic week we've had! Rooms very clean and easily slept our family of 4, the food was excellent and varied, the pool was amazing and we managed to get sun beds every day, we can't wait to go back! An extra thank you goes to the staff who all worked extremely hard. A perfect holiday for young families :)

Room Tip: Ground floor garden room was very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CathyP_19832013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The hotel was very clean and the staff were really helpful. The rooms were basic but pleasant enough and had everything you would need as a base, no UK TV and the Wi-Fi access was sporadic, which can be a good thing for adults, but would have been useful for younger children when escaping from the sun for a few hours. As a family we all enjoyed the pool and the all inclusive option was very good, the food was always hot and there was a reasonable variation. Vegetarian option was not clearly marked and it was a bit of a lucky dip what was in it, but if you asked the staff they would tell you if it contained meat or fish.
The animation team provided entertainment each evening and was really popular with the younger children. The location is quiet but if you hire a car you can pretty much see the island in a few days, although the roads take a bit of getting used to with the cliff drop edges, the views are amazing. The only downside to this hotel is the smoking, the outside entertainment of an evening does not have any non smoking sections so it is a free for all and the same by the pool, although bearable, for the children who are not used to being around families that smoke it can be unpleasant. As a family we really enjoyed our stay at the hotel but did find the towel on the sun bed situation very annoying. People did stake their claim on sunbeds at ridiculous times and although there was signs telling people if they did not appear by 11am the towels would be removed, the reality was nothing happened. All in all a good hotel, but with a few improvements it could be better for everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyBirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My first experience of all enclosure holidays was disappointing. I cannot complain about the food what there was ,was ok. For mass catering I suppose it was ok. You knew on Tuesday you would get X,Y & Z. You knew for breakfast you could have something that resembled bacon and either a solid fried egg or one that was not quite cooked.There were 2 or 3 local tavernas that did food but only snack type food. We did go out to a taverna some 5 or so miles away which was good( sorry cannot remember the name) The bar again was ok but only local sprits or beer available on the all inclusive. Any branded sprits was at full price EG:- 7 star mataxa 7 euros to me thats expensive. The beach was full of sun beds, you had 2 options that was to go to the noisy end where the kids toys were Eg paragliding or Jet skis, or you could wade through some deep water to a quiet part you could then walk down to a beach bar called Fishbones (very peaceful) and cheep
The staff were all very friendly and helpful, all spoke English. I doubt that I will take up all inclusive offer again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueDomino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Hello,

We stayed at this hotel in June 2013, expecting a relaxed holiday. Unfortunately, we didn’t really get what we were looking for.

1. The location – is pretty isolated, if you are an active person, it’s a good idea to rent a bike or a car and visit other places on the island. Xi beach is ok, with its reddish sand; the sea has almost no waves, ideal for families with small children. You can find rather many algae in the water, but it’s ok
2. The hotel – is rather large with a beautiful pool, large and very clean. Also not so much chlorine so perfect for swimming. It would be nice if it had an outside space to eat, at least at lunch time, but the restaurant is indoor. And here is a problem…. The food is repetitive, every day the same thing and not that much so you can vary. The quality was very disappointing (green tomatoes, salted cheese, raw pancakes, old fruits, a much diluted fruit juice – no way fresh). There was no traditional food, not even a Greek salad daily. We had a Greek night and I could only find souvlaki dish….the rest, same boring food as ever. I wouldn’t recommend All Inclusive…it’s not really worth it.
3. The rooms – the furnisher is not modern, it could use a “makeover”. The bathroom is not in the greatest condition, the shower is kind of rusty.
4. Service – and here is the greatest problem. All matters could have been better if the service was great. As an exception: the cleaning staff (we were pleased by that aspect), the girls from the bar are quite nice and friendly (unfortunately the drinks are horrible, diluted bear, gin tonic of the worst quality), some waiters are nice, lady from the shop. But there are the rest, starting with the RESTAURANT MANAGER. Such a grumpy man, he would sit there at every meal, without a smile on his face and sometimes doing chores that shouldn’t be done by him: serving at tables, cleaning the tables, etc. The most disturbing event happened one lunch time when we arrived later that the time scheduled. The manager was there and he snapped at us because we were late, and how can we not know the scheduled program and we can eat only because he is so generous and will let us take one plate and only one (at that time there were other people eating there and plenty of food). We apologized for our delay and recommended he had a more relaxed and friendly attitude towards the customers but there was no understanding. Later on he apologized, but with the same superior attitude. Afterwards, in the day before our departure we kindly asked for early breakfast for the next day since the departure was at 7 in the morning. They offered us cookies and when we sad that this is not an acceptable breakfast he said that these are the rules and deal with it, without the slightest effort to help. Great attitude….
The same response we received from the reception staff. We can eat the cookies or not. Anyway it’s not their problem, even if we paid for that day.

We would definitely not return to this hotel, as I am sure that there are other hotels far nicer than this one in the area.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel for all inclusive
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Swipi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lixouri hotels

Bucharest
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We booked here in June, after reading almost all the reviews (good and bad). Unfortunately our experience was very disappointing and our holiday was ruined choosing this hotel.
I tell you from the beginning this is not a 4 star hotel! The rooms are furnished in the 80's and the bathroom is old the shower is rusty. I uploaded some photos for this... At the balcony door they are not mosquito net and this made me stay awake over night because there are a lot of insects! I wonder how much would it costs?? I would pay more for this... And this would decrease the costs with conditioned air which worked all night long.
This hotel does not have sea view rooms in the real meaning of this expression. Is located 100 m from sea and there are some buildings to the beach so if you pay more for a sea view room you will receive a room to the pool (not to the road or some vacant land near by).
Now... the restaurant. I came to this island in Greece to eat food from Metro cash&carry :(( They offered us the same breakfast: very salted feta cheese, some ham, etc. all the food we can find everywhere in our country too. We would expect some Mediterranean menu with real Greek feta cheese and other Greek dishes. No way!! As dessert they offered us some pears from South Africa while you could find melon and melon water on every street on this island! It was the biggest mistake to pay for all inclusive! Anyway after 3 days we began to eat to a tavern nearby the real Greek food. All inclusive means here that between meals if you are hungry you can eat some horrible biscuits from the same Metro or Carrefour whatever.
I have to tell you that I wouldn't write here about food (I'm not a food-minded) but the attitude of the restaurant manager was the worse I ever experienced. This is a man who has nothing to do with being polite with clients, you know - a client oriented attitude. He stand there serious and affected like a glumly eagle watching every employee and the clients, what are they doing, what are they eating and how much telling them (to the clients) where to stay... Things I never experienced at a hotel on my holiday. And the restaurant staff - the same problem. They do not understand that a smile can erase every bad thing and if they are nice you will give them more tips. There were 2 days when somebody from TUI Agency was there and we could see a BIG difference in the food and the staff attitude. Pity that they were there for just 2 days :(
At the pool bar, where everybody here on this site was very satisfied: yes, the girls are nice and always smiling and talking to everybody but the drinks are horrible! The coffee is from some bad machine, I couldn't drink it and something happened with the beer too, it was very light.
A few words about entertainment team: they have nothing to do with entertaining people, talking at a microphone and putting some Russian music or international hits since the 80's is not what we expected to.
I wrote all this stuff because if somebody is thinking to go here just to know what to expect to and to not have this experience like we had.
A GOOD thing: the rooms and the swimming pool are very clean. And the cleaning staff know how to smile!
Other things to know: The beach is small with no waves, excellent for babies, there are a lot of Russian people so the entertainment and music is in mainly in that language, the island is big and the roads are serpentine and the returning ferry is at 8,30 in the morning. On the beach the sunbeds and umbrella cost 5 euro/day.

Room Tip: Buy something against mosquitos and choose a room not at ground floor (here can enter a lot of insec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kikidut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Had booked through Thomson for Utopia in Katelios but was changed 2 weeks before we left. We had booked a small hotel and had a large one which we did not want with the kids club and entertainment around the pool. Having said that the food was very good the only criticism was the "Juice" which was very weak squash at the best.
The beach was a sanctuary for us and only a few minutes walk away - near enough to pop back for drinks and lunch. We were All inclusive and I was surprised that beer was served in pint glasses and stop tap was midnight. Staff very helpful and although we arrived just as the restrurant was about to close we were allowed to carry on.
Transfer time was put at 2 hours plus half hour ferry but this was just to cover missing a feryy - we did it in about an hour which was a nice bonus.
Could not really fault the hotel but if you want to get out and about it is not in the right location for this.
If you wanted a POD you had to get up at 6.60 - 7.00
Safe deposit boxes are free.

Room Tip: room 257 seemed to have the best view in our block
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hssd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lixouri
0.2 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa
#1 of 11 in Lixouri
777 reviews
21.9 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Ionian Sea Hotel & Villas - Aqua Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
14.5 mi away
Kefalonia Bay Palace
Kefalonia Bay Palace
#4 of 6 in Agia Efimia
258 reviews
6.5 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cephalonia Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cephalonia Palace Hotel

Property: Cephalonia Palace Hotel
Address: Sandy Beach | Xi Beach, Lixouri 282 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lixouri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lixouri
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lixouri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cephalonia Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, HostelWorld, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cephalonia Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cephalonia Palace
Cephalonia Palace Lixouri
Cephalonia Palace Hotel Lixouri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing