We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cephalonia Palace Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Lixouri
Reviewed 1 October 2013

hotel in the middle of nowhere, 10 euros each way in a taxi to nearest resort Lixouri, the room was basic at best, the bathroom was tiny with cracked tiles and mould. The room itself was basic with air cond which was extremely old, the balcony had a old birds nest in the corner which hadn't been removed in years. The all inclusive was poor no access to drinks at lunch time you had to ask the staff for drinks which was a problem as they were very busy. Due to the greek economy the owner has made drastic cuts in order to save his pockets and unfortunately the customers are suffering.

Room Tip: Do not go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank c J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed here 19 to the 26th sept , nice hotel , very clean , rooms cleaned every day ,bed and towels changed every day , food good , staff very generous with the drinks , entertainment not so good at night , all staff work hard and are very friendly , very quiet area , just a handful of tavernas , so if your looking for more night life don't stay here , if your looking for a nice peaceful holiday , then this is the place for you , would I go back to this hotel , yes I would , it's worth getting the ferry over to the capital , only 2.50 euros , and you can catch the loggerhead turtles near the harbour .

Room Tip: High floor pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank suebyk44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed here for the second year running. Love the location, hotel is lovely, everything was always clean, fresh linen and towels everyday. The restaurant food was always good and all the staff were friendly and polite. My only complaint were the drinks being too strong (although I doubt many would complain about that!). All in all a lovely place to enjoy a peaceful relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks here , and after reading some of the reviews we were a bit apprehensive , but we found the food totally adequate with quite a variety ,and some evenings even very good , we didn`t eat in every night as it was nice to vary it a bit....but the rooms were acceptable and always cleaned every day , and the staff were great , even `Mario` the owner who some guests thought was miserable, not at all, he was very friendly. All in all we had a great time

Room Tip: Our room was one of the first on the second floor, not sure about all the others, would think the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

the bar staff make a great effort.the rooms are very tired,the food is of a very poor standard spent a lot of time eating out.eating should be a part of your holiday enjoyment not a chore.just spent two weeks 8/09/13-22/09/13.there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stephen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

just spent 2 weeks on half board basis. Staff were lovely and our room (although a bit tired looking) was cleaned well everyday with bedding and towels changed every 2nd day. We probably would have chosen the excellent score but we both found the food pretty poor. We eventually started eating out at night at a local tavern even though we'd paid for evening meals as we couldn't face eating another meal in the restaurant in the hotel. It wasn't terrible but we didn't enjoy it either. We'd go back to the hotel but only if we could go on a bed and breakfast basis. A few other people we spoke to agreed with our views on the food but then again others seemed to enjoy it so maybe it's just personal taste? Overall the holiday was lovely but they need to sort out the issue with letting people get away with putting towels on the limited sunbeds around the pool when they're not there,

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Booked through Thomson at a relatively late (last minute) date for a stay in early September and upgraded to an all inclusive package. This is a 3 star hotel, no more but no less. Accomadation and food although unspectacular was more than adequate. Pleasant location with the benefit of being only a two minute stroll from the pleasant (red sand) beach. We found this preferable to the pool area, which, although perfectly pleasant with a good sized pool, we found the curious pods not to our liking. The location on the south side of the Lixouri peninsular is pleasant and involves approximatley a 35 to 45 minute bus journey from the airport to Argostoli and then a 20 minute ferry ride to Lixouri followed by a 15 minute bus ride to the resort. Sounds a hassle but it actually was not and broke the transfer up nicely.

One thing that the European version of 'all inclusive' is that they do not seem to have fully understood the concept. Here, virtually all alcohol was unlimited and yet bottled water was chargeable. Also the beach area was chargeable 5 euro a day yet bizzarley you were issued a receipt with a 'Cephalonia Palace Hotel' title. Probably something to take up with the operator as they indicated that the beach was included.

Prior to leaving UK I e mailed the hotel directly requesting a top floor, quiet room which they duly complied with. I paid the operator £35 to keep the room on for the final day and then found that the hotel would have done it for 13 euro (a third of the price) I guess a symptom of revenue grabbing tour operators. The bar service was excellent and hardly ever had to wait to be served. Entertainment a bit dismal but they did their best. Reception fine although there was one who felt that it was clearly our priviledge to consult with her.

In summary though I would say that you may get better value in other parts of the med but for Kefalonia I felt that this was decent value and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

ARC - Stockport, Cheshire, UK

Room Tip: From talking to other guests the room view upgrades were a waste of money, all rooms seemed OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adrian49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lixouri
0.2 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel
21.8 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
21.9 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Dionysos Village Resort
6.5 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
2.7 mi away
Hotel Summery
Hotel Summery
#2 of 11 in Lixouri
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cephalonia Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cephalonia Palace Hotel

Address: Sandy Beach | Xi Beach, Lixouri 282 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lixouri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lixouri
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lixouri
Price Range: £53 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cephalonia Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cephalonia Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cephalonia Palace
Cephalonia Palace Lixouri
Cephalonia Palace Hotel Lixouri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing