We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cephalonia Palace Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Lixouri
Reviewed 7 September 2008

This was our second visit to the Cephalonia Palace Hotel and we really enjoyed it yet again. The hotel is a few miles away from Lixouri so it is useful to have a car for a couple of days to get around and see the island. We met staff and entertainers that had been at the hotel last time, and they were warm and welcoming. The room was clean and tidy, the maids came in everyday. The restaurant was clean and tidy with at least 5 main course selections every night, with soup, salad and chips also. The pool area was clean and the gardens well kept. All the hotel staff were very helpful. The Animation entertainment team were great and our two sons really enjoyed joining in all the activities. YAMAS. I would definately recommend this hotel to people who like a quiet and relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Welshcelticgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2008

well where do i start, if any of you who booked kgv, and are not sure about this hotel there is absolutely no need to worry.we travelled in a party of 12, three families who had booked 3 family rooms at kgv and had the holiday cancelled, first of all we were sceptical about the reviews for the kefalonia palace hotel, some good some bad. on arriving at the hotel we were greeted by the friendly receptionist and the hotel manager thanos who was very accomadating,it was 10;30 pm when we arrived and they had saved us all a 3 course meal which we thought was very warming. the rooms were cleaned daily to a very good standard,the entertainment was second to none thaks to savi madu annette and the other two girls i forget there names,they kept the kids and the adults entertained every day bar friday, which was their day off.food was excellent a choice of at least four different dishes at dinner, plus all the salads and garnish you could eat, there was one complaint from a veggie that ther was not enough choice for her,[tough lol].but there was enough for veggies all the salad , fish pasta etc. all in all we had a very good time and glad we never got hotel we had booked, as it looked like an overcrowded butlins with sunbeds 5 deep by the pool many thanks to all the staff, waiters and the animation team hope to see you next year.

Stayed: July 2008
2  Thank shagga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2008

Just back from Ceph Palace and had a great time. Have previous reviewers been at same hotel? Moved at last minute from Kephalonia Garden Village and so glad. It was far too busy for us. Ceph Palace had a nice atmosphere about it. A bit out of the way but we knew this before we went so we had hired a car which also allowed us to tour this beautiful island.

On night of arrival a meal had been kept back for us - very much appreciated as it was late and we were starving. Also, on last day of holiday we were able to keep our room up until we left with no extra charge. Staff were always very helpful.

Food was excellent - this was first time we had been All Inclusive and certainly could recommend it. Great choice at every meal. Never heard anyone complain about food. Adults and chlldren alike seemed well pleased what was on offer. We came back quite a little bit heavier!!

First week it was hard to get a sun bed at times but second week staff were removing towels from sunbeds if they had not been occupied after one hour.

Rooms spotless cleaned every day. Air conditioning was welcomed. We were able to operate remote manually so we could have it on all night. - bliss!!

Great relaxing holiday, clean friendly hotel with good food but don't go here if you want a noisy, lively time.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank furbs2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2008

As a single female traveller I was concerned when I read some of the reviews. I needn't have worried and wonder if these people stayed at the same hotel?!?! All staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. Nice clean rooms, good food and lovely pool area. The hotel is isolated with no shops/bars nearby, but this is stipulated in holiday brochures. Evening entertainment would have been nice - I believe this started the week after I left. However this didn't spoil my holiday. I recommend an island tour - Myrtos Bay, Assos and Fiskardo are breathtakingly beautiful. Also Mellasini lake and Drogarati caves. The island is unspoilt and you get to see 'real' greece. Overall a great holiday - total relaxation in lovely surroundings. The weather was fab too - up to 42 degrees! Air conditionng in rooms was very welcome, as was fridge to keep those drinks cool. Tea/coffee making facilities an added bonus. A highly recommended hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank welshbirdWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2008

We have just returned from a fantastic week at the Cefalonia Palace and felt that a lot of people have been very unfair about this hotel. We were moved from the Kefalonia Garden Village at the last minute and after visiting it were so relieved, the Palace is of a MUCH higher standard. The rooms are immaculate and ours had a plasma TV, the food was varied, plentiful and of a high standard, there can be some problems getting a lounger by the pool but there is always the beach and anyway hire mopeds and get out and about the island is beautiful- Petani beach takes about 20mins and has a beach full of beautiful white stones and clear blue water we went snorkelling here and saw a stingray, you can save lots of money on taxi's etc by doing it this way. If anything it is your attitude if its negative from the start you won't enjoy your holiday. Don't bother with a transfer from the airport you can get a taxi from the airport to the ferry port for 15 euros the ferry costs 2 euros each and the taxi at the other end 10 euros a LOT cheaper than an organised transfer. Be prepared to eat out sometimes to vary your trip and go see Assos and Fiskardo. The staff in this hotel work very hard and long hours our room was cleaned every day and the staff were friendly and accommodating, the beds were a bit hard but above average for Greece there is lots to do and see just educate yourself before you go and have a bit of a plan i am sure you will love every second

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank longholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2008

we have just returned from a week staying at the ceph palace our first week was spent at the garden villiage which was great for the kids my parents were joining us for the second week but unfortunately the hotel and travel company had a falling out resulting in all that companys guests arriving that week being moved to th ceph palace as the two hotels are miles apart we asked to be moved as well what a mistake!!!the so called family room was more like a cell small double bed and a set of bunk beds crammed into a tiny space the air con was on a timer and went of during the night so you wake up gasping for breath in the airless dungeon,the room was on the bottom floor so the view was a mound of grass. we were put on "soft all inclusive" there were very strict rules about what you could have the staff watched you like hawks making sure you didnt have more than your allowance the bar staff were the worst you would have thought they were paying themselves, i felt very degraded i paid a lot of money for all inclusive at the other hotel and it was great as much food and drink as you wanted.the dining room at the ceph palace was also awful very dated, poor air con,no outside area or outside bar you were not allowed to take drinks out of the bar or resteraunt and got told of if you did i felt like a child constantly being watched.the pool was nice but far too deep for children my 7 year old son could not even stand up in the shallow end.ther was no entertainment for the children even though the brochure states it is a family friendly hotel. the best part of the week was the island tour it was so nice to get away and see the other parts of what is a lovely island full of history. i would tell anyone to go to kefalonia for a holiday but not to this awful hotel

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank julie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2008

My wife and I have just returned from an excellent week’s holiday at the CPH (8th to 15th May 2008). The trip from Lixouri, the nearest town to the hotel, was initially concerning as it was not the most attractive scenery being mainly unfinished buildings and other construction works. The hotel was however an ‘oasis’ from this approach and to be fair if you ventured beyond the hotel to explore the beauty of the island, the immediate surroundings of the hotel are of no consequence. Car hire is very cheap and a must.

Standards of the pool, bar and restaurant were excellent, as were the friendly and helpful staff. All drinks were very reasonably priced as were the lunches from the poolside bar, certainly far cheaper than outside the hotel. The buffet breakfast and evening meals offered a wide choice and were of good quality. It was interesting to note that the majority of other guests were on return visits to the hotel.

The only negatives were the small size of rooms and background refurbishment work going on, although the decoration of all rooms would be complete by now.

As we were somewhat ‘out of season’ there were a few downsides, namely no bus service to Lixouri (taxi 10 euros) and the beach bar being closed; this however was more than offset by the fact that the hotel was only part filled, leaving the pool and beach almost to ourselves.

In all an excellent value holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank HomesickTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lixouri
0.2 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel
21.8 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
21.9 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Dionysos Village Resort
6.5 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
2.7 mi away
Hotel Summery
Hotel Summery
#2 of 11 in Lixouri
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cephalonia Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cephalonia Palace Hotel

Address: Sandy Beach | Xi Beach, Lixouri 282 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lixouri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lixouri
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lixouri
Price Range: £52 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cephalonia Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cephalonia Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cephalonia Palace
Cephalonia Palace Lixouri
Cephalonia Palace Hotel Lixouri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing