We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for quiet family holiday or romantic week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cephalonia Palace Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Lixouri
Reviewed 25 June 2014

A great hotel in a quiet area. Good for a romantic week away, or quiet family holiday. Quiet because it requires car hire, infrequent bus or taxi to get to nearest town - Lixouri, and then a ferry to capital of the Island - Argostoli.
All inclusive food in hotel widely varied and very good. Breakfast - continental and cooked. Lunch - hot and cold and desserts. Dinner - hot and cold and desserts. Multiple meats, fish and veg options every night. Very good quality, we were always full. All inclusive drinks and snacks all good, and generous. Check website for timings.
Went with Thompson, and the rep was great. Excursions a bit pricey but the Discover Kefalonia was good. Drogorati Caves (about 5EURO entrance fee) and Melisani Lake (about 7EURO fee) are both superb sites. Assos, Myrtos Bay and Fiskardo are lovely to see.
Hotel pool is nice a big, also a kids pool. Regular activities, good for kids especially. Tennis court, table tennis and outdoor chess set were good. No gym was a shame.
Local Beach (Xi Beach) is nice, but you have to pay 6EURO for a sunbed.
Staff very helpful and most speak some English. Cleaners very good.

All in all, highly recommended. Not 5 star due to no gym and not much to do locally, and no beach towels provided by hotel!

Room Tip: No double beds at all, but cleaners put a double sheet on two single beds together. Top floor is a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Had a weeks Holliday at the beginning of June here with my boyfriend on a all inclusive basis, and have to say it is one of my best Holliday destinations yet, The rooms are basic but comfy and all have balconys, however don't be fooled in to upgrading to a sea view room as they are all the same, they are cleaned daily and if you are wanting a bed made in to a double then put a pillow down the centre of the bed with Sheet over and the maids will know you want your beds together.
The hotel food is as can be expected, but they do there utmost to make sure you have all you need,although the food can be on the cold side, you won't go hungry as lots of choice. Alcoholic drinks are off the best quality and be warned they aren't shy on measures which for us was good.
The hotel is set in a quite location, i wouldn't say it was a kids place as not a lot for them to do, and with kids myself I wouldn't take mine here. Although could of been due to the time of season as it's early, and not a great deal of entertainment for kiddies.( But that's my view) however the beach is lovely with water sports ect and a few tavernas. Nice walks and must walk to the lagoon.
The pool at the hotel is clean the beds with pods are lovely and comfy and the staff clean up all the time, pool bar Serves drinks& Ice cream (some you have to pay for) no snacks between breakfast lunch dinner provided although there is a shop on site.
The hotel staff are extremely welcoming and can't do enough for you, they are all polite and friendly and evelin the bar maid is just wonderful, she talked us through all the places to visit and marked them on a map for us and we hired a car and traveled round, a must if you can, the island is stunning. Mythos beach is out of this world, all though not sand small pebbles. It has clear water
The town is about 10/15 mins away by car cost 10 euros each way by cab. You can get a ferry to allastoli which is about 8 euros for two. this isn't included in all inclusive. (Although when you first arrive you will be given a ferry pass t get you too your hotel and the same on the way home.)
Have to say we had the best Holliday here everyone is friendly, made some great friend and will definitely be returning to this island,

Room Tip: 2nd floor pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kimberley_540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I have just returned from two weeks at the hotel and I have to say it was one of the best holidays we have had! When we book holidays we rely heavily on trip advisor but have to admit we rarely write a review but I felt we had to on this resort as it was so wonderful!
The hotel is spotlessly clean and then rooms are cleaned daily with fresh towels and bedding, the attention to detail is there as well as they are all twin beds but if they see you prefer a double they fill in the middle and make it up as a double which is a nice touch.
The food is good for an all-inclusive, lots of variety, my only comment would be that it isn’t the hottest food but over the years I have found this to be the case in Greece, I can certainly say we didn’t once go hungry! The drinks are also of great quality which again is rare on all-inclusive
My main reason for whole heartedly recommending this resort is the staff, they are so friendly and welcoming from the owner down to the cleaning staff, there are too many to mention all but definitely Krista, Anna and Voula in the pool bar make you smile every day without fail and go out of their way to make you feel welcome and very much looked after, the entertainment was very enjoyable and many a good night was had, they are always on the go and keeping you entertained, Bartek was fab!
We don’t normally do any excursions but I would say Premiere Kefalonia is a must with Thomson, it is a fantastic way to see the whole island and Katerina knows everything there is to know about the Island as well as being lovely! You can arrange it through your Rep Anthony who is always on hand to sort any issues you have and help whenever needed.
As I say if you love Greece you will love this resort and I will definitely be looking to go back next year!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We spent 2 weeks here at the end of june 2013 with my girlfriend. Fantastic family run hotel, with 99% of the staff very helpful and smiley! the drink is of the best quality for an all inclusive unlike most all inclusive hotels where no matter what you order they pour alcohol and add a syrup and all the drinks taste the same. Not here, if you ask for a whisky, you will get Jack Daniels or a similar bourbon or whisky and so on. The food is GREEK NOT ENGLISH! Absolutely gorgeous, with a great selection even in early season and is locally sourced from the island as best they can! Even the owners and their family sit at a table and eat the food at breakfast, dinner and lunch, thats good enough for me!! So any of these reviews that say otherwise are clearly people who like to stuff there faces with either boring bland food or expect burgers and chips!!!! GO TO BENIDORM IF YOU WANT THAT! OR EVEN BETTER STAY AT HOME!
As the hotel description says it is a family hotel and is 10 minutes from the town and pretty secluded but if you neglect to bother looking and reading where you have booked your holiday then serve your self right!!
Im 23 and my girlfriend 20 and we had a great time, meeting some lovely people from both back home in England and others from Sweden and Norway. It is a relaxing resort although balanced out with pool games etc but there is quiet time also. A lovely beach within walking distance. Beautiful gardens, also walked out of the hotel and around the local area which is gorgeous. Yes the rooms are basic and maybe a tad dated, but who travels nearly 2000 miles to sit in their hotel room!!! Aircon works perfectly and if anything is too cold if left on all day!
there are so many people, both couples and families that return year after year, so i think that speaks for itself.
The only bad points were that the manager of the animation team who provided the entertainment wasn't great at his job, and didn't change the programme up enough with it being the same routine every day for the whole 2 weeks! This was noted by the owners and i don't think he will be there in the future.
Lastly the odd ignorant Polish or Russian pushing in when queuing in the restaurant or at the bar, but the staff will notice this when serving you and will ignore them as they are so rude and have no manners. It does say trousers are to be worn in the dining room at dinner time, although they seemed to ignore that and wear a vest and shorts! I did wear shorts but smart tailored shorts with a polo or a shirt just so you know they don't seem to mind if you are reasonably turned out.

Over all a fantastic holiday shared with great new friends.

Will definitely be returning in the near future for another couple of weeks!!

Last but not least just so people know, We booked in Jan 2013 to fly june 18th 2013 and got a fantastic deal £685 each for 2 weeks all inclusive!!! value for money was unbelievable!

Room Tip: sea view on 1st or 2nd floor was lovely!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank AlexBrighton1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

My husband, two year old son and I stayed at this hotel for a week's all inclusive basis 17th-24th September. What a pleasant experience, the food, staff and accommodation were all top notch. Yes, the rooms may be a little outdated and have some rough edges but it by no means spoils the holiday.
The location is isolated, but walk out of the hotel and a few bars and tavernas are conveniently located towards the beach area. What more do you need? Would recommend this Hotel for a young family as the staff are so welcoming towards little ones.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bbooth79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We have just returned from Cephalonia Palace Hotel after 14 nights all inclusive stay. The food was much better than we expected due to reading, in our opinion, inaccurate reviews. We enjoyed the transfer from the airport and it was much quicker than we were led to believe. All the staff were courteous, and Krista and Anna were always happy and friendly towards all guests. We met one of the owners who was very friendly, the resturant manager always looked very smart, and was always approachable and spoke to us regularly. We knew that the hotel was remote but were a little disappointed that there was only one bus a day to Lixouri Port as we thought the taxis were expensive. We had a first floor room number 148, we could see the sea, pool area, and garden which was good and did not find any issues with the room. We knew from reading reviews that we would have to pay for the use of sun beds on the beach, we asked why, the hotel rents the beach from the council. As one of us is a non swimmer the sea was shallow and calm and good for me. Weather was very good. As far as the Thomson organised trips were concerned, we found some a bit misleading and not value for money. On our return journey we were misinformed by the Thomson reps that we could purchase tobacco and ciggarettes at the airport and during our flight, so beware those of you who smoke, so buy in Kefalonia. Overall a very enjoyable holiday at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: We were happy with our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Luckytravellers_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

hotel in the middle of nowhere, 10 euros each way in a taxi to nearest resort Lixouri, the room was basic at best, the bathroom was tiny with cracked tiles and mould. The room itself was basic with air cond which was extremely old, the balcony had a old birds nest in the corner which hadn't been removed in years. The all inclusive was poor no access to drinks at lunch time you had to ask the staff for drinks which was a problem as they were very busy. Due to the greek economy the owner has made drastic cuts in order to save his pockets and unfortunately the customers are suffering.

Room Tip: Do not go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank c J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lixouri
0.2 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel
21.9 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Hotel Summery
Hotel Summery
#2 of 11 in Lixouri
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Terra Mare Hotel
Terra Mare Hotel
#5 of 11 in Lixouri
100 reviews
21.8 mi away
Porto Skala Hotel & Village
7.3 mi away
Petani Bay Hotel- Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cephalonia Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cephalonia Palace Hotel

Address: Sandy Beach | Xi Beach, Lixouri 282 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lixouri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lixouri
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lixouri
Price Range: £53 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cephalonia Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cephalonia Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cephalonia Palace
Cephalonia Palace Lixouri
Cephalonia Palace Hotel Lixouri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing