We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summery by name Summery by nature”
Review of Hotel Summery

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Summery
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Lixouri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This is a basic hotel with simple rooms, shower only in the bathroom and shouldn't be compared with hotels in, say, Spain where they have progressed to much higher levels. That said, the rooms are well appointed and kept meticulously clean with fresh towels and regular change of linen. It is better than other hotels of this type that I have stayed at on other Greek islands particularly as here the rooms are air conditioned. The breakfast consists of all sorts of things from cheese and ham to cereals and "fresh fruit of the day" for want of a better expression! The snacks from the bar, which we had on a couple of occasions, were also excellent and the fish was as good as in any restaurant in the resort and better than some! There are plenty of tavernas and bars nearby but the hotel is far enough away to allow for a peaceful stay. I personally found the service in the tavernas a bit hit and miss although the food was generally good throughout the resort, with a few notable exceptions. The hotel owners arranged for taxis for us from and to the airport, although it is very do-able by ferry from/to Agostoli and then taxi which would be a cheaper option. €50.00 each way by taxi between the hotel and the airport which, if split two or three ways is not bad. The Island itself is quite beautiful and one can benefit considerably by the hire of a car for a few days. Public transport is available and proved reliable but takes a bit of advance planning for days out around the island. The tone of our stay was very much set upon arrival by the charming receptionist who greeted us with "Hello I am Maria welcome to the Summery Hotel!" All the staff from the owners to the room maids could not have been kinder or more helpful. Whether serving breakfast, lunch or late night drinks the lovely girls, who must all surely be related to Aphrodite, could not have been more friendly or attentive.
A marvellously run family hotel that I recommend without hesitation!

Room Tip: The sea view is one of the best to be found!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WellCooked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T_Faraklou, Owner at Hotel Summery, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Dear friends,

all the Summery ladies were smiling more brightly and were moving about their business more enthusiastically after they read your witty and cordial comments! The impact of the moral support that people like you offer with their comments lasts for weeks and weeks and makes us all happy and focused.

Thank you so much for choosing the Summery over a zillion other hotels in the world, perhaps newer and more luxurious, and thank you for your review!

Best of wishes from the Summery team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013

After spending quite a long time searching the internet for a non-British style resort we settled on Lixouri and after the glowing reviews of the Hotel Summery, chose it and are so glad we did.

We booked independently and a taxi which took us on the road route and took about 50 minutes, although I understand the ferry crossing is very easy to do.

Upon arrival at the hotel we knew we had made the right choice, the setting was perfect for us, right on the beach and close to the resort centre without being noisy.

Many people have said in the reviews how friendly the owners/staff in the Hotel are and I can only reiterate this, what lovely people, always smiling, helpful and made an effort to chat without being intrusive.

We really enjoyed the hotel the facilities were fantastic for a 2 star property, free Wi-Fi in the breakfast area and bedrooms, good size pool and children’s pool, kids play area, direct access to the beach, good choice at breakfast and very reasonably priced drinks and snacks at the bar.

As a group of 3, myself, Husband and my Mum we chose a 2 bedroomed apartment as we thought that would be the best option for our group. Upon entry in to the room via the main door this was the first bedroom which housed bunk beds, wardrobe and a dresser with the bathroom off of here. The bathroom was a good size with a large window and a slightly raised cubicle with actual shower doors (very rare in Greece), the first bedroom also housed the safe and fridge. The second bedroom had twin beds, a dresser and bedside cabinets. Each room had their own TV, Air con Unit and balcony doors. The rooms were kept spotlessly clean, towels changed daily and the bedding changed a couple of times during our stay. The maids were lovely friendly ladies with a smile and chat for you every day.

Breakfast was great of a good standard and just what you would expect to find in Greece, all the bread and pastries were lovely and fresh and there was always plenty of food on offer, no complaints from any of us.

We had lunch most days at the Hotel, these were always prepared fresh at a reasonable price with a good choice on the menu.

It was lovely to sit round the pool area and have a fantastic view of the sea, Argostoli and mountains, and we enjoyed watching the boats come in, the pool area was nice and peaceful with no blaring music, perfect, what a delight to wander off your sunbed to the beach for a swim in the sea. The beach is currently being cleared of the seaweed that affected the beach due to bad weather, so I'm sure it will be even more fantastic when that’s completed, however the water was still very clear.

Every evening we had a first drink in the hotel bar and it was lovely to sit on the veranda, which was cosy and inviting, again with great views. We then had a steady 2-3 minute walk in to town, which had some great restaurants a splattering of shops and bars. Lixouri is feeling the pinch, as are many holiday destinations so was very quiet, I do hope the resort picks up later in the season as all the Kefalonians we met were genuinely lovely people, working hard to make sure you enjoyed your meal/drinks etc. I imagine the square would be buzzing with chatter in the height of season, without being overly lively. We were looking forward to a quiet, relaxing week to switch off, so it was perfect for us.

If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing, traditional resort with none of the Sunday roast brigade, Lixouri is perfect and within easy reach of Argostoli for extra shops etc.

The Hotel Summery was without doubt an excellent choice of hotel, clean, central, friendly and enough amenities to keep you happy. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it, and testament to the Hotel were the many repeat visitors who had been staying there for many, many years.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GreeceFanDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T_Faraklou, Owner at Hotel Summery, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Dear family,

thank you so much for sharing your experience of Lixouri and Hotel Summery with the rest of the world! It was fantastic to have you at the Summery and we feel so obliged you found the time to write such a thorough review of our facilities, especially the family rooms that were only made available for the first time last year and most people are not aware they exist.
We made a point of passing your positive comments to the cleaning ladies and the recognition of their efforts has really made their day!

Hoping to see you again at the Summery very very soon

Yanna, Titika & Co

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Summery is located in an excellent position within easy and flat walk of supermarket, bars and restaurants. The hotel has an attractive pool/terrace which leads directly onto the beach
The rooms are simply furnished and are kept very clean.
The buffet breakfast is varied a and has a great selection of treats.
In short it's like home from home and perfect for a memorable holiday

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROBERT_CLARK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T_Faraklou, Owner at Hotel Summery, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Mr and Mrs Clark,

thank you so much about your kind words and for taking the time to review the Summery. We all miss you and your darling grandson and hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Take care and enjoy the rest of the summer.
Love

Yanna, Titika & Co

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

From the minute we arrived we felt at home. The staff and owners were so friendly. The bars and restaurants are within easy walking distance, as is the ferry to take you to the main town of Argostoli from where you can explore the island further by boat or by bus..
I would recommend The Summery to travellers young and old as it is in a quiet area but not far from the main square where there are many tavernas to choose from.
The sea view is exquisite. I hope we can visit again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loobywax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T_Faraklou, Owner at Hotel Summery, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Dear friends,

thank you for choosing the Summery for your stay in Lixouri. We are very happy you enjoyed the view from the rooms and that you liked Lixouri easy accessibility to dining and entertainment. We love our little town and we are very proud when visitors appreciate it too, so thank you for spreading the word! Everyone at the Summery hopes to see you again soon, we know from experience that for our guests the second visit is always better than the first!
With our best wishes

The Summery team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Having read the earlier reviews, we booked the Summery Hotel for two weeks in mid-May for our first visit to Kefalonia. It was still very early in the season but this suited us as we really enjoyed the peace and tranquility. This is very much a family run hotel and the owners are delightful. Nothing was too much trouble! Every member of staff did their best to make us welcome. We had a stunning sea view from our room and very much enjoyed sitting on the balcony in the evenings. The standards of cleanliness are very high and we were very impressed by clean towels every day and lovely fresh bedlinen changed regularly.
Free Air conditioning in the room was an added bonus. The rooms also have a useful mini-fridge,
safe, and hair-dryer. There is a delightful beach called Lepeda not far from the hotel (a lovely walk) and the ferry to Argostoli is very close by. Lixouri is a charming town in which to experience the real Greek atmosphere which is often missing from standard resorts. We very much enjoyed our visit to The Summery which offered good value for money. We hope to return to Kefalonia again - a very beautiful island!

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd floor sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T_Faraklou, Owner at Hotel Summery, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Dear friends,

thank you for sharing your early-in-the -season experience with the Trip Advisor community,. Whereas for some people Lixouri in spring and early summer might feel a bit too quiet, we would agree with you that it is the best time for exploration and for appreciating the island's beautiful scenery and the flora and fauna at its best. We enjoyed very much having you as quests at the Summery and hope to see you again in the not so distant future!

With many greetings from the Faraklou family and everyone at the Summery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Stayed at the hotel last year and found the place really great. We used to enjoy the Lixouri ferry ride to Argostolli. The hotel is very unpretentious but is in a beautiful location and the staff are very helpful and friendly. We used to take a taxi out to a very large, long, deserted beach on some days. The driver would you believe it was called Spiros and he used to tell us how during the war it was occupied by The Germans. He would drop us off in the morning and pick us up later on in the day. I never found out the name of the beach but you could look out to sea and see and island that we were told was called "Rabbit Island". The sea was so clear there and if you kicked away the sand on the sea floor you would find rock hard lava that was the result of many earthquakes that have occurred over the years. Please don't be afraid to visit the island and this hotel you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geronimo1049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T_Faraklou, Owner at Hotel Summery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear friends,

thank you so much for keeping the memory of your holidays at the Summery and for choosing this moment to share it with the world! Your review made for a great start for this season. We really hope to see you again soon and offer you many new ideas for perfect days by the beach. By the way, the beach you are referring to in your review is probably either Megas Lacos, which is long, clear and has a view to Vardiani or "Rabbit Island" or Mania, a even more distant, off the beaten track and completely natural shore.

Have a great summer!

The Faraklou Family and everyone at the Summery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

I am not going to bore people by repeating what others have already said about this little gem. My wife and I spent a thoroughly enjoyable week at the Summery. The management and staff were unobtrusive but extremely helpful and informative. They made a big difference to our holiday.
Just a note for those travelling to Lixouri. The travel agency that we used, quoted us £112 for transfers to and from the Airport. We caught a taxi to Argostoli ferry terminal (20 Euros) and caught the ferry to Lixouri (5 Euros) for both of us. Total cost of transfers 50 Euros.
Ferries leave on every half hour up until 2230. Ferries from Lixouri leave on the hour.
The crossing takes about 25 minutes.
The Summery Hotel is a short walk (350 yards) to the left when you get off the ferry in Lixouri.
The standards of service and cleanliness are top notch. At some future point, some cushioned pads for the sunbeds would raise our already high opinion of the hotel and its facilities.
We tried a number of the nearby restaurants. Most were very good but we found Zorba's to be a bad choice. The bakery opposite the ferry terminal in the centre of Lixouri provide excellent coffee and baklava.
My wife and I don't visit the same place more than once. If we did, we would have no hesitation in returning to the Summery and we met several holidaymakers who returned to the Summery time and again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DylanSkipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgiannaGreece, Owner at Hotel Summery, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2012

Dear guests,

thank you very much for your kind words and even more thank you for the valuable information about transfers and ways to get to our hotel you have shared with future guests. This is awfully nice of you and we are sure many people are going to find helpful. We are all looking forward to seeing you again and we'll do our best to get those sun beds cushioned by your next visit!

With our best wishes

Ioanna & Titika Faraklou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lixouri
2.5 mi away
Terra Mare Hotel
Terra Mare Hotel
#5 of 11 in Lixouri
100 reviews
7.2 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
2.7 mi away
Cephalonia Palace Hotel
Cephalonia Palace Hotel
#7 of 11 in Lixouri
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa Hotel
0.3 mi away
La Cite Hotel
La Cite Hotel
#4 of 11 in Lixouri
245 reviews
5.6 mi away
Petani Bay Hotel- Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Summery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Summery

Address: 35 Labraki Grigoriou, Lixouri 282 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lixouri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lixouri
#4 Family Hotel in Lixouri
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lixouri
Price Range: £34 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Summery 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family run, sea front hotel in Lixouri, offering affordable, good quality holidays and cultivating authentic human connection since 1981. 24 hour reception, multilingual staff, expanded gardens with grown trees, children's playground, swimming pool, free parking, rooms with balconies, beautiful views, A/C, TV, mini fridge, hair dryer, safety deposit box, direct dial telephone, wired and wireless high speed internet free of charge for the hotel guests, daily maid service, wheelchair accessible rooms. Closed for refurbishment. Reopening in May 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Summery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summery Hotel Lixouri
Hotel Summery Lixouri, Cephalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing